We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real French food, just like being there...”
Review of Bistro Papillon

Bistro Papillon
Ranked #124 of 5,857 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Real French food, just like being there...”
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend recently brought me here for the Valentines Day set menu. It was a real surprise and we were both thoroughly impressed. There is nothing modern or Australian about the meal. It felt like we were back in a French countryside town. The wines were delicious, and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

It's a small little restaurant, so make sure you book, plenty of people were turning up at the door and couldn't get in. If you want a small, intimate dinner, this is the place to go.

Our favourite dish was the starter, a mixed plate of terrine, pâté and sausage, just like we had in southern France!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MellyWilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    83
    7
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great French Food, helpful staff”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We found this restaurant using trip advisor. What a find, we can't wait to go back. The food was exactly as we wanted, very French, we had great service and the wines that we chose matched perfectly with the meal. The food is well priced for the size and so good. The space is a bit noisy but given the small size, this is to be expected.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anneb24412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Excellent CBD Find”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Bistro Papillion is stunning! The restaurant is tiny, with enough room for about 10 tables and was really evocative of restaurants in Paris. Many of the staff are French, and the service is excellent.

The menu has some fantastic French treats on there, and the Pâté de Foie for a starter was sensational. For main we had the Filet de Boeuf which again was delicious. This was washed down with a very nice bottle of Loire Valley Vin Blanc which for $43 was excellent.

All in all we loved Bistro Papillion and we will definitely be back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheRoamingBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Another great Bistro”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Unpretentious great food, wine list and ambiance.

They passed the acid test of French onion soup with flying colours and went from strength to strength from there.

The staffs were engaging and involved if you wanted it, all in all a very enjoyable evening.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UX-Director
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“unexpected gem”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The atmosphere brings a rustic and homely feel not found easily in Sydney. We had a group of 12 for a party. A table was set with drinks pre-poured as requested. With our number we sampled almost everything. I settled on the Beef Tartare and the Chicken Casserole because I wanted 'home food'. The casserole was quite rich in flavour.

Waiting for your nourishing meal over a glass of wine you could imagine that the outside world was anywhere.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joyce2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Papillon also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Bistro Papillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing