We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice for something different” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Medusa Greek Taverna

Medusa Greek Taverna
Ranked #9 of 5,822 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $39
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Muswellbrook, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great choice for something different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

I took a punt and it paid off. Food & service was great, did not take long to receive each course. Location was better than expected, even has a glimpse of Darling Harbour if you're in the right spot! Prices reasoanble also. Feta in filo for entree, stuffed chicken & lamb shoulder for mains. Couldn't fit dessert in unfortunately but they looked yum. We'll be back there for sure!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    695
    245
    62
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the best lamb and dessert in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We longed for Australian lamb and came across this wonderful Greek restaurant. The paithakia lamb cutlets, marinated in lemon, oregano, grilled, served with potato, grilled capsicum and caramelised onion stack, just like the Medusa's Arni sto Fourno whole slow baked traditional lamb shoulder, lemon potatoes and peas are the best we ever tasted. To top it off the Medusa dessert: ouzo strawberries, pomegranate coulis, anise ice cream and rose water fairy floss made our day!
Really great atmosphere, hospitality, and above all food from heaven.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank R5112011S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great greek food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

I absolutely love greek food and can say with confidence that this was one of the best meals in greek cuisine I've had.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank karendokay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not as good as I was expecting but a sound choice nonetheless”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Having read the Trip Advisor reviews I was eagerly anticipating the fare on offer here. My favourite greek restaurant in Melbourne - White Village in Glenhuntly - is the one I measure all others. While our entrees of Dolmades and Saganaki were of good quality, my expectation of souvalki lamb disappointed. My expectation was of slow cooked gyros and instead I was presented with a kebab. My dinner companions both enjoyed their mains - the prawns a particularly highlight. The banana desert was also of good quality. The wine choice was good and prices reasonable. The owner of the business was friendly and eager to please. Might be a bit tough with an average mark but I would regard my experience as good but certainly not very good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had dinner on a Friday night, and loved every minute! The service was wonderful, the food incredible and the host was charming. Just go there!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kylie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medusa Greek Taverna also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Medusa Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing