We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bohemian Spice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Postales Spanish Restaurant and Tapas Bar

Postales Spanish Restaurant and Tapas Bar
Reserve with
Postales Spanish Restaurant and Tapas Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #346 of 5,816 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $21
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Sydney's best Spanish restaurant offers traditional Spanish food. The cuisine focuses on sensational Spanish favorites including tapas, traditional paella and housemade churros. At lunch time, why not try our $25 per person lunch special with a glass of wine. For those who want a more relaxing environment, order your tapas and sit at Postales Tapas Bar which is nestled to Postales Restaurant.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bohemian Spice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Postales dinner show Bohemian Spice was fabulous the tapas was great and the wait staff excellent. We went for my wife's birthday and both agreed we would return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    49
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Odawara, Japan
Level Contributor
164 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Another great tapas night at Postales”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

I keep coming back to Postales when I stay in Sydney CBD and wasn't disappointed this time either. It was a Monday night and my friends and I were virtually the only customers, which was a little odd for ambiance. However, the food was great and service very friendly and courteous.

I finally tried the paella here - normally only to the tapas dishes. Paella was very nice, although surprisingly large. It is intended for 2 people. Between 4 of us, we had no chance to finish it after a few tapas dishes beforehand.

One minor point - I booked our reservation online. The restaurant was almost empty, so this wasn't particularly necessary. But the online booking tool is very tedious and gave errors on my first attempt. Save yourself the bother and call for reservations (and Postales / Prime / etc, if you're listening, improve the usability of the online booking tool).

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MisterPugz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great food, great wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Postales is a Spanish food favourite for myself and my husband and we have been there on three occasions to date - twice with just the two of us for special celebrations and once with my parents as a family dinner.
The menu has good variation, and all the options we have tried so far have been well prepared and very tasty. The tapas options are of good size, the paellas are the best we have had anywhere.
Their wine list is comprehensive without being overly large, and we have always had excellent success with our choices.

The only drawbacks are it can be noisy on Friday nights due to its location, as the other bars and establishments in the GPO complex are a popular gathering place for the CBD suit set for "Friday night drinkies." However, it has never been more than a minor annoyance and the ambience is lovely (though if you are vision impaired, the lighting might make it difficult to read the menu!).

We will be back (again) !

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeddanett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Older diners beware!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

The food and service were without fault, however, being in my 50's and with two other diners in their 80's, being given a torch by the staff, with which to read the menu due to the extremely poor lighting, totally ruined the entire experience. I would not dine there again.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Quispy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Delicious Spanish food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We ate twice here trying the meat paella, absolutely delicious and then the sword fish. Both meals great service and food. The bread and olives to start just delicious!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Passionflower200050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Postales Spanish Restaurant and Tapas Bar also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Postales Spanish Restaurant and Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing