We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, every meal delicious”
Review of Pendolino

Pendolino
Ranked #21 of 5,854 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $57
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Excellent, every meal delicious”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We visited Pendolino upstairs in the Strand Arcade for the second time for a birthday dinner. In short the decor is dark and very nicely appointed, lighting etc. The staff are very good and the dinning experience is high. The real focus is the excellent food, every dish we had was 'top notch', from pasta to venison. The bread was something special and the dessert options both new and brilliant. Must have the honeycomb dessert. Price is at the upper end, but certainly representative of the quality and atmosphere, in the heart of the city. Go for a birthday or anniversary.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TmanSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    198
    57
    13
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cafe Pendolino - attitude a little stand offish”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I used to really like going up to the cafe part of Pendolino for a quick lunch. The food is lovely and it is very good value however the last couple of visits the staff have a real take it as you come type of attitude and have not been overwhelmingly friendly. I'm not asking for super special one on one service. I realise it's just the cafe section of the restaurant but the attitude is a touch arrogant which I think is a shame. I'll still give it another go to see if there is any change as the food really is lovely and it's a pretty spot.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank owler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Food and wine list offset the noise”
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Situated in the heart of the Sydney CBD, Pendolino sits in a prime location atop the beautiful Strand Arcade. Great start. The food is invariably very good - just enough creativity to avoid being accused of predictable, always nicely cooked and well presented. Service always very efficient and non-intrusive. Wine list very good at OK prices. Wide variety of olives and high quality olive oils. The one downside is the noisy atmosphere - tightly packed seating, hard surfaces and open kitchen don't lend themselves to calm conversation.

Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Too many other great restaurants around, not worth trying”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

After reading so many great reviews we have booked this place for a Valentine's dinner a month in advance. We had a very high expectations about this restaurant, which were not met :(
The wine list is very average, the food is very heavy with way too much oil. The service were very poor, definitely not up to the fine dining level. Not going back and won't recommend to anyone.
In this price range I would suggest you try ARIA or Rockpool - you will pay the same price, but will enjoy it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kissa-Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Our meal was among the best italian food I have had (and I have tried a lot of italian restaurants). As we have learned in Sydney, we ordered the smallest portions available and were very happy with the amount of food served. Our fagioli salad was terrific. On the downside, the restaurant is very crowded and noisy (it often goes with success). The sommelier was very helpful in sugggesting wines for each dish.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pendolino also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Pendolino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing