We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of bei amici

bei amici
Ranked #305 of 5,816 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: bei amici is a hidden gen. Located in leafy Darling Point, bei amici provides guests with a relaxed evening with great food, and wine, with excellent service. Read the reviews !
Sydney
Level Contributor
141 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great food, great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I admit it's our 'local', but we wouldn't keep returning if it wasn't so good. The food is inventive with an Italian-Swiss influence, and the chef uses only the freshest produce and organic products, often listed on the menu. Try the specialty of the house: grilled spatchcock served hot with a salad of herbs, vegetables and chilli, and be sure to order the chef's handmade ice creams. To top off a wonderful meal, order the mint tea - sprigs of fresh mint served in whimsical tea cups with his torta di panna, a delicious spiced cake which is offered as a kind of reverse amuse bouche. The service is warm and personal, they take bookings, and Monday nights you can have 3 courses for under $35 - while most of the rest of Sydney restaurants are closed! Great food, great value and lovely place to be.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    20
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Neighbourhood gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We live very close to this restaurant and can't believe we haven't been there before. We'd been told it was good but just never really thought to try it. So last night we walked there and found that it's really a great little spot and a favourite with many locals (who tend to be a little bit older).

The restaurant has a quality feeling to it whilst being relaxed at the same time. The service and food were both great. The menu is a kind of french/italian inspiration by the Swiss chef. The result is something distinctive and very tasty.

We loved that they sold decent wine in 500ml carafes - this is great when a glass is not enough but a bottle is too much. Wish more restaurants would do this at a reasonable price.

We also felt that the value was reasonable which I think is important in a local restaurant making it more likely for us to return again soon.

So.... looking forward to our next visit!



Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LoulouVenus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Local Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Every time we go back to Bei Amici we enjoy it even more. Great staff and a surprisingly innovative menu and excellent wine list. Italian cuisine with a Swiss twist and some really interesting specials. Can't ask much from a restaurant so close to home...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterV4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
236 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Awesome! loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Highly recommend. There aren't too many places I would go to regularly, but if i could afford it, hell i would!!! Service was great!
Food was amazing! anything, even simple things were great. Their bread (especially pumpkin) was amazing! btw, I used to be a baker, so i know what I'm talking about :)
And even simple things were beautiful
Plus they have original but very successful combinations!
Awesome! loved the place!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalya Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

Had mothers day lunch with a special menu. words cannot describe the symphony of tastes from the variety of entrees, hard to choose from mains to exquisite deserts, not mentioning the fabulous wines.... and the staff, and thle ambience! just 100% superb experience.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank katsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed bei amici also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Edgecliff, Woollahra
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to bei amici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing