We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfree on George - in Chinatown Sydney - NO Parking.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BreakFree on George
Ranked #93 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Very nice hotel, no parking available on site. $30 per day near by.
tucked in between george street and sussex near Hay Street.

fantastic access to capitol theatre, paddys market and chinatown.

rooms nice and facilities good.

Room Tip: the higher the rooms the less the smell of the chinese restaraunt downstairs in the foyer or the foo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carliz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,008)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,760 - 1,766 of 2,008 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

My wife and myself stayed here for three nights over a weekend. As others have mentioned call the office a few days before arriving, and request a quiet room. We did and were on Floor 11 facing Paddys Market (Sussex Street side) in a studio Queen. The other benefit of this side of the building is that it faces West and gets the afternoon Sun. Room was adequate. With a good size fridge and kitchenette. The bed was comfortable. Plenty of pillows and blankets available.
There was a problem with our door handle we noticed when we first arrived. A call to reception and within 5 minutes 3 House maintenance staff arrived, and replaced the door handle and recoded our entry cards and solved the problem Well done.
Town Hall station is about 5 minutes walk in one direction and Central Station 5 minutes the other way.
We paid much less than others have quoted here AU$100 a night, but this was in conjunction with a flight special from an airline so we thought it was good value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1smost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Visited with my sisters for a girls weekend, needed 2 rooms, firstly the booking was easy to make, the staff were really keen to make sure we had rooms close to each other, so socializing was easy. The rooms were spacious, having two bathrooms with 4 women was a god send. No waiting for the mirror ! We had plenty of space when all 7 of us were in one room it was a bit coszy but not uncomfortable, we had a lower floor but didn't experience any street noise, we did face the rear street so perhaps this was the reason. The rooms were clean, had every thing we needed including wine glasses, anything extra was bought to us quickly. The price was really good especially when you consider how close you are to Central train station, China town and Darling Harbour. Thanks guys we had a great weekend and we'll be back. I've already had a call from my sisters asking when the next weekend will be.

Room Tip: From comments here it appears as though rooms at the rear of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We looked for somewhere fairly near the centre of Sydney for four of us to stay (couple plus two almost grown up daughters). This was one of the cheaper options that looked as though we may get some sleep. Much better than the supposedly "luxury" Quest option we chose in Fremantle. We slept well, two bathrooms (great advantage!), clean..... It wasn't a particularly smart area, but was fine and the staff were much more responsive and helpful than we had experienced at Quest.
Only drawback was the washer/drier which was very slow and almost impossible to use if you were not in much!

Room Tip: We were near the top which was quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BTW2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Needed a room for a staff member with a budget.
Checked the web sites and this was a "mystery" deal but the value was exceptional..
Met all the needs for a comfortable 4 star, close to transport, close to Haymarket, Darling Harbour and Chinatown and it wasn't as noisy as others have said.

Room Tip: Be careful of George Street frontage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I had to stay here on a business trip recently and not only was the cost way above what it should have been, but my room (like most of them) directly face George Street which makes for VERY noisy rooms overnight. Even with ear-plugs, my nights were constantly disrupted with noise from outside, as the windows are not double-glazed.

Apart from the noise, its way over-priced. There are far better options around.

Room Tip: If you do have to stay, ask for a quiet room away from George Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sits_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Located close to most of Sydney attractions like Opera House, Darling Harbour, Rocks, Paddys, world square etc. Rooms are Spacious but not like the ones shown in management snaps. Room service is also ordinary. Found the staff a bit unwelcoming. There are a lot of Asian eateries nearby.
Book this place only for its location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rahul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#50 of 179 in Sydney
351 reviews
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oaks on Castlereagh
#69 of 179 in Sydney
724 reviews
Central Business District
APX World Square
APX World Square
#113 of 179 in Sydney
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree on George

Address: Pacific International Apartmen 653 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $131 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree on George 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
35 minutes from Sydney airport and a short stroll from Chinatown, The Star Casino, Sydney Entertainment Centre, Paddy's Market, Darling Harbour, vibrant night life and shopping. Consisting of newly refurbished studios, one and two bedroom apartments, with high-speed broadband access, pay-to-view movies, selected Foxtel channels, lounge and dining area. Most apartments have private balconies (available on request), fully-equipped kitchen in two bedroom apartments, kitchenette in studios, one bedroom apartments, washer/dryer available in all two bedroom apartments, individually controlled air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities. Guest services include 24 hour reception, concierge and same day laundry service. Please provide blankets for the Baby Cot. Maintenance Notice: BreakFree on George is planning an upgrade of rooms from 10 July until 15 October 2017. The hotel plans to minimise disruption towards all guests, but apologises there will be some inconvenience incurred. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your BreakFree on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree On George Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing