We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place at fantastic location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BreakFree on George

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BreakFree on George
Ranked #87 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
canberra
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place at fantastic location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

The units at break free on George provide terrific value for money and a brilliantly located near Central Station, China town and Darling Harbour.
The staff are extremely helpful and nothing seems to much for them in there ability to go the "extra mile".
The hotel is my first option when in Sydney

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanberraCarlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rina P, Front Office Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear CanberraCarlton,

Thank you so much for 5 star review and making special mention of our Front Desk team.

We are always very happy to assist in providing our guest with a memorable stay at BreakFree on George.

Look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Rina Park
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    682
    378
    113
    95
See reviews for
544
425
92
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gunnedah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

I got this motel for a great price on Wotif. The first thing I was impressed with was the location, less than 5 min from Central, across the road from Paddy's Markets and the Capitol Theatre! The room was large and a small stove and sink was provided if you wanted to cook in your room. The bed was comfortable and we were given a room that overlooked George Street and the Capitol Theatre and we didn't hear anything at all. The only thing I can complain about is the air con I look my room to be like a fridge when I go to bed and though the temp was comfortable it could have been a bit more powerful and in saying this I am only nit picking.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kylznmuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rina P, Front Office Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear kylznmuz,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

BreakFree on George is the perfect place for a short walk from major Paddy's Market and I’m pleased to see that you enjoyed our convenient location.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sydney.

Kind regards,

Rina Park
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

THe location is great, but the room was a disappointment. It was clean, but very tiny, there was room to walk around the bed and that was it. The shower was hardly worth calling a shower as you had to move to get wet. But it was well stocked with soap, shampoo, shaving foam, lotion etc. Having a room next to the elevator was pretty noisy, but nothing that earplugs couldn't fix. The front desk staff was neither friendly nor unfriendly. It wasn't a bad experience, but it wasn't anything to rave about either. Would go back there if no other option was available.

Room Tip: Get a room as far from the elevator as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cardemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in September 2013 for 2 nights. Very comfortable bed, large room with well equipped kitchenette. It had a hot plate to cook on which is quite unusual for Australia. Bathroom spacious and catered for those with a disability. Bit noisy late at night but my room was facing a back street. My friend stayed in a room facing George st. and she had the same complaint. Front desk staff very helpful and friendly. I would stay again as it was a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rina P, Front Office Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear 413Donna1962,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and found the apartment spacious and comfortable.

We are in the process of looking at the different options to minimize traffic noise.

Thank you again, your feedback is important to us and we hope to welcome you back to BreakFree on George in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rina Park
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home Hill
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is a first class hotel, right in the heart of Sydney, couldn't ask for anything more. I stuffed up my own booking, and the concierge staff could not have done enough for me. Fantastic experience, I am going back next year (Cause I stuffed up but am not regretting returning, can't wait!!)

Room Tip: we ended up with two rooms, both were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rina P, Front Office Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Debbie M,

Thank you very much for 5 star review and taking time to pass on your impressions from your recent stay at BreakFree on George.

I am naturally delighted that you had fantastic experience and especially to read the comments on the staff. I will definitely share your comments with the rest of the team.

Thank you again, I look forward to welcoming you back to the BreakFree on George Hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Rina Park
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
477 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Breakfree on George is in a great spot from which to explore Sydney. It is a little noisy at night but not too bad. The entrance to the hotel is a little off putting, it's a bit like walking into a Chinese restaurant. The staff on the desk were polite and helpful but a smile would have made such a difference.The room was good although it could have been cleaner. There were thick cobwebs in the bedroom.I have stayed in many Sydney hotels but chose this one because the price was reasonable for a room with two separate sleeping areas. The hotel is situated in China town close to Paddys market.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andream0402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rina P, Front Office Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear andream0402,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience on your recent stay at BreakFree on George.

I was delighted to read your comments on the great location and helpful front desk team. The location is ideal for anyone looking to explore Sydney or be close to entertainment locations like Capitol Theatre and the Sydney Entertainment Centre.

I have addressed your concern in regards to the cleaner room with our Housekeeping Manager. I really appreciate you for giving us valuable feedback on Housekeeping where this can be used as great tool for our assessment as guest's point of view.

Thank you again, I look forward to welcoming you back to the BreakFree on George Hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Rina Park
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and I don't think I have any major complains, just that the hotel could have asked the guests whether they want pots and pans as an option when booking and not have it only upon request. In any case, the cooking area is quite small and preparation area non existence. I actually wanted to cook my own meals but upon looking at the cooking area, I gave up and eat out instead. The bathroom and a bathtub but the bathtub seems worn out. The room that I have is a hybrid of a hotel room and a studio apartment but it is small. Nothing much to rave or shout, just it's a good location. I have stayed in the Haymarket area many times before and I can consider this place as a backup when my 1st choice hotel is not available.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samuelp82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rina P, Front Office Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear samuelp82,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at BreakFree on George.

As you have mention, in our smaller apartment types pots and pans are provided upon guest request basis only due to the limited storage in kitchen area.

We also offer 2 Bedroom Apartment type where families and long stay guests benefit from spacious fully equipped kitchen.

Hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at BreakFree on George for your next trip to Sydney.

Kind regards,

Rina Park
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney World Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
APX World Square
#104 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Chinatown
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#97 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree on George

Property: BreakFree on George
Address: Pacific International Apartmen 653 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree on George 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sydneys entertainment precinct, BreakFree on George Sydney offers accommodation to suit both business and leisure travellers. Just 35 minutes from Sydney airport and close to Capital Square Lightrail Station, Chinatown, The Star Casino, Sydney Entertainment Centre, Paddy's Market, Capitol Theatre, Sydney Entertainment Centre, Cockle Bay and Darling Harbour. BreakFree on George Sydney gives you access to all Sydney has on offer. The accommodation at BreakFree on George Sydney consists of studios, one and two bedroom apartments, all with high-speed broadband access, pay-to-view movies, selected Foxtel channels, lounge and dining area. Most apartments have private balconies (available on request), fully-equipped kitchen in two bedroom apartments, kitchenette in studios, one bedroom apartments, washer/dryer available in all two bedroom apartments, ISD/STD direct dial phones and voice mail message service, individually controlled air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities. We offer guest services at BreakFree on George Sydney including 24 hour reception, concierge and same day laundry service. From your doorstep take a short stroll and sample the best that Sydney City has to offer with multi-cultural dining, vibrant night life and a host of bars, clubs and entertainment catering for all ages and budgets. If shopping is on your wish list, the designer boutiques of Pitt Street and the bustling market style of Sydneys famous Paddys Markets are both within close proximity of BreakFree on George Sydney. BreakFree on George Sydney caters to a diverse range of travellers and is well suited those looking for affordable inner-city accommodation. Please provide your own baby blankets for the Baby Cot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BreakFree on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree On George Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing