We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best casual Itallian”
Review of Cafe Sopra - CLOSED

Cafe Sopra
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Inner South
Sydney
Level Contributor
409 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Best casual Itallian”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Ive eaten here more than a dozen times and never been dissappointed.
Be prepared to wait if you turn up at 12.30 -1.00 though but its not all bad news. We generally go straight up stairs to Sopra, put our name down and get an approximate wait time then go back downstairs and do some shopping in Fratelli Fresh their Grocery and Fruit store. Fresh Italian cheeses and great quality fruit veges bread and a plethora of imported Italian produce.Not the cheapest but the best quality does cost a little more.
Back to Sopra...the top floor of this large warehouse has been transformed into a no frills warehouse styled cafe. A large blackboard with the days menu displays the large variety of dishes available. Beautifully delicate zuccini flowers filled with a mixture of light Italian cheeses, Pastas with an assortment of great toppings. Dishes as light or as bold as you want. A good variety of Australian and Italian wines by the bottle or glass.
We always come for lunch and are always more than happy. Can be noisy but you expect that with such a busy place. Good service from knowledgable wait staff make this place one of our Sydney favourites

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JacquesSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    14
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“No bookings policy ruins it”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I've eaten at Cafe Sopra several times previously, prior to attending one of the nearby theatres. The no reservations house policy has always aggravated me, but my last visit was just that - my last. I arrived at 6.10pm (the cafe website states they only open at 6). All tables taken, ditto places at the bar, and the mob was queuing out the door. The door staff were polite and tried to be helpful, but it's difficult for them. All they could do was take names, and the cafe won't call you when (if?) a place becomes available. Not wanting to loiter in the forlorn hope of a feed, we decamped to the Bar At the End of the Wharf (that's what it's called) at the Sydney Theatre Company opposite. The food was not on a par with Sopra, but at least we got some. Give it a miss unless you're a masochist.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fell0w_Traveller49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Understaffed, noisy and overpriced”
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Brought family for celebratory breakfast. Apart from the deafening noise it was disappointing to wait 20 mins for the menus and more than an hour for any food.
I hate it when fresh orange juice isn't fresh.When it arrived the food was tasty. Frittata with goat cheese and basil needed the sides of bacon , tomatoes and mushrooms to satisfy the men at the table. Seriously guys the Baked rhubarb and raspberry could was tricky to eat with a fork !
The bill for 5 people was $156
I won't be coming back in a hurry.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank judef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Still the best”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I've been going there for years - love the one in Potts Point too. Every time it never disappoints. Gorgeous food, surrounded by the most attractive fruit and vegetables in Sydney.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MN21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
379 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 770 helpful votes
“again average”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I am not sure why all the good reviews! You queue to get in, the carbonara, was awful, the service was ok, the room is poor for sound and although the vibe is quite cool, the price and food in general are average. Maybe, it was just a bad day.
The wine list however was excellent

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank undercoverelephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Sopra also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing