We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmosphere”
Review of Ho Jiak Haymarket

Ho Jiak Haymarket
Reserve a Table
OR
Ranked #339 of 7,515 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Description: Ho Jiak Haymarket is Sydney’s first Malaysian Nyonya grill house and is inspired by the homestyle and street food dishes that Head Chef Junda Khoo grew up cooking with his amah in the family kitchen. Feast on thick, spicy Laksa with chewy al dente egg noodles, rated one of the best in Sydney. Or embrace the Nyonya grill with a grilled tasting platter of lamb cutlets, chicken and seafood, complete with BBQ char lines and chilli sambal sauce. The ground floor of the two-story restaurant is inspired by the street Chef Khoo grew up on in Penang, Lebuh Ah Quee. Up on the first floor, the decor is styled like his grandma’s home, a place full of love and laughter. Welcome to Amah’s Kitchen…
Reviewed May 6, 2019

Reasonably priced food for Sydney standards. The food is good, but not exceptional. The best dish you can place your bets on is probably the indomee goreng. The staff's pretty friendly but were not as attentive due to the crowd size. The air-conditioning leaked and we were hit with a couple of strayed sprays. I would stay away from the air-vents as they stop the leaks by using dish-washing sponges. Other than that, the restaurant is clean and well-decorated. Would return for a taste of home

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AbbyS1281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho J, Owner at Ho Jiak Haymarket, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Abby

Thank you for the lovely review. Glad to hear that you've enjoyed our Indomie Goreng!

With regards to our air conditioning, we've been in contact with our technicians to try and get it repaired. Unfortunately at this stage, it's due to condensation and trying to absorb the leaks with clean (brand new) sponges were our best temporary solution as sponges would be able to absorb as much water as possible.

We're sorry to hear that you were hit by some droplets and assure you that we are hoping to find a better solution soon.

Hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 87 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2019

The waitress provided a great insight into the menu and the suggestions were spot on. We had the beef rendang, chicken satays, Nyonya deep fried chicken and special fried rice. Every dish was to die for, not too spicy but enough to bring back wonderful memories of Penang.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pacola1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho J, Owner at Ho Jiak Haymarket, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Pacola,

Wow, what lovely compliments! Thank you so much, we're delighted to hear that you had enjoyed all our house signatures such as our Wagyu Rendang! Looking forward to transporting you back to the streets of Penang once again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2019

Awesome Malaysian food and everything was delicious! Went for a birthday party and we were very well looked after. I will be back for sure .... I want to try everything on the menu :)

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ryankerrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho J, Owner at Ho Jiak Haymarket, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi ryankerrie

Happy belated birthday to the birthday host! Glad to hear that your party was very well looked after and you had enjoyed everything! We can't wait for you to be back, round up all your buddies so you can try everything on the menu again! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2019 via mobile

It was a long queue from 6pm Friday night. I was there early and the restaurant was full. Surprised that people have such early dinner. The restaurant has 2 floors. We were in ground one which looks like a cozy street restaurant. It is clean, though, the lighting is somewhat unpleasantly dark/ blurry. For 2 persons, we orderred the Nasi Lemak, Hainan chicken rice and the squid deep fried in salted duck egg (cant recall its name). The dishes arrived quite quickly and neatly plated in average portion (somebody reviewed that portions are huge but they are normal for those we ordered). The best dish must be the squid which is tender, salted perfectly, slightly crunchy and not oily (at least by the time we finished them). Nasi Lemak and Hainan chicken rice are both good. Though, I don’t feel like the Hainan chicken rice is the best in town. It is good but not memorable. Service was good in general. There was an old lady going around asking you if the foods were okie. Though, I noted that they were keen to get us to wrap up and go after we put our spoons down. May be not a place if you want long chat during meals and bit of relaxation after full meal (if you are the kind that need it). Overall, worth to come and i would come back to try other dishes.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Ceciliachau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho J, Owner at Ho Jiak Haymarket, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Cecilia

Thank you for the lovely review, we're glad to hear that you have enjoyed the Kiam Ah Nui Squid!

We definitely recommend making reservations for your next visit so you can avoid queuing!

Looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2019

Yum. Ordered the Hainan Chicken Rice and Char Kway Teow then asked what else we should get. Our waiter recommended a vegetarian curry that just made the meal. Last time mum had Malaysian was 1956 after going to the Olympic games in Melb SO thankyou Ho Jiak for making dishes accessible to us and our inability to tolerate spice, you make this white girl and her 80 year old mother Very Very Happy.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho J, Owner at Ho Jiak Haymarket, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Judy,

We're delighted to hear that we've made you and your lovely mum very very happy! Wow, 1956 is a fair time back and it's great to know that we can now bring it to you and your mum here in Sydney. Glad that you have thoroughly your meal with all the dishes. Looking forward to your next visit to Ho Jiak :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ho Jiak Haymarket also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Ho Jiak Haymarket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing