We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Great Southern Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Travelodge Hotel Sydney(Sydney)
$107
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
$195
$175
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$270
$209
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$140
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cambridge Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$96
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$275
$238
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Meriton Suites Pitt Street, Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$184
$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,052)
Filter reviews
1,052 results
Traveler rating
173
464
258
97
60
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
464
258
97
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentral stationpaddy's marketdarling harbourgeorge streetart decorooms are smallbar downstairscapitol theatreshort walklight raildouble bedan easy walkbuffet breakfastchinatowntrainhaymarketfoyer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
556 - 561 of 1,052 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2014

This hotel is a very good, budget accommodation option for Sydney, especially if you are going to see a show. It is very close to Chinatown, Paddys Market and the light rail which takes you to the Star and Lyric theatres in a very short time. The staff on reception were friendly and the only reason I didn't rate the staff service as excellent is that a request in relation to breakfast was ignored, as possibly was not understood. The rooms were a reasonable size although the bathroom in my friends' room was tiny. My bathroom was looking a bit tired and could have been a bit better cleaned. However the shower was lovely and hot and had good water pressure. I loved the Art Deco interior of the ground floor area. I would definitely stay in this hotel again when visiting Sydney, as it is in an excellent location and is very well priced.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deavaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here at the start of our honeymoon in Sydney and it was a great budget option. Really close to the central train station, which makes it easy to get to and from the airport with the link train. There is a fridge in the room and we had a nice view of George st. The water pressure is fantastic, and they have a sink stopper in case you want to do laundry in the sink. We didn't eat breakfast there but there were a few nice looking options. Bar was crowded at night. The area is okay - in Chinatown, a few seedy xxx bookstores and massage parlors on the same block, but on the whole it was a good option and we enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The internet is metered and timed, which meant I was able to buy MAX at one time 5 gigs, to be used by minute, up to 7 days, for $80. The walls were a little bit thin. I hope my late conference calls to the States didn't bother anyone. One thing I can't understand is why there are no deadbolts on the doors? Perhaps it's an Australia thing because no hotel I've had here yet has had the ability to keep others out like that.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank LuvToEatTheBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is right in the middle of Chinatown in Sydney. It is kept up really well and is clean, however for being in such a modern city the hotel did not provided simple services. A deposit for one session of WiFi was $50AUD. The computer provided in the lobby costed money, even though most of that time was used waiting for the computer to comply. The phones in the rooms did not work either which provided an even bigger nuisance. The rooms it's self were probably the smallest rooms I have ever seen. Not even a place to put your luggage. Sydney is one of the most expensive cities, but it's worth checking out a different hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Jelena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I am so reluctant to share this gem - just one block from Central station and Chinatown and with the wide range of George St buses stopping 50m away. Considering the room prices, it's not that impressive on the outside but the rooms are consistent with the 4 star rating and the fairly well restored art deco public areas are quite charming - but the real savings are in the very modest pricing of good meals and drinks. So many old inner city pubs have become ugly, noisy bars, with perhaps a few residential guests under sufferance. Not this one. It is a well-conducted, very friendly pub - but with nice rooms and in a great spot. If you want acres of chrome and glass, staff in fancy dress with plastic smiles and a cavernous lobby this is not for you. Suits me - it might keep the price down a bit longer.

Room Tip: The bar can be noisy at night - be a few floors up and eat in the dining room not the bar (same prices, really!!).
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanF46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews