We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Great Southern Hotel
Ranked #100 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed February 9, 2010

We stayed for two nights at this hotel on a first visit to Sydney for the Edinburgh Tattoo and we were very pleased all around. The service was friendly, the room was clean (serviced daily) even though a tad small, but as we werent in it all that much, it wasnt a problem for us. Tea and coffee making facilities were available with a fridge, safe, ironing board and iron. We were on the 2nd floor in a twin room.
This hotel was well located, just one block from Central station with Chinatown at the back door, as well as Paddy's Markets and shopping centre with plenty of eaterie choices.
The best thing about our stay at The Great Southern was location and cleanliness. I would highly reccommend this hotel for anyone travelling to Sydney.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaylene60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,012)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

892 - 898 of 1,012 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2010

Top end of three stars rather than a true four star hotel. Very close to Central Station turn right when you exit and its a five minute walk. You will see the hotel straight ahead. Great deal at $79 per night for a twin room through one of the special deal websites. The rooms are small but fresh and fine a short stay. Ask for one facing on to Thomas Street, much quieter than George Street. Very close to Chinatown for cheap eats.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrken22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2010

A few minutes from Central station .trains to circular quay.Renovated 1940s style .We paid $79 for queen bed room plus $15 ea for very good breakfast .Staff very friendly..Hotel bar out front for good cheap food.Toiletries sparse, need at least a second soap.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellersenior062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

I really liked this hotel, but beware the taxi drivers at the train station! Look up the directions beforehand, you really are only a 5 minute walk away; I got in a taxi and the bloke drove me round the block 3 times!!

Anyway.. this hotel is situated in Chinatown; you have to have a bit of stamina to get to the bridge and the opera house, but if you don't mind walking and it's a nice day, it's not bad. It has a grand entrance hall with friendly and helpful 24 hour staff, though watch out for the $50 deposit - none of my cards would take in their machines and I had to trudge around after a 10 hour train journey looking for a cashpoint in the dark - not great!

My room was big enough for me, comfy double bed, room was cleaned and fresh towels every day, small bathroom but really big shower. Only downfall was paper thin walls - could hear the neighbours!! Also if you want to do your laundry, you better rob a bank.

Good location for paddy's market, the museum, and darling harbour - but as i said, a bit of a walk for the opera house! There were also some very unsavoury shops on George St!

Overall a great hotel in a better than average location.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank endilwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2009

We were underwhelmed from our arrival through a rough looking side street entrance, the lack of staff and the extremely small room and bath. The place is in need of a refresh inside and out. There is no Concierge, the front desk people try but are not knowledgeable enough. Plan on $2 per bag for them to store you bag, plus tip. Suggest you use the internet shop across the street from the main entrance.

The hotel is located close to the Central Center bus and rail terminal, 15-20 min walk to the harbour. We were misled by AAA on the four star rating of the hotel, should not pay more than $90/night double occupancy.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirk55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2009

As said in some other reviews, one of the reasons why this hotel is so cheap at such a great location is because you need to pay for gym and internet etc. But actually this is not a problem for those who don't even need all that stuff.

Stayed there 3 nights this November and it was just a fine experience. Quiet, clean, everything in the room was working. - and thats all we expected. The staff were nice, and although we only booked for room service for the last day (somehow), they cleaned the room and changed sheets, towels on the second day after we required.

We didnt get a outfacing room but since we didnt stay in the room during the day, it didnt really matter.

Overall a satisfactory place to stay. and oh.. the location is just great!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monimonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

We stayed over the long weekend (Melbourne cup weekend) in Sydney. Unfortunately we booked late and finally we ended up in the GSH. The positive fact first. We arrived at 10 am and the room was ready for us. But that it from the positive point of view. The rooms was extremely small (where to put the second luggage?), cockroaches on the floor and we had a wake up call by the neighbour’s shower every morning. No welcome information on the room, mold in the showers corners and finally a 2 AUD fee per bag for storing the luggage does not confirm a four star rating. We paid 380 AUD (yes, 380 $) for the first night and the other 3 nights 95 AUD, but we stayed in better hotels for that amount of money. The nearby Youth Hostels have probably a equal standard for that money and are also in the same central location as the GSH. The staff in the YH is probably more friendly and helpful compared to the GSH.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caipimichl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#82 of 179 in Sydney
2,525 reviews
Inner West
28 Hotel
28 Hotel
#25 of 179 in Sydney
154 reviews
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#107 of 179 in Sydney
1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Southern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Southern Hotel

Address: 717 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Hotel Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $89 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Great Southern Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Great Southern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Southern Hotel
Great Southern Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing