We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Great Southern Hotel
Ranked #97 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

4 minute walk from Central station. Check in staff were friendly. Rooms are not that much smaller than any other hotel. Did not hear any street noise. Had a much better experience than other reviewers. Enjoyed the proximity to the train station. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frank2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    435
    238
    90
    55
See reviews for
115
377
136
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Paper thin walls - heard every snore all night.
Corridor creaks with every step.
Dated aircon just blows unheated air.
Monday night music from hotel went past midnight. Loud loud.
Bed pathetic - one of those hard 40yo prison type beds.
4 star? : stayed in better 3 and 3.5 star hotels. Needs re-rating badly.
Staff are fine, room dated but ok layout and size but not what they claim.
Lots of rooms; (most would be internal facing other rooms). Carpet quality poor.
Location is good, but better value around if you look.
Once is certainly enough. No gym, poo,l anything.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StPatrickSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed here on a short trip to Sydney in late June

Staff were very friendly and accommodating to our needs. We arrived off the plane at approx. 6am, were advised that the rooms we had booked wouldn't be ready until normal check in time. The staff went out of their way to get both rooms ready early. One available at 830am

Close location to Central Station as well as just in front of the Paddy's Market.

Only negative was that the bathroom was small, however the room was pre-renovated.

Room Tip: If you are to stay here ask for a room on the 6/7th floor away from the street (its much quieter) an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jawesome81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Central located but rooms and bathrooom is small. Be preparred to pay for all small emnities like safe usage and storage. Bed was not made properly but staff were friendly and helpful. Would not recommend breakfast @ $20 as larger variety available around the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hoosein s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West Rocks, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Reason for staying: Needed something close to Central Station and Chinatown, and it was the cheapest rate for that particular night (Friday Night).
On Arrival: Check in was fast, but the girl at reception didn't seem all that pleasant.
Room: It was tidy, the beds were a little to hard and the bathroom was small. Older style room. Not modern.
Food: Terrible and overpriced We ordered from the pub menu which I guess would still be connected with their restaurant. Lamb Burger tasted foul like the salad had been prepared on the same board as fish. Surf and turf was a steak and prawns which tasted ok but far from good.
Service: The bar staff were friendly. The hotel staff were prompt to fix an issue.
Price: I thought $200 for the night was overpriced. Weekend price but still ridiculous for that hotel.
Overall: It suited out needs at the time. Although the food wasn't great, and we were woken by another rooms alarm, I couldn't say I wouldn't return. Its close to everything and I'd just eat elsewhere. The bar had a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pacey306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 6 nights in double room.
Bed sheets were not changed everyday.
Sometimes we did not get face towels.
No vacuum cleaning on the carpet throughout our stay. Nails I cut on the first day stayed through out our stay.
Desks, table and the phone were really dusty when we checked in, not cleaned through out our stay.
Walls were too thin. We could hear every conversation in the next room and the corridor. Some movements next room caused shock to our bed frame.
4-star rating is a joke. 2-star is appropriate.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hitoritabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Location:
Great. Near Darling Harbor, Central Station, Paddy’s Market, Capitol Theater and China Town.

Room:
Meets basic requirements, small, neat & clean. Good value on week days but weekend rate is too much.
Question: If the manager is reading this, we would love to know why there is a long mirror on the wall NEXT to the toilet. The opposite wall (on the other side of the toilet) is only a meter away - try standing in front of that. There are good mirrors placed properly elsewhere but we can’t see a reason for this one.

Restaurant:
Breakfast was just OK – could have been a bit hotter
Dinner: I had a barramundi fillet that would not have covered a slice of bread. It tasted great but I had to go across to China Town for a top-up. The wife’s burger was nothing to write home about either. We will not be dining there again.

Free Wi-Fi. Not free in the rooms. One has to be in the bar for that. The first night it wasn’t working at all and the second night the bar was too busy to find a space for my lap-top. Won’t be going back to the bar again either. Not when there are other places out on the street that provide it for free.

Room Tip: Our room on the west side (level 7) was OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockinRod_234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#53 of 178 in Sydney
281 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#81 of 178 in Sydney
2,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Vulcan Hotel
#78 of 178 in Sydney
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Southern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Southern Hotel

Property: The Great Southern Hotel
Address: 717 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Hotel Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#82 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Great Southern Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Great Southern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Southern Hotel
Great Southern Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing