We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly hidden gem on the most beautiful beach in Coffs Harbour.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smugglers on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A truly hidden gem on the most beautiful beach in Coffs Harbour.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Smugglers was by far the best place we stayed while on our journey up the beautiful coast from Sydney. We were shocked at the beauty and location of this place, while trying to stick to our budget. It was on the most beautiful beach, quiet and serene. We had a one bdr unit and loved it so much we decided to stay an additional 2 nights on our way back to sydney a week later. The staff were very helpful and i would recomnend this place to everyone. m

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VJCostello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    115
    29
    10
    3
See reviews for
158
123
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed with another, couple. 2nd room only had twin beds, but was nice. Would have been nice to have towel change every alternate day, insufficient toilet paper but overall, these small issues didn't spoil an enjoyable stay at a great location!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geminigolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, England
Level Contributor
230 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Stayed for the one night on our road trip from Sydney to Brisbane recently. Only there for the one night so didn't use all the facilities on offer. I can imagine it would be a great place for a family to stay with the self catering facilities available. Excellent value at $130.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricky49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Just spent 2 nights at Smugglers. Picked this place based on reviews here. 1 bedroom apartment very spacious, clean and modern. Staff very pleasant. Overall really enjoyed the stay. Great accommodation especially for the price. We would love to come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bulafijiSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

We are staying at Smuggler's for a week and can honestly say we think it is fantastic. Our room is large and clean, we have a massive TV and we are about 100 metres from a lovely quiet beach. My only two little criticisms - the pressure on the shower is not fantastic (though lots of hot water) and the TV wasn't working on SBS. That said the fast and free Wifi certainly makes up for this.

We will be back!

Room Tip: Top floor has 'glimpses' of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geokult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

I chose this hotel as it was close to the beach and reasonably priced and also because it was our halfway point between Central Coast, NSW and home in QLD.

It is a lovely, beach style hotel, very much suitable for families and those that wish to stay for a duration of time and was also perfect for my husband and I for a one night stop over.

We cooked our own dinner in the small but very usable kitchen and enjoyed our meal in front of the large TV and resting on the nice lounges. The beds were good, not excellent but comfortable enough to have a few decent hours and the linen was clean and fresh.

Our bathroom was a good size, the water ran hot and had a good pressure and the space of the shower area was nice and roomy. Towels were a nice quality, not thin or too fluffy.

Check in and out was a breeze and we liked the fact that it looked like a family run hotel. Everyone was doing their share of the work in and outside of the hotel.

We will stop in again on our way through to NSW, its the perfect location and a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

A beautiful holiday. Accomodation was extremely comfortable. Very spacious, clean more than we expected. We syayed for three nights with two friends and all had a wonderful time. Staff were extremely accomodating and we would recommend it to friends with no problems and would be very happy to return at any time. Ray Ayers

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort
1.8 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#4 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#13 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.8 mi away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#3 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nautilus Beachfront Villas & Spa
Nautilus Beachfront Villas & Spa
#25 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers on the Beach

Property: Smugglers on the Beach
Address: 36 Sandy Beach Rd | Korora, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Smugglers on the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers On The Beach is absolute beachfront accommodation located just five minutes north of Coffs Harbour's City Centre. Coffs Harbour accommodation at its finest, Smugglers On The Beach offers 16 fully self-contained resort style apartments. Nestled among tropical gardens, all apartments have their own private patio or balcony overlooking the pool, floodlit gardens or magical Pacific Ocean. The large apartments are designed and custom furnished to provide plenty of space for a relaxed and comfortable holiday, with attention to the minor details that help to make your holiday in Coffs Harbour a special one. With 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments we can cater for everyone from the solo traveler, couples, large families right through to large group bookings for weddings, sporting events, family reunions or almost any other occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smugglers on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing