We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Breakfast is a warm hug to start the day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mosaic Restaurant

Mosaic Restaurant
Reserve with
Mosaic Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,268 of 5,446 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $76
Cuisines: Australian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Breakfast is a warm hug to start the day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Breakfast at Mosaic is the best start to a busy day of sight seeing.
Eggs to order or any other food for breakfast that you like and hot or cold as should be, no half cooked and cold bacon here. Best of all real tea on request and staff with smiles, delightful

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ziggy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    32
    14
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Below average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Staff were attentive maybe too much... Throughout eating main and entree we were asked 3-4 times by different staff if the food was ok. Steak was well cooked although the mash was very salty. Linguine pasta was almighty salty to the point I couldn't even eat the beautiful prawns on my plate. If they laid off the salt there could be a much better outcome

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Idyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“I am reluctant to share this great hideaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I am really dubious about food at hotels as they are in most cases really pricey for what you can get elsewhere.

However, my friend took me to this restaurant and I really loved it. Why? The food is of great quality and "clean". The serving might not look a lot but it could be deceiving. They serve freshly made bread which is yummy! Their menu is enticing and appetising and the presentation is of a standard which befits the Westin.

Like I said, one course was enough such that we couldn't fit in a dessert to share!

Must make sure that our next visit is just for the dessert or the Sunday brunch.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sassychix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful fixed price meal with Starwood card”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We had the most beautiful dinner looking up at the beautiful sandstone facades of the old post office in this beautiful recycled building. Two course at $68 including a glass of wine meant with one Meal free on the card we only paid $58 for the lot. Food was superb and service too

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Likegoodservive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food, well cooked”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have eaten at Mosaic a number of times and have always liked the food. The quality of the cooking and ingredients is consistently high.

My one gripe is that, of me, the menu a years ago was more interesting than the current menu.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WazzaM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mosaic Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Mosaic Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing