We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extras for a longer stay and looking after your luggage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Great Southern Hotel
Ranked #96 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Extras for a longer stay and looking after your luggage”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is an old building hat has been converted into a more modern hotel. The room was very small with only windows near the ceiling but it was comfortable enough.
The thing that I thought was very poor was their service. I travel a lot for work and most hotels in Sydney have a 11am check out. However this hotel is 10am and if you want to stay longer its $10 an hour plus if you want them to store your bags its $2 per bag. Now I know these may not seem like large amounts but its the principle i though it was poor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nkibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    416
    229
    89
    53
See reviews for
109
369
131
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Yet another overpriced dump of a hotel in central Sydney. I can't believe I spent $250/night to stay here! The rooms are tiny and can barely fit one person, let alone two. The staff are not very helpful or friendly. The bathroom was one of the smallest I've ever seen in a hotel, with barely enough room to turn around in the space. And they don't even provide a hand soap for the sink or hand towels, which is especially cheap. Not to mention - you have to pay by the hour for in-room internet access? Ridiculous! The only plus side is the location - it's right on George Street, directly across the street from Central Station (perfect for getting down to the airport quickly and easily), and it's within walking distance of a number of fun areas in Sydney - Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Oxford Street, etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roygbiv81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Nottm
Level Contributor
141 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

the best thing about this hotel is the location, on george st nr train station,just round around the corner from china town and paddys market. darling harbour a easy 10 min walk away and bus stop to ferries 5 mins away. found the staff a bit blunt answered any questions but without smiles..the room was small and stuffy but was adequate for 5 nights,. used the bar attached which was ok and gave free wi fi if you purchased drinks and the food was very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NottmRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

My elderley parents were booked into this hotel for one night before embarking on their cruise, as they couldn't board the ship until 1pm I called and asked for a late checkout. I was going to ask for a checkout at 11am, but before I could ask I was told that its going to cost $10 per hour for a late checkout or if they wanted to they could hold their bags for them at a cost of $2 per bag. Now I nearly choked, as someone that has travelled quite extensively I have never heard of a charge like this. I understand that some people may take advantage of a late checkout, but surely it should be judged on a case by case basis. $10 per hour doesn't sound a lot, but honestly whatever happened to customer service. Shame on you and shame on Australia if this is classed as normal. We deserve to have our tourism industry go broke if this is good customer service.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

In 10 years of travel this has to be worst hotel I have stayed: 1. Filthy from lobby to corridors to bedrooms; 2. No ventilation - management tried to explain this is universal in Sydney due to fire safety regulations, which I know is false having stayed at other Sydney hotels & common sense dictates if there is a fire, you need escape out, not prevent it. 3. Basics e.g. towels/ toilet rolls inadequate, & like myself found others queueing requesting this to be told you need to come and collect these yourself rather than housekeeping do it! 4. No concierge assistance with luggage. 5. Unhelpful staff demonstrating no intent to make guests welcome. So many other negatives that have ran out of space. I wanted to leave within 2 hours, but yes you guessed it, there is no refund & 100% cancellation charge, so had no choice to stay the 3 days booked. Hope others benefit from this poor experience & find alternative accommodation elsewhere !

Room Tip: As someone who is very accommodating, I can only recommend one looks elsewhere unless you wish your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Excellent price, location and quality balance for a pretty expensive city. Only 2 min away from the central station, you'll find this modest but nice hotel which offers you very economic and cosy rooms. You'll enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorenaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Jetty, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We booked The Great Southern Hotel (GSH) because its very close to Sydney Central Station. Trip Advisor reviews were okay, but we were pleasantly surprised The room was excellent. Spotlessly clean, tasteful decor and it seems it has been recently refurbished. It had a king-sized bed, wardrobe with iron, ironing board, extra pillows, luggage rack, mini-fridge, and a cosy bathroom. The bed was good quality and very comfortable and there was no exterior noise. The windows looked out over a light well.
On the negative side, the shelves in the bathroom above the hand basin and in the shower were sloping down because the wall plugs were loose. This resulted things sliding off when you placed them on the shelves. Also, if its raining, you can hear the rain dripping all night on the polycarbonate sheeting outside the window all night. It didn’t bother us but it could someone else. Check in seemed to take a long time with the man concentrating on his computer screen – maybe he was playing a game?. Neither he nor his colleague raised a smile the entire time. The cleaning staff also didn’t smile when greeted. Maybe its not a happy place to work.
The price of $155 a night (including card fees) for room only is steep, but in Sydney city, everything is expensive. Our very early departure meant that we missed breakfast, but it also seemed pricey - $20 per person.
WiFi was extra in the room and even a Internet kiosk in the lobby was “pay for use”. My experience shows that the more expensive the hotel, the less you get for free. With travellers increasingly utilising the internet for bookings and research, hotels that charge for WiFi will find themselves eliminated from consideration.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BL1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#77 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,196 reviews
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#76 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#103 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Southern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Southern Hotel

Property: The Great Southern Hotel
Address: 717 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Hotel Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Great Southern Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Great Southern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Southern Hotel
Great Southern Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing