We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A 'must do' for your visit to Sydney”

The Rocks Walking Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$21.34*
and up
The Rocks Walking Tour: the Original Guided Walking Tour of The Rocks
Ranked #27 of 339 Tours in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Tours everyday 10:30am and 1:30pm conducted by friendly local guides that specialise in The Rocks, and its surrounding areas, $25 per adult/ $12 per child departing from our office handily located in the heart of The Rocks at Shop 4a - Clocktower Square, Cnr Argyle & Harrington Sts. Conducted in intimate groups of no more than 25 people for a duration of 90 minutes at a leisurely pace covering approximately a couple of kilometres. Come hear stories about how ordinary people came to do extraordinary things and so began the British Australian story!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A 'must do' for your visit to Sydney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

The walk is an introduction to Sydney and how it all started, the area called The Rocks is very pretty and steeped in history, with magnificent views across the Harbor, our tour guide 'Sarah' was very friendly and full of all sorts of historic snippets which made the whole experience very interesting and very worthwhile. The hour and a half just flew by. Thanks again to Sarah.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    50
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tewantin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Your mad if you don't do this !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

To get a real feel of the history of the rocks, and so you really get to see how it really was, this tour is a must. There is a lot of detail that you would simply miss, that is shown and explained in an entertaining way.
Great fun tour guide, Sally was easy to listen to, and easily answered all our questions .
You must do this tour.
Jill & Warren

Helpful?
Thank Wasjil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The highlight of our trip to Sydney. Brian is a one of a kind, his knowledge of the Rocks and passion for it's history is not to”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Fantastic!! Brian is a wealth of knowledge. He adds his passion and unsurpassed knowledge of the Rocks and it's history. He was funny and informative. This was a highlight of our trip. Highly recommended. Go on a Saturday to get Brian.

Helpful?
Thank LoveBow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
336 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Best Deal in Sydney”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We were in Sydney for 6 days and kept walking through this area, enjoying all the nooks and crannies, as well as the wonderful restaurants, but we did not know much about how it began and developed. We were there during an incredibly rainy April and when the rain finally stopped, booked this reasonably priced morning walking tour. Sophie, our expert guide helped explain the area from its humble beginnings to present day over the next 90 minutes. We gained insight into how the early settlers were treated as they paid off their debt to society and how, they in turn became part of Sydney's success story. We stopped into many places we would not of, had we been on our own. We loved this tour and would do it again.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank 17KAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRWT, Manager at The Rocks Walking Tours, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your encouraging feedback regarding your experience with us earlier this year – we are heartened to hear that our tour is continuing to meet if not exceeding people’s expectations; we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Informative and friendly tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were only in Sydney for a couple of days so this was a nice way to get to see the area and learn about the area. The guides are lovely and they are small groups which makes it more personnal and you can ask questions. You are shown all sorts of parts of the rocks that you would never find if just walking around yourself. The guide is also helpful reccomending pubs and restaurants that are having offers on etc. We loved it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Catherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRWT, Manager at The Rocks Walking Tours, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
I am so glad to hear Catherine that you had an enjoyable time with our guide and that they made your Rocks experience that more memorable. We find keeping our group numbers intimate is the only way to go within The Rocks given the small spaces, laneways and courtyards that this then allows us to access so to engage with your guests and as you noted ask questions at the point of interest - thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rocks Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to The Rocks Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing