We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just as good as everyone describes it”

Medusa Greek Taverna
Ranked #10 of 5,841 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $38
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just as good as everyone describes it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Came in on a Friday night 9pm without a reservation. Luckily kitchen was still open but only just as the waitress had to check first. My wife is not big into meet so went for the Mousaka who she said was just delicious. Huge portion size though. Same with the Souflaki. So better share the entree. Food quality and taste is excellent, and so is the staff. So I am sure next time we are in Sydney this place is on our list.

Helpful?
Thank JohannesandUlla
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    709
    247
    61
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“yum yum yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

I went to this Taverna in a group of ten people , Australia day weekend.
the service was fantastic , very attentive at all times ,drinks kept full and food kept coming.
As we had a large group we ordered the set menu for $55 , a meze platter , Greek salad , prawns saginaki , then the choice from 5 mains ( individual), then desert.
the food was excellent , plenty of it.
the only complaint is not mine but one of my friends , no cider or moscarto on the menu , other wise faultless.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jujuspillane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

I have been to this restaurant twice and both times the food, service and atmosphere has been excellent. The portion sizes are large and prices are very reasonable. It is the best Greek restaurant in Sydney. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RelaxFunHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
461 reviews
300 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“A Must Visit...Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

I would not be surprised if this restaurant made it to #1 soon.
We made a same day reservation & when we arrived we had the best seat in the house (on the balcony - looking towards the bridge/harbor).
Service was Excellent! Not only was our waiter attentive & helpful, the owner (I assumed he was the owner) came by to chat a couple of times. He gave us a round of shots which was a welcome surprise (sometimes small things go a long way).
The food...was perfect. Our best dinner experience in Sydney.
Arni Souvlaki, Garithes Saganaki, Stifatho me Kreas, Xifias Souvlaki all excellent.
It's nice to experience delicious food, great atmosphere & most of all genuine service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VicandFawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Best in Sydney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

The Medusa restaurant came highly recommended and it definitely exceeded our expectations. We made a booking and was given a table right in the window, this is a small restaurant but tables are well spaced. The staff were knowledgable and friendly but not intrusive. Portions are large and prices very reasonable. All our food was well presented and cooked to perfection. On leaving we rebooked for the following week, think this says it all. For us this restaurant is the best place we have eaten in Sydney.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 123LS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medusa Greek Taverna also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Medusa Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing