We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Delicious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Medusa Greek Taverna

Medusa Greek Taverna
Ranked #9 of 5,630 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $38
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

This resturant serves the most delicious food and the servings are extremely generous. I tried the tzatziki + pita, lamb shoulder and dough balls (dessert), plus a Greek wine and all were excellent. A word of warning, the wine was very sweet (like a dessert wine), but the description in the menu mentioned this. I loved it, but my boyfriend didn't. I have a much sweeter tooth than him. I would have no hesitation returning or recomending this resturant. For a shared entree + 2x mains + 2x dessert + bottle of wine we paid just under $130. I feel the price was worth it because we were so full and the food was excellent. Our waitress was efficient and friendly, without being intrusive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank traveldf1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    652
    233
    56
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“City Greek”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Good Greek food but not exceptional. I think Diethnes is better. It is a bit noisy at lunch-time but the decor is quite pleasant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank soler97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Overrated and Overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Just left Medusa less than 1hr ago and gotta say what we as a family of 4 received was nothing less than woeful! Our Meze plate was ok as an entrée, but the mains were a terrible let down. After making our booking via email from Perth over 4 weeks ago for what should have been a 'highlight' dinner to remember our holiday to Sydney has now turned into a memory for a whole different set of reasons. A swordfish mains was rubbish...what should have been skewers of swordfish & prawn was a fillet and a whole large prawn...and the fillet turned to mush as soon as you tried to put a fork into it...very obviously over cooked! A lamb backstrap main was burnt & dry, what was supposed to be kids fish & chips turned out to be an adults barramundi fish of day with a side of chips...and charged @ $32 for a kids meal no less!!! Barra fillet should also be crispy skinned but whilst the fillet was palatable, the skin was a strip of gelatinous glue. The wait staff were helpful and friendly but hovered about the table to an extent that it became uncomfortable at times. Portion sizes were generous however. With regards to the swordfish, problems were blamed on a new supplier but they had also apparently sold numerous portions without issue earlier in the day so this excuse didn't ring true. The swordfish was removed from the bill and not charged for...and quite rightly too. I had hoped to try the Galactobouriko for dessert but after issues with mains, just wanted to leave and go back to the hotel. Wouldn't recommend this establishment to others...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vance C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Greek Goodness”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Ate here for lunch with some work friends. Food was nice, though in true Greek fashion the portion sizes were huge! We couldn't get through our mains so desert was not even an option- though they did sound delicious. Would eat here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great food, great customer experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

My daughter and I dined there last Saturday night (had booked in advance). From the moment we were greeted, until we paid the bill we were well looked after. The food was delicious - my daughter had the swordfish and I had the baramundi special. We shared the fabulous strawberries and I tried a delicious glass of the Greek wine. Thanks for a memorable evening. Will return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chelsjo261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medusa Greek Taverna also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Medusa Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing