We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great experience”
Review of The Establishment

The Establishment
Ranked #423 of 5,943 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $0 - $65
Cuisines: Thai, Australian, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Classic elegance meets a pitch-perfect party atmosphere at the ground floor Establishment Bar. Flanked by lines of magnificent iron columns and a 42-metre-long marble bar centrepiece, the former George Patterson House retains much of its formal glory. A space packed with heritage features that make this historic venue a unique place to enjoy a drink. Quick bar service, an experienced staff and a multi-award winner all add up to a true Sydney icon. Step inside for a cool drink, a light snack, or a delicious meal from our extensive bistro and Thai menu.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
413 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Another great experience”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I think we all have a few favourite restaurants, I've got a few and The Establishment is definitely one of them, I've been going there for about 10 years now and have never been let down.
The food is fantastic and the service is professional. It's one of those places that you walk out of with an absolute smile.
Fine dining- I recommend The Establishment to any and everyone.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    136
    39
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for lunch with the girls”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I've been visiting the Gin Garden at the back of The Establishment for around three years. It's centrally located to where my girlfriends work and we're usually seated 'outside' (under cover) without much of a wait. They have a pretty eclectic menu, which has changed over the years. In 2012 they changed it to some weird bistro-style menu, which didn't last long, before reverting back to a scaled down version of the original.

The Thai food they do is pretty good but you could buy cheaper elsewhere. For $17 I can recommend the chicken cashew dish. Wine is a bit pricey by the glass and service at the Gin Garden bar is a bit hit and miss. Take advantage of the complementary chilled water that sits at the end of the bar. It's nicely iced and often infused with fresh lemon or mint or the like.

The manager of the Gin Garden (during lunchtime service) is great and won't stand for queue jumping if you're waiting for tables. So make sure you speak to him first.

The Thai prawn curry has a nice piquancy and the beef pie has a lovely flaky crust and the meat is tender and tasty. I normally stick to the Thai dishes for the flavour and the fresh veggies that come with the dish.

There is a variety of separate tables and some big communal tables, but the distance between seats is enough that it doesn't feel weird sitting next to a stranger.

I like the atmosphere out the back. The building has been nicely restored. The Establishment bar that sits between the Gin Garden and the street is fine but a little soulless. A better place to hit once the sun goes down. What this bar lacks in warmth during the day the building makes up for in grandness.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BackFromMyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Ambiance - Good lunch”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Popped in here for lunch. Love the atrium design in the back. It's a combo self-serve / serve place that took a couple of minutes to figure out. I ordered the salmon special for lunch, it was good but I wished I had stuck with my salad first choice. I saw it at the table next to me and it looked fabulous. Great service, very friendly, definitely recommend!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Meet mates”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The place is very good to meet up with mates and business people. Mandy the curly blonde hair girl is always polite and give good service.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrianGodsell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mission beach australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Vibrant, Noisey, fun place for a drink and chat”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

A great place to meet up with friends after work or perhaps a lunch.
Very interesting city type crowd.
Drinks are expensive but so is the location

Helpful?
Thank dril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Establishment also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to The Establishment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing