We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over rated”
Review of The Beresford

The Beresford
Ranked #2,009 of 5,943 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $16 - $26
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Surry Hills
Description: Behind its polished green-tile exterior beats the heart of a casual neighbourhood pub with a modern Italian trattoria. The Beresford kitchen offers everything from a simple bowl of fries to wood-fired pizza, salads, steaks and schnitzels. Drop in for lunch or dinner and enjoy some of these great meals in our bistro or courtyard. The Beresford has a number of sections for patrons to enjoy, from the front bar area, dining section and our fabulous outdoor courtyard area. Don't forget Happy Hour 6-8pm daily and free kids meals from Monday through to Thursday.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Over rated”
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

After a long line up to even get in, we hoped it would be worthwhile.
The staff were very busy, doing nothing much and gave the impression that they where so cool they couldn't be bothered assisting anyone.

The place is okay, but the lack of hospitality and drunken crowd spoiled the whole experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    35
    17
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Venue for a Drink”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The late afternoons are amazing here. Especially during the warmer months. The Happy Hours are very cheap for Sydney prices and very easy to spend hours here without noticing! Can't wait for my next drink.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HansiBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sexy bar/restaurant”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Loved visiting the Beresford Hotel (bars are called hotels in Australia)! The bar/eating area is very trendy. Drinks are a bit pricey but worth it!
The decor is very classy, yet, trendy.
We had appetizers which were very delicious.
And the eye candy? Whoa! So many sexy men and women were there all night! This is one of my all time favorite bars!
Definitely will go back when I return to Sydney!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank armymanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best live music in Sydney!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This place is like nowhere else in Sydney. Start with chilled tunes and drinks in the awesome courtyard in the afternoon/ early evening. Then head upstairs in the evening for some of the most amazing undiscovered live talent in Australia. Seriously fun night of dancing to some unbelievable music, both DJ's and live bands. I've heard that international bands have been discovered here and I believe it!
Also really well priced Italian style meals downstairs. Sunday lunch BBQ goes off and is suitable for kids (if u have them) and dogs are welcome too! Gets pretty busy Sunday night!!
Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeetzT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“solid meal for the price”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We ended up eating here for a company lunch and so glad we did. The crowd is usually chill during the weekday...though can get a little more poppin' towards the last afternoon.

I had the Sirloin + Polenta Chips and loved it. I'm a big fan of polenta so I couldn't pass up the chance to munch on them. The sirloin was cooked to order and pretty much melted in your mouth. Complimented with some decent wine the meal was great.

The outdoor seating is great and has a very laid back feel to it. The bar towards the outside can get packed at times, so make sure to sneak up to the front bar as it's usually quite slow.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank themattkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beresford also viewed

 

Been to The Beresford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing