We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yuk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BreakFree on George
Ranked #96 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel was dirty and shabby, we thought Breakfree would be a trusted brand, not so. The in house restaurant where the breakfast was, was disgusting. Don't they have cleaners in Sydney? Getting a nights sleep was impossible, traffic noise was awful, air conditioner fluctuated from hot to cold all night and there was no control in the room to change it. Overall a very unpleasant stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rhonda-from-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,061)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,688 - 1,694 of 2,063 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

Everywhere looked a bit shabby and second-hand needs a complete refurbishment to include triple glazing, very noisy but that is to be expected overlooking George Street, the room layout is good, but the toilet pan is totally unacceptable it is impossible to sit on it if you are over 4ft tall !!!! Excellent location Free Green Bus just outside the door, all other buses and a short walk from main line station. Paddys Market an interesting visit out of the Sussex Street entrance. Location excellent, Hotel could be a lot better.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ducati4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rina P, Front Office Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear cangau,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

Our central location is one of our best features and I will be sure to pass on the kind reviews to the team.

I regret the shortcomings in service you have reported from housekeeping. Also please accept my sincerely apologies in regards to the issue you have raised regarding Chilli and Spicy Restaurant. The issue you raised have been addressed with both Housekeeping and Restaurant Manager.

Thank you again and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to BreakFree on George.

Kind regards,

Rina Park
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

This apartment hotel is in a great location for walking to a lot of Sydney's attractions, however, it is so unbelievably noisy that I had terrible sleep while there. Thankfully we had a sofa bed in our 1 bedroom apartment, so I went and slept in the living area where it was considerably quieter than in the bedroom.
The apartment itself is nice and perfect for a family stay and the staff are friendly, but I wouldn't stay here again based on the noise levels.

Stayed: October 2013
2  Thank BecM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rina P, Front Office Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Bec M,

Thank you for your recent review of BreakFree on George.

To ensure pleasant stay for our guests we are currently looking at number of different options to minimize street noise level.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our central location and friendly front desk team.

Thank you again for your feedback this is definitely allowing us to constantly improves our product.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rina Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

It is cheap for Central Sydney but a bit of a strange hotel. Good location in China Town. Really thin room with a good bed. If a good shower is important don't stay here. You almost have to walk around in it to get wet. Probably would pay more for another room rather than stay here again. Can be a little noisy but not as bad as some people have indicated.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirsty00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rina P, Front Office Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear kirsty00,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

I would be interested to hear more detail regarding your experience with our shower facility hence we could have attention it to our maintenance team to make your stay more pleasant.


Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to BreakFree on George in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rina Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for four nights on a leisure trip recently after having researched a lot over the net. The staff at the reception, especially Parag was very good. They agreed to our requests, and the turnaround time was pretty quick. The hotel is in a great location abutting both George Street and Sussex Street, which is part of the downtown, and close to many cheap eats. Starbucks and Chinatown is nearby. Rooms are clean, spacy. All in all a great stay.

Room Tip: Higher Floors recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NipanBansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rina P, Front Office Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear NipanBansal,

Thank you for the review of BreakFree on George.

It's pleasing to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and made a special mention of Parag.
Our central location is one of our best features and I will be sure to pass on the kind reviews to the team.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Rina Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

BreakFree on George is a relatively inexpensive place to stay that is reasonably centrally located on George St. A short walk from the Central Train station, Darling Harbor, Paddy's Market & Chinatown it is well located.
The accommodation is basic but then again in Sydney terms the price is reasonable.
The rooms can be noisy with street noise fairly constant through the day. At night George St does quieten down a tad but a fire engine, ambulance or police car will probably wake you at some time during the night.
Personally I'd probably choose something else but honestly it is ok.

Room Tip: For a quiet night ask for a central room or one that faces Chinatown rather than George St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeamJaffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rina P, Front Office Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear TeamJaffa,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

I agree that our central location makes it easy to get around Sydney by walking and public transport.

Unfortunately being in such a central location can sometimes attract noise on the street.
However to ensure pleasant stay for our guests we are currently looking at number of different options to minimize street noise.

Please feel free to contact me directly via email; rina.park@breakfree.com.au next time you are planning to travel to Sydney and I will personally ensure your stay is a comfortable one.

Kind regards,

Rina Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Attempted to redeem a much advertised coupon and was met with rude, rigid and inflexible reservation staff, so were unable to use our coupons at all. Therefore wasted $260 on this hotel. They would not budge an inch to meet us 10 percent of the way, let alone half way with anything at all regarding our reservation, so we lost all our money and couldn't use our coupons at all. At the end of the day the hospitality industry relies on, and deals with people, human beings. Our experience with attempting to make a reservation at this hotel using a coupon system which they offer, we found to be inhospitable. The opposite of what hospitality should be about.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rina P, Front Office Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear john g,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience with our reservations department. I am sorry to hear that you have experienced disappointment during your reservation process.

Although we had clear block out dates and terms & conditions stated on the voucher, quite a
lot of additional dates were also heavily booked due to huge response with voucher promotion.

Please do not hesitate to contact myself directly via rina.park@breakfree.com.au to discuss this further hence I can explain the hotels position.

Thank you again for your review and hope to have opportunity to welcome you back to BreakFree on George in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rina Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#49 of 179 in Sydney
380 reviews
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#83 of 179 in Sydney
2,523 reviews
Oaks on Castlereagh
#71 of 179 in Sydney
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree on George

Address: Pacific International Apartmen 653 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $121 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree on George 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
35 minutes from Sydney airport and a short stroll from Chinatown, The Star Casino, Sydney Entertainment Centre, Paddy's Market, Darling Harbour, vibrant night life and shopping. Consisting of newly refurbished studios, one and two bedroom apartments, with high-speed broadband access, pay-to-view movies, selected Foxtel channels, lounge and dining area. Most apartments have private balconies (available on request), fully-equipped kitchen in two bedroom apartments, kitchenette in studios, one bedroom apartments, washer/dryer available in all two bedroom apartments, individually controlled air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities. Guest services include 24 hour reception, concierge and same day laundry service. Please provide blankets for the Baby Cot. Maintenance Notice: BreakFree on George is planning an upgrade of rooms from 10 July until 15 October 2017. The hotel plans to minimise disruption towards all guests, but apologises there will be some inconvenience incurred. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your BreakFree on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree On George Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing