We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location at great price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Great Southern Hotel
Ranked #97 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Convenient location at great price”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed one night and was delighted with the fact that the hotel was so easily and quickly accessible from both the Airport and CBD either by train or bus.Reception staff very friendly.
Room comfortable and clean although whole place looks tired. I would suggest taking earplugs as walls are very thin and the noises from next door were somewhat disturbing during the night!
I had trouble with Wifi connection which is only available in the bar by reception.
Jane

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    427
    234
    89
    55
See reviews for
111
373
135
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights in March. The location was great, we could easily walk to central station/shops/ Darling harbour. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We would stay here again and overall were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beaniebag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here for four nights (room only) in February 2013. Our room was one of the quirkier ones on Level 2 with furniture supposedly dating back to the early 1900s. Was impressed with the security doors off the staircase to the rooms and the room had a safe deposit box. We ate in the restaurant area downstairs a few times and the food wad fresh, tasty and plentiful. The public bar downstairs is very popular with guests, locals and passing trade and we enjoyed a number of hours sat in the pavement seating area in front of the bar just watching the world go by! Very busy thorough fare so lots of people watching! The hotel is very well located - just make sure you find the back door as this exit take you straight to the market and a much easier route to darling harbour. Its also just a stone throw from the station. Wouldn't necessarily recommend this hotel or area to those with young children as the bar area could get quite boisterous! Plus the pavement seating area is for smokers and smoking was allowed in the external corridors of the floors - OK for us as we smoke! Would definitely recommend to all others - for its location to the attractions it was very reasonable too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BandKevWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I have eaten in the bar on 5 or 6 ocassions and one of the times the burger bun was stale, when asked by the waitress if everything was ok, I said 'no, the bun is stale', "oh" she said and walked off and did nothing about it. The 2nd time the New York pizza was undercooked, I sent it back and it returned burnt on the top and under-cooked and soggy underneath.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chubby88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Geraldton, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We walked around for hours trying to find a pub showing the wce v hawks game & these guys were the only ones happy to put it on for us. Everyone else gave us the 'gayfl' response or we only show rugby response. Beer was well priced & food menu good value too.

Helpful?
Thank General_Manager_GOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Great Southern is a good standard hotel which is reasonable price for Sydney. It is in a good location . the rooms while a little small are clean and have all you need. Staff were very helpful. Have used this hotel several times and have not been disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Just spent 3 nights here and overall was totally satisfied that the room and overall experience we received was what we expected. Staff were helpful and courteous. We asked ( on booking ) for a high room and got one on the 6th floor. It was very quiet and had the expected facilities in the room. There was a safe but this had an additional charge. The hotel rests on top of a lively bar which was also fine. Wifi in the bar is free for an hour but nothing free in the hotel I'm afraid. In general free wifi is hard to find not only in Sydney but across Aus so when you get it make the most of it. Located within 5 mins walk of central station which was very handy. For info: Return ticket on tube around city was $4.80. Ticket to airport $17 ish. If you have a family use the ferries on a Sunday if you can as there are big discounts.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#58 of 178 in Sydney
195 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#81 of 178 in Sydney
2,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Valentine On George
Valentine On George
#114 of 178 in Sydney
162 reviews
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Southern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Southern Hotel

Property: The Great Southern Hotel
Address: 717 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Hotel Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Great Southern Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Great Southern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Southern Hotel
Great Southern Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing