We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect score, until ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Great Southern Hotel
Ranked #96 of 176 Hotels in Sydney
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A perfect score, until ...”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were after an overnight stop before catching a train from Sydney and booked the Great Southern on webjet. Great price and great location, within sight of central station. We arrived late so 24 hour check-in was great, and a happy helpful receptionist too. Good modern room, new furnishings, large and very clean bathroom, very comfortable bed - there was even a refridgerator and it was very quiet!

Everything was heading for a perfect score until someone - upstairs, downstairs, room along side - had a shower at 5:00am - the water pipes sounded like a jet engine - not a good way to wake up.

Sorry Great Southern, we're paying for a decent sleep. Fix the plumbing and I'll gladly stay again.

Room Tip: We were in room 420 - this may be the only room with a water pipe problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RStuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    424
    232
    89
    54
See reviews for
110
373
134
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in April 2012 and were pretty impressed. The room was comfortable and clean, although the bed was a bit squishy, being a zip together king size. Even though our window faced the inside of the hotel (no outward view), plenty of light came through. Tea and coffee making facilities were adequate.

There were some nice touches in the lobby area, with antique phones and furniture and lots of pictures of how Sydney used to look in decades gone by.

The hotel is a stone's throw from Paddy's Markets and China Town, and you can get to Darling Harbour in a ten minute walk, so location was great. We even walked further into the city and to The Rocks on a couple of occasions. This was more like a 30-40 minute walk, but nice if you're up for it.

The staff were generally helpful and kind. The desk was manned 24hrs, which was handy.

We ate in the restaurant too, which was okay. To be honest, there are so many places to eat in Sydney, so unless you want a lazy or a cheap meal, it's a shame not to go out for dinner!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seza3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

A good value stay, short walk from central station and across the road from major tour pick up point (YHA Central). Small room and small shower room but all facilities ok and comfortable beds.
A good lively bar and restaurant on the premises (may be separately managed) where we ate 2/3 times.
A straight walk down George Street to the Harbour with lots of shops,restaurants & bars along the way.This was a very affordable 4 night stay in the great City of Sydney.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Needed decent accommodation for two nights to catch a few bands and found The Great Southern to be more than suffice. Quick walk to the Entertainment centre, plus may other venues, clubs, pubs, restaurants etc. Very close to Chinatown and only a short distance to Darling Harbour and Central Station.
Rooms were small, though clean, and more than adequate. Reasonably cheap, on-site parking is a major plus.
Not the cheapest place ever, though I would of expected to pay more for a hotel of the Southern's nature in the depth of the city. Not the most luxurious of stays, but perfect for a short trip to the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mems77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

The big problem i had was the fact they had no wifi according to the desk clerk thats normal for Australia you could get wi fi from the hotel bar but had to buy a drink first. This lasts for 1 hour then password is changed forcing you to buy another drink. How archaic is that.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanstacey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed for one night with my daughter whilst travelling through Sydney. Picked this hotel due to the great comments here on Trip Advisor. The room was small but clean with a TV and 2 single beds.

This was that all was needed, good price for 1 night. Very close to Paddys Markets and China Town. We caught the train from the airport and then back again the next day to catch another flight. This was convenient, 5 min walk to Central Station.

Would stay again for a short trip but not if you want to relax and be on holidays for an extended time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noels43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here as we were going to see the cricket at the SCG. The Great Southern is a great hotel for this purpose as its within walking distance of both central station and the SCG.

The rooms were clean and comfortable, and our room was nice and quiet (being away from the Main Street in front of the hotel).

It's an older hotel, which adds to its charm, but there are more modern hotels that I would probably prefer if I was to the trip again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#81 of 176 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,271 reviews
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#65 of 176 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#102 of 176 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Southern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Southern Hotel

Property: The Great Southern Hotel
Address: 717 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Hotel Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Great Southern Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Great Southern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Southern Hotel
Great Southern Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing