We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Great Southern Hotel
Ranked #96 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed December 12, 2013

A hidden gem. Extremely good location within walking distance of all the popular sights, restaurants and bars. Train and tube station very close. Lovely hotel. Breakfast plentiful and well cooked. Lovely bar with good quality food served at a very reasonable price. Rooms spacious and very well presentable. Will definitely recommend and not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for. A room on the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debSheffieldUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,002)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

577 - 583 of 1,003 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

I had no choice but to stay here for 2 nights as the other hotels in the cbd were filly booked due to some conference.

An old property that has seen better days. Location wise right in the heart of Chinatown and walking distance to my meeting venue in the CBD and very accessible to many restaurants and Darling Harbor.

However the room was small and the bed too springy for my liking. Breakfast was a greasy offering.

I would have no qualms paying $200 max but I am giving it a bad review as the rate I paid was exorbitant.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samSG81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights when in
Sydney last month. The hotel itself is well located.

Upon arriving at 7 am I was greeted by drunk guests in the bar area. The bar attached to the hotel is basically a bogan pub.

The staff were rude and belligerent when I questioned te $2 they make you pay for holding your luggage. I understand that this is a service but I had already spent $600 for my stay.

Won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

First of all great location. Close enough by train or taxi to the airport, close to Circular Quay, shops, restaurants & all the sights.
It was clean & quiet with all amenities you need. We stayed only 2 nights after long international flight before moving on to our next destination. It's was perfect for that. If you are looking for luxury & great views of Sydney though, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at the Great Southern. Close to Central Station - could walk there with luggage - spotlessly clean spacious room with everything we needed and great food - will stay again next trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
1  Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Five minutes walk to train station, range of cheap restaurants in immediate vicinity, two minute walk to paddy's market, so to pack a lot in a short weekend we found this hotel great. Rooms are small but ours was quiet and comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful, even posted my iPad that I accidentally left behind to me. Would def book again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish2418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

It's hard to notice the hotel around the several bars and restaurants located along George Street, but it has quite a pleasant albeit aged lobby when you enter.

The rooms are okay, hallways a bit narrow and carpets aged. Beds are pretty comfortable, except for the fact that the hotel had combined two single beds to make a king size which made it uncomfortable towards the middle of the bed.

The air conditioning was mediocre. The room felt a coolish 23-24C when the aircon was set at 16C on high.

However, value was excellent! Amongst the cheapest rooms in the city area, yet one of the best locations and overall bang for buck.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelTrips12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#50 of 179 in Sydney
351 reviews
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#83 of 179 in Sydney
2,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Inner West
28 Hotel
28 Hotel
#31 of 179 in Sydney
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Southern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Southern Hotel

Address: 717 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Hotel Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $98 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Great Southern Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Great Southern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Southern Hotel
Great Southern Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing