We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a good clean. Lovely staff though.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oaks on Castlereagh
Ranked #67 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Needs a good clean. Lovely staff though.”
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

The Regis on Castlereigh is obviously an older establishment. First of all, the reception staff are lovely. Very friendly and helpful.

The rooms themselves leave a lot to be desired.  There's a lack of sunlight during the day, and at night the curtains aren't sufficient in covering the windows, so the night streetlight shines in.  The rooms and corridors are marked and a little dirty, and we found three small cockroaches in our room. Surprisingly, within the room there was zero information: no folder with information as to the opening hours to the (very badly equipped with old equipment, some of which was broken) gym, details of how to connect to the wifi (there was clearly a modem within the room). The room I had smelt distinctly of febreezed over cigarettes.  The beds themselves were comfy, the kitchens well equipped.

Though located near the train line, the sound was barely audible which was good. Bring close to world square was also very convenient.

Overall it is fairly average, but with a thorough clean and some more 'hotel' amenities it could be somewhere quite good for the centre of Sydney.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CaptainSavvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    258
    123
    53
    58
See reviews for
164
183
41
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
warwick
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

These apartments rated just below my student accomodation I rented from a bad landlord some years ago. Dirty, marks on the walls and ceilings, carpets coming up, missing bits of the units in the kitchen.
Dirty sheets and pillows, worn out blankets and dirty curtains.
I could go on but the picture is clear.
I left and got a refund from my booking agency and booked in elsewhere

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FishingTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Was there Fri - Sun and was pleased with the place. Nice marble kitchen, clean bed, very large bathroom, Tv/DVD worked great and balcony was facing a quiet street.
Hallway was a bit smelly but it's a serviced apartment so the smells were all cooking smells from other rooms which probably cannot be avoided.
I'd booked a room on a higher level but it was not available when I checked in. The room given was more than adequate though and was very quiet for a city hotel.

Would likely stay again.

Room Tip: End of hallway room meant no neighbour noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omelette241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Unless you like hearing the trains blow their whistle all night!!! I did not sleep well here at all. The kitchen wasn't open to the lounge. There was no desk for a computer. The shower door was broken.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shylea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

OK, cheap is one thing. Cheap and nasty is another. Sadly, this turned out to be another. The place looked ok when I arrived, but on closer inspection it was not clean at all. The toilet bowl for one thing - yuk! There was even dried blood on the bedside table. The bed looked clean but was very uncomfortable and cold. There was a very thin extra blanket which I used but that was no reall help. The heating did not work. Unlike other reviewers my TV worked, and there were no burn marks anywhere to be seen.

The location is great - right near central station - with not too much noise - although I do wear ear plugs at night.

But for me, next time I want (or need) a cheap alternative it will be a private room at the Central YHA.

Room Tip: Somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ButchInBallina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Although apartment (2 bed) was roomy, it was very run down and inadequately set up. A self-catering apartment should at least be equipped with proper cleaning products, not a sponge that has been cut in half and one sache of detergent. The TV was not working and after many calls to reception, who were missing the majority of the time, we gave up. When the residents in the next apartment used their water it made a terrible mouse which drowned out the almost inaudible TV. I believe there are better value foroney apartments in a beautiful city like Sydney.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights at a studio apartment and I must say its very conveniently located. It may not be the cleanest apartment in town but served the purpose for us. We were able to walk to almost every corner in the city from there..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dilan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Darlinghurst
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
#103 of 177 in Sydney
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
APX World Square
APX World Square
#104 of 177 in Sydney
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Castlereagh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Castlereagh

Property: Oaks on Castlereagh
Address: 317 Castlereagh St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#61 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks on Castlereagh 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Castlereagh provides guests with deluxe, self-contained accommodation and premier facilities, making it ideal for holidaymakers and corporate travellers alike looking for a luxurious base from which to explore the cosmopolitan metropolis of Sydney. Spacious fully self-contained apartments, most boast private balconies leading off the open plan living, dining and kitchen area. Whether you choose a studio, 1 or 2 bedroom apartment you are guaranteed superior service and comfort. Facilities include an indoor heated pool & spa, fitness room, table tennis area, outdoor barbeque area and secure undercover parking (fee applies). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks on Castlereagh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regis On Castlereagh Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing