We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for bike hire”
Review of Bonza Bike Tours

Bonza Bike Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$80.97*
and up
Sydney Bike Tours
Ranked #28 of 250 Outdoor Activities in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bonza Bike Tours was founded in 2004 to create a unique experience in Sydney. Before we came around, there was no way to see all that Sydney has to offer without killing your feet or being stuck behind the window of a bus. We focus on creating a fun environment where you can become part of the active lifestyle that Sydney is famous for, while having a few laughs with fellow travelers. We look forward to seeing you in Sydney – and Melbourne, too!
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We hired 4 bikes for a family price of $48 for an hour. The staff were very helpful and friendly. They actually allowed us to go longer for the same price. The bikes were good quality and we were able to ride around the edge of the Harbour the the Botanical gardens, past Mrs Macquaries Chair and over to Harry's Cafe De Wheels. The scenery was spectacular and a great way to do it for a family under $50. We would definitely come back.

1  Thank Knewst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonzaBikeTours, Tour Guide at Bonza Bike Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Hey Guys

Glad to hear you had such a great times with the bikes, for the short period of time that you had them. Hope the pie over at Harry's were even better than you were expecting. Look forward to seeing you in the future.

Cheers

The Bonza Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (553)
There are newer reviews for Bonza Bike Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 243 of 553 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

The ride was 4.5 hrs in length, with many stops and information. Helmets, and sunscreen were provided. Tour guides were Kass and Matt. Both guides were knowledgable and interesting. First the equipment. Bike was OK , but did not have mirrors, so you could not see other riders or cars approach from behind. We went through some very crowded areas where a mirror would have been helpful. We did have to stop and walk our bikes several,times. My other issue still concerns safety. Matt rode several,times without hands. He also encouraged the group to do wheelies where there were other people around. Several,young riders also decided to ride without holding the handle bars, at times where it was totally improper. I don't care what the team leader does on his or her own, but, without knowing the skill levels of the individual riders, the leader should stick to safe riding practices. Two men fell from their bikes during this ride. If someone would have been riding without holding on, their could have been further injuries.

2  Thank Computernana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonzaBikeTours, Tour Guide at Bonza Bike Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Hey Mate

Thank you for your honest review of your Bike Tour with us. I would simply like to address some of the areas that you have raised in your review.

In regards to having a mirror on the bicycle this is not actually an option that adds any safety to the bikes. Bikes are not made to have mirrors in the first place because it makes the bikes a lot wider in shape meaning there is more chance of hitting something or someone. It is just as quick to turn your head and look behind which the guests never really need to do on our bike tours.

I have taken in your comment on the no hands riding and have adjusted my tour. I apologise that this was an issue for you. However in regards to talking about wheelies, the only place I mention this is in Barangaroo which is a very large open area with barely any people. This is where a lot of guests in the past have enjoyed having fun playing with their bikes. It is also made as an offhand comment to add a bit of humour to the tour and of course I don't expect the guests to do it if they don't want to.

Due to the nature of riding a bike crashes are an outcome that can occur. With regards to the first crash, I personally made sure that the guest was okay to continue riding and for safety reasons recommended that he walk the bike up the remainder of the hill. After again establishing that he was okay the bike tour continued. In regards to the second crash, this happened on a shared bicycle/car lane. All the appropriate hand signals were made by Cas in order to stop and unfortunately a guest was unable to stop in time and fell over his bike. He was injured and first aid was applied. Cas asked him multiple times if he would like to continue the tour and every time he said that he was fine to continue.

Yes there are certain areas where on every tour we walk the bike; they include parts of China Town and the Botanical Gardens. With China Town it is far too busy to ride a bike in this area so we walk for no longer than ten minutes hoping guests will appreciate their surroundings and the aromas coming from the Yum Cha Restaurants. Within the Botanical Gardens it is illegal to ride a bike here and a $140 fine is given on the spot for riding a bike in this area. I have personally seen this fine given to general members of the public and of course would not like my guests to receive this fine. Then there is the construction on the waterfront of the gardens that adds a couple more minutes to the walk but that is something that we at Bonza have no control over.

Yes Sydney is a very busy city in particular at the end of December and the start of January. We take safety measures to ensure the group stay together through the busier areas and if required get off our bikes and walk, when riding is simply not an option. This is generally not an issue. It is merely a matter that we are one of the busiest cities in the world at this time of year.

I am sorry that this bike tour was not quite what you were expecting however am glad that you had a good time out there for the most part and hope you take home your more fond memories of your time here with Bonza Bike Tours.

Kind Regards

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is a great Bike tour of the central part of Sydney. It is good for the novice as well as the accomplished bicycle rider. Bike are very well maintained, guides are knowledgeable and personable. If you are looking for a great way to beat jet lag and see some of th great sites of Sydney in a short period of time, this is a great way to do it.

Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonzaBikeTours, Tour Guide at Bonza Bike Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Hey Mate

Cheers for the great review.

We at Bonza believe that anybody from a small child to a Tour De France rider could finish one of our bike tours and I am happy that you agree with this. Many of our guests have decided to take our bike tour through the various stages of jet lag and most are in agreement with you that it is a great way to beat it.

Very happy that you had a great time and hope the rest of the holiday is or was just as good.

Cheers

The Bonza Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Took the Bonza Classic tour on January 4th with Cass as tour guide. She was knowledgeable and personable and fun to be with. The four hour tour starts near the Circular Quay goes out to Dawes Point, around the wharfs by the theater, up Observatory Hill, onto the bridge, back to Lord Nelson's pub for a drink, over the Bangaroo, (sp) to Darling Harbour, through Chinatown, to Hydes Park past the art museum, to McQuarrie Seat, to the Botanical Gardens to the Opera House and back to the start point. The tour took a bit over 4 hours and was well worth it. The bikes are Trek 7.1 hybrids and nice. The cycling is generally easy. Great tour, highly recommended because we got a sense of places we wanted to go back to and those we did not (e.g, Darling Harbour).

Thank GTfromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonzaBikeTours, Tour Guide at Bonza Bike Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Hey Guys

Thanks for the great review.

You pretty much summed up what we love about our tours as you do get to see those areas that you want to go back to. Glad to hear that Cas took good care of you and We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. We are very happy with the Trek 7.1 range as have the majority of our guests and they are most likely the style that we will stick with in the future.

Cheers

The Bonza Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We thorougly enjoyed this relaxing bike tour of Sydney. The guide highlighted the major attractions and we saw some views that we would not otherwise have experienced. Guide was very friendly and encouraged the group to interact which enhanced the ride.

Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonzaBikeTours, Tour Guide at Bonza Bike Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Hey Guys

Glad to hear you had such a great time and managed to see some sights that you otherwise wouldn't have seen. We love it when guests interact and meet new people. Who knows maybe you have made a new friend from the other side of the world.

Cheers

The Bonza Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonza Bike Tours also viewed

 

Been to Bonza Bike Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing