We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Great Southern Hotel
Ranked #96 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The Great Southern has all you need for a short stopover in Sydney. Plenty of shops, bars and restaurants nearby. The walk down to the harbour takes about 30 minutes with plenty to see. There is also regular buses to catch but remember to pre purchase your tickets from a shop displaying the pre pay sign. If you are getting picked up from the hotel wait at the rear entrance as transfer buses cannot stop outside the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was on 7th floor at the rear. The hotel itself was quiet but we had noisy neighbours!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    424
    232
    89
    54
See reviews for
110
373
134
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I arrived early on Xmas Eve around 10 am and they checked me in already as there was an available room. Without even asking she upgraded me. That was such a nice gesture.
Will certainly return here. It also very convenient for the buses as it was a public holiday the next day.

Room Tip: Get the family room, you get two tv
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I spent one night at the Great Southern so that I could get my first ride on an A-380 aircraft.

Location:

I picked the Great Southern because of its proximity to Sydney's Central Station where the AirportLink stops. It is about a five-minute walk with luggage. The front of the hotel is on busy George Street in downtown with the regular downtown crowds. The back door of the hotel opens into Chinatown and Paddy's MarketPlace.

Facilities: Although an older building, the interior of the hotel is renovated with all sorts of electronics. As a matter of fact, after going outside for a while, I could not get electricity in the room. Finally someone from the front desk had to help me. They were prompt and helpful. My room was clean and the bed comfortable. I had to put my 29-inch clamshell suitcase in the accessible bathroom.

Restaurants: I did not try the eateries in the hotel. I did pick up Chinese BBQ takeaway and a bottle of wine and it was great, though pricey.

Great Southern satisfied my needs for a one-night stay at reasonable cost.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WWLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Fantastic location, average service but sufficient, clean, spacious and comfortable room for twin bed its a plus plus plus+. Great to have a work desk for me to use my laptop and best the GPS on my phone works on the GoldenTrail app to keep track of my location and sharing it with my friends/business partners.
Truly recommended for people who are traveling here as tourist or doing business.

Room Tip: Excellent Location Spacious and clean twin bed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

The room is small and the attitude of the reception is very poor.
Stayed for four nights in this hotel. The reception in the hotel is the worst. Really very disgusting. They won't even say a sorry to you. Won't come back to this Hotel again!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AdrianKLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

sheffield uk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

A great hotel with a perfect location, close to all the sights , many restaurants, bars and the train and metro station. Hotel was clean, rooms spacious and clean breakfast plentiful and very good. Good bar , very popular with people all ages. Good food served at very reasonable prices. Staff very at tentative. Could not fault this hotel in any way would definitely recommend

Helpful?
Thank debSheffieldUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#80 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,263 reviews
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#63 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#102 of 175 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Southern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Southern Hotel

Property: The Great Southern Hotel
Address: 717 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Hotel Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Great Southern Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Great Southern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Southern Hotel
Great Southern Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing