We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Great Southern Hotel
Ranked #98 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
NSW, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Handy Location”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

After arriving 4 hours late due to a delayed flight it was such a relief to be able to walk out of Central Station and be at the Great Southern in minutes. I was pleased to see a separate entrance (rather than into the bar area) for guests. The service at check-in was prompt and efficient. I had requested a 'quiet' room and was a bit alarmed to find our room (on the 3rd floor), even though at the back of the building, was directly opposite a very noisy venue.... restaurants with loud music. But, this closed by 10.30pm (it was a Thursday night) and once it closed the room was much quieter than hoped for. We could hear no noise from anywhere else in the hotel. The room was smallish, which was expected, but clean with everything we needed. The shower was hot, water pressure great and extra pillows & blankets if needed. We ate at the restaurant in the hotel (dinner) and the food was hot, fresh & a reasonable price. Overall it was nothing flash but definitely suited our purpose and budget.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, so you are not next to a lift or have a doored room. One at the back, probabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    428
    234
    89
    55
See reviews for
111
373
135
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were on our way to a show at the A B C and were looking for a quick tasty meal. We found the Great Southern after looking at a few places and were very pleased.the food was fresh,tasty and was extremely well presented.the staff was friendly. The beers were great. The price was reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie1770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013

recommended to us for the cleanliness and great location, needing to get to the airport very early. It was a very easy walk to Central Station. Also very quiet, and convenient for lots of options for eating. The price was very reasonable for such a convenient spot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aruba
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The free bus to the harbor stops almost in front of the hotel, out the backdoor and you're basically in Chinatown.. Great location. The hotel itself is in an old building and, although clean, it shows its age. We had a problem with the airco blowing directly onto us on the bed, which was not very comfortable and nothing could be done. The staff was courteous, not very friendly, except Xenia, the front office manager, who is very friendly and very helpful.
Even though I am against charges for wifi, if it is reasonable, I will accept it. $ 20.00 per day, I find excessive! Anyway; the location and low price outweighed the wifi charge so we chose to stay there anyway

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnfun4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We found the location and facility's to suit our visit. We have stayed at the Great Southern on a number of occasions and would do so in the future. The service on arrival was prompt and efficient. The room and its facilities met our needs . Access to public transport made it very easy to visit our family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Darcy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Great location on busy George street and next to Chinatown 1 minute, Central station 2 minutes, and darling harbour 6 minutes. It is also not too far to walk to pitt at mall and qvb building about 10 minutes walk. Hotel itself is very old, cheap toiletries, tiny rooms, and they charge guests $2 per bag luggage storage which is not very service oriented.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melbgirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Bhopal, India
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Went there in Feb 2009, those days when I solely relied on travel agent for best possible budget accommodation. Apart from good location, nothing else really works for this Hotel. Just a big No No for next time.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Manas23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#50 of 179 in Sydney
237 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#80 of 179 in Sydney
2,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Chinatown
Valentine On George
Valentine On George
#116 of 179 in Sydney
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Southern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Southern Hotel

Property: The Great Southern Hotel
Address: 717 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Hotel Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Great Southern Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Great Southern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Southern Hotel
Great Southern Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing