We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good French Food”
Review of Bistro Papillon

Bistro Papillon
Ranked #143 of 5,844 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $29
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good French Food”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

A great find to have a belated Bastille Day lunch. Honest French food served by attentive waiters. Good wine list

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank PhilipJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    79
    7
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Make a booking!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our 2nd visit here in the last 12 months, and nothing has changed - the food is still superb and the service is spot on - you won't be disappointed. A small bistro with a great atmosphere and definitely a touch of France. We were a party of four and our entrees and main meals were all well prepared, fresh and full of flavour. Prices are very reasonable and there is a great wine list to match. A warm and friendly place to enjoy beautiful French cuisine without a hefty price tag. Don't try a 'walk in', you'll probably be unlucky, make a booking so you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lizg007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pfinztal
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best french place in Sydney”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Bistro Papillon was recommanded by friends. We went there and we loved it. It´s a small place with an intimate atmosphere, super service and excellent wines and food. What a find between all the terrible fast food places in CBD. We had a lovely evening, didn´t spend too much money, went out with a smile on our faces. If you want to taste real french cuisine for an affordable price,
go there and enjoy the unique atmosphere of this place. We´ll come back certainly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiama
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This little restaurant was a delight. The attentive but unobtrusive waiters made choosing the wine and meal a joy. If you are a tourist needing a little touch of home or a Francophile who loves anything French, you really should try this place. Would love to be there on Bastille night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richam6364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Expensive, noisy, small table, disappointing menu”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Overall the dining experience was disappointing. The fish of the day was a smallish serving of a chowder type dish at $34 each.
A small serving of French bread at $6.00 each which should have been included with the soup like main.
Least expensive white wine on the list $43 was OK and French but there was no Australian option.
Small French beer $8.00
Service was slow and the waiter took so,long for our desert order that we gave up. Mind you our first selection was not available on the night.
Would not recommend

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv_good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Papillon also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Bistro Papillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing