We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Bay Hong

Bay Hong
Ranked #151 of 5,943 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Surry Hills
Description: Bay Hong is a Vietnamese restaurant located on Crown Street cooking up our interpretation of modern Vietnamese cuisine served family-style. With a catered wine list to suit our cuisine, Asian-inspired, along with classic, cocktails and trained friendly staff, we believe that dining at Bay Hong will be about the experience rather than just the food.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Very delightful, great atmosphere, friendly staff and amazing food!!! Will definitely be coming back. One of the best vietnamese restaurant ive been to in sydney!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    28
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really outstanding!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Both food and service were outstanding on Thursday night . We has a great night and we love the dessert combo! Yummo! Thank you

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thompson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Vietnamese in Crown Street”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The food at Bay Hong is fantastic. Best spring rolls I've had since Hanoi and the papaya salad was fresh and tasty. We also enjoyed the mixed vegetables and the spicy chicken. We don't usually have desert but we tried the sauteed bananas and coconut cream which was delicious. The service was impeccable and the restaurant has a happy but calm atmosphere. And it's byo! This is the best Vietnamese food I have had in Australia. Well done Bay Hong!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Pacificwoman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Unique menu”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Came upon this little gem by accident. It's on the quiet side of Crown street restaurants, near Oxford Street. What absolutely won me over was after ordering the chef, Rosie, came out to indicate that two of our dishes had the same 'base' and that she would recommend another dish to give us a better meal. We were very pleasantly surprised by the offerings - fresh, tasty and very well presented. We've been back a few times and while the service has been unpredictable (though always gracious), it has definitely become a go-to restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mcgregors4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Cheeky & Playful”
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

After passing this restaurant several times, PK and I decided that tonight we would try our luck - on a Saturday night. The restaurant had enough patrons to be encouraging yet enough tables available to sneak us in. Remember this is the week before Christmas!

The wait staff were playful and happy to engage in a bit of good humoured banter. Food was good but didn't entirely knock our socks off....I suspect this was our food choice though. The Orange Cabbage rolls though are a must for entree....fresh and distinctive. We met the chef who has told us to ask for her when we return so that she can serve us 'something special'

A nice, relaxed venue with good food. Very different style to the other three Vietnamese restaurants in Surry Hills, and worth trying.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annabelle40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bay Hong also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Marrickville, Sydney
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Bay Hong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing