We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Smugglers on the Beach
Nearby Hotels
Aquajet Motel(Coffs Harbour)(Great Value!)
$68
$66
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Zebra Motel(Coffs Harbour)(Great Value!)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coastal Bay Motel(Coffs Harbour)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn City Centre(Coffs Harbour)(Great Value!)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort(Coffs Harbour)(Great Value!)
$99
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Surf Beach Motel(Coffs Harbour)(Great Value!)
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Palms Motor Inn(Coffs Harbour)(Great Value!)
$66
$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Motor Inn(Coffs Harbour)(Great Value!)
$66
$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Park Motel(Coffs Harbour)(Great Value!)
$85
$83
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Palms(Coffs Harbour)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (416)
Filter reviews
416 results
Traveler rating
243
126
33
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
126
33
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshear the wavesbbq areapool areafree laundrybedroom apartmentoutdoor kitchenquiet beachfull kitchenshort drivenorth of coffsgreat place to staynice poolstayed here for nightsbig bananarelaxing stayself containedfamily holiday
Filter
Updating list...
405 - 410 of 416 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
12
Reviewed February 18, 2009

just got home from 5 nights at smugglers. we were looking for good value, 2 bedroom apartment as we have a young son. smugglers surpassed all expectations. i have to disagree with some previous reviews, as the room we stayed in (unit 12) was IMMACULATE! I couldn't fault the cleanliness in any way! While we were leaving I noticed a commercial cleaning van cleaning another room's carpets, so i don't think anyone could really fault the cleanliness of the apartments.

the apartments are right on the beach, separated only by some trees and grassy area. the pool is smaller than those at the big resorts, but it is lovely, very clean (cleaned more than once a day, even when it was raining!) there is also a little toddler pool with a sun shade over it for sunny days. perfect for little ones, our one year old LOVED the pool!

the beach is unpatrolled but great for exploring, with lots of rocks and shells to collect.

our apartment was much bigger than i expected, with a fully stocked kitchen (which even had tupperware which came in handy!)

the apartments are about a 5-10 minute drive from coffs, which i found nice, as coffs itself is very commercial, it was nice not to stay in the town centre.

there was also wireless broadband in our room, which came in handy on the rainy days!

all this, and for a bargain price, it was the best value in coffs harbour without a doubt!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

We liked this accommodation. It was spacious, exceptionally clean and close to a beach (unpatrolled). Ideally you would need a car if you stayed here and the furnishings were a bit dated but overall it surpassed our expectations

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank airchair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2008

We stayed at smugglers for a few nights in September. What a find this place was. Its right on the beach about 5-10 minutes north of Coffs Harbour.

It is tucked away off the highway so you dont get any noise at all apart from the sound of the waves. There is also great fishing straight out the front and we managed to catch ourselves some dinner on a couple of the nights.

It looks as though the whole place has been refurbished inside and out. The rooms where very clean and well equipped. The apartments are very large with plenty of room for our family of 4.

The office staff were all very friendly and helpful and were happy to go out of there way to help with some of our requests.

It is tucked away so a little hard to find but well worth it. We will definately be coming back again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Rhannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2008

Booked in here for 3 nights but ended up calling it short and leaving after the first. The room itself was ok but there was a smell of dampness in the living room and a smell of stale urine in the bathroom. When we arrived we were greeted with an unwanted flat mate in our bathroom, a large spider! which I have a phobia off. I'll note that this can't really be blamed on any of the staff for it being there as it is Australia after all! but it leads me to believe the room may have been sitting "ready" for a few days. We arrived around dinner time so didn't have much time to look around the apartments area but it seemed nice enough to look at. The thing that really made the decision for us to leave was the fact that there were around a dozen cockroaches in our room! We never noticed them till later on at night but this kept me awake most of the night thinking of what was in the room. They weren't the largest of roaches but still I got the impression the room had been sitting empty and unchecked for a few days. There was also a large one lying dead outside another room. In my opinion these apartments are not 4 star as stated on their advertising.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank djdoci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachco, Owner at Smugglers on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2010

This review is not true of our establishment. The lady had to leave early due to personal reasons - not due to spiders or bugs.

She had already paid in full through an online booking site. When we were unable to give her a refund she left a bad review instead.

We ensure our rooms are maintained to the highest standard. They are cleaned after each stay, and if unnoccupied for a night or two, they are checked for clenliness before the next guests arrive in.

As for spiders and bugs, there may be the occasional spider or bug as we are in a beachside/bush seting. We apply the necessary Pest Control measures to do our best to keep pests under control.

Have a read of our other reviews to gain a more accurate picture of our accomodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2008

We stayed three nights at the Smugglers on the Beach after reading reviews on here and we are so very glad we did.

It is situated out of the actual resort and so is nice and quiet, though not too far out to get to the centre of things if you want to. it is a few steps to the beach so with that, the pool, and the mini tennis court the children are occupied the whole time.

The apartment was very spacious and so clean and well equipped too.

The staff were fabulous and the amenities were just perfect for us.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to stay in Coffs Harbour!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank travellingmumof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews