We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epic Pies!!! ”

Harry's Cafe de Wheels - Woolloomooloo
Ranked #13 of 478 Quick Bites in Sydney
Price range: $2 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: Harry’s Café de Wheels has proudly served customers for over 80 years, with the likes of Frank Sinatra, Sir Elton John and Prince Harry having been some of the many to sink their teeth into our iconic ‘Tiger’ Pie
Reviewed July 8, 2018 via mobile

I went here last month with a group of twelve picky teenagers and every one of the found something they loved. I shared a Tiger and a Chicken Curry and they were both to die for. Don’t forget the mushy peas. It’s a must when you visit Sydney! Not to mention a charming location.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank 985carleigha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,031)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 99 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2018 via mobile

Have always wanted to visit and when I got there I have to say it was underwhelming. Ordered a steak and mushroom pie, tasted like a pepper pie. Service was good, very friendly.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank FunkSoulBro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2018 via mobile

It’s clear to see that this has become a commercial franchise . Anthony Bourdain visited this pie shop as culinary experience to our Australian culture only a few years ago. Harry’s Cafe de Wheels, this place doesn’t represent any of the history that it used to! Go to a gas station down the road for the same experience.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank Balmain_foodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2018

I had to try a pie from this place as all the reviews seemed good for the pies and friends who lived in Sydney said you have to try it. As it was also a stones throw from our hotel, I didn't have a reason not to.

I tried the iconic "Tiger" pie, pie topped with mash and mushy peas and then topped off with gravy (the beef pie was quite peppery though). It was really nice. Not the greatest pie I have ever had but still a pretty good one. The beef rolls were nice and the hot chips were excellent.

Id recommend trying this out as its an iconic part of Sydney's heritage.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ginges_revenge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2018 via mobile

The wheels have gone but not fallen off. The beef pie I had was excellent. It's a place for a bargain bite and a Sydney institution.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank ChiefsBTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry's Cafe de Wheels - Woolloomooloo also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Harry's Cafe de Wheels - Woolloomooloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.