We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places in Sydney”
Review of The Establishment

The Establishment
Ranked #388 of 5,891 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $0 - $65
Cuisines: Thai, Australian, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Classic elegance meets a pitch-perfect party atmosphere at the ground floor Establishment Bar. Flanked by lines of magnificent iron columns and a 42-metre-long marble bar centrepiece, the former George Patterson House retains much of its formal glory. A space packed with heritage features that make this historic venue a unique place to enjoy a drink. Quick bar service, an experienced staff and a multi-award winner all add up to a true Sydney icon. Step inside for a cool drink, a light snack, or a delicious meal from our extensive bistro and Thai menu.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“One of the best places in Sydney”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

A friend of mine took me to this place the last time I was in Sydney.
Food was amazing. The staff were above excellent. And I should know....I have been managing hotels and restrauants on the gold coast for 28 years....
Do yourself a favour, next time you're in Sydney.....treat yourself and go to the Establishment...
You won't regret it......

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregory Koch K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    135
    38
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

I went there with my partner last week end. Great service and excellent food and drinks. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lonewolf860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Lunch with colleagues”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Went during work lunch time with a couple of colleagues, as we work in Wynyard and it's pretty close by. Loved the decorations and interior, the ambience felt pretty nice. Food was served reasonably quick, however I thought the prices were a little bit on the high end. For city prices I guess this is what you get. Was quite surprised the place was pretty packed even on a lunch time, and overall a very nice place for friends to catch up. Enjoyed it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great service”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

I think overall the experience was great, they were prompt, professional, friendly and attentive. Bit overpriced compared to others but location wise its understandable. Would go back there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keh488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Up & Go”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

My friends and I came here for breakfast on a Friday morning and while I thought the food was a tad overpriced for what it was (sides are all $5.50 and I chose avocado and bacon) it was a nice place to meet up and have a few strong coffees. We watched the winter rain through the glass ceiling in one of my (now) most favourite architecturally-designed spaces. The staff were lovely and friendly, plus the food was delicious.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tommw5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Establishment also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to The Establishment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing