We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casual walk with unique history” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rocks Walking Tours

The Rocks Walking Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$21.72*
and up
The Rocks Walking Tour: the Original Guided Walking Tour of The Rocks
Ranked #25 of 338 Tours in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Tours everyday 10:30am and 1:30pm conducted by friendly local guides that specialise in The Rocks, and its surrounding areas, $25 per adult/ $12 per child departing from our office handily located in the heart of The Rocks at Shop 4a - Clocktower Square, Cnr Argyle & Harrington Sts. Conducted in intimate groups of no more than 25 people for a duration of 90 minutes at a leisurely pace covering approximately a couple of kilometres. Come hear stories about how ordinary people came to do extraordinary things and so began the British Australian story!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Casual walk with unique history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

I've been to The Rocks many times, but never really done anything "touristy" and learn more about the place, so with a morning off in Sydney I decided to take a walkabout that hood. Had an excellent guide who shared lots of human stories and her own reflections (or at least seemed to be), apart from the obvious "this is where the First Fleet landed...". The Rocks is an extraordinary place and the restoration and revamping is incredible. A walking tour is a good way to amble through, ask questions and reflect. Really enjoyed it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank SuMaLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    50
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Inspirational!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Brilliant lady guide (don't know her name but originally from Mauritius) made this two hour trip worth every penny. She brought the history of this fascinating area to life as few can. A really gifted tour guide! Just fabulous.

June, Scotland

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Junejohnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
570 reviews
257 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Very Educational -- But In A Good Way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

I've taken dozens of walking tours over the years and must honestly put this one at the top of the heap. Two things contributed to that.

First, our guide (and I wish I could remember her name, but it was over a month ago) was fantastic. Personable, knowledgeable, and funny. Pretty much the prototypical guide. She brought the history to life and even though she probably does this tour close to daily she kept it fresh and made it seem like it was even her first time seeing and learning.

And second, the subject matter. The history, architecture, and everything about The Rocks is truly unique. There are few places in the world with such as eclectic mix of old and new, authentic and touristy, and this and that. To say nothing of something photogenic at every step.

Worth every penny, and more.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kairho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
236 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“If you love History do this tour.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Thanks Leisa we had a fantastic time on the tour. So interesting & the pictures we were shown were great. Your stories were entertaining too. The walking was easy, with a few steps to climb but not difficult. We could have listened to the stories for longer & it was great to get the added visit to the Church. We would recommend this story to anyone especially if you enjoy history. We have visited the Rocks many times but have never seen some of the places we visited & now we know the stories behind the area. A great 1.5 hours & excellent value for money.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank nzsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalby
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Or guide was great. She was very friendly and knowledgeable. The photos etc she also showed along the way helped you to see how things used to be and how they are now. The tour went for about 1.5 hours and was good as not too long or too short. Would definitely recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank GwendaC_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRWT, Manager at The Rocks Walking Tours, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thanks Gwenda for your feedback and for any future recommendations; we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rocks Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to The Rocks Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing