We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family freidnly accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smugglers on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great family freidnly accommodation”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Booked one their three bedroom units and we were staying with family and it was just suberb. We stayed in no. 19 situated on the first floor with a great view of the ocean. Two large bathrooms, one with jaccuzzi, full sized kitchen and loungeroom. Loved falling asleep to the sound of the ocean.
Although the weather wasn't great, the two minute walk to the beach was handy. Had a couple of swims in the pool, which is nicely protected from winds.
Also has a BBQ area located with the pool which was great, includes a fridge to keep your food and drinks cool until you decide you're ready to cook.
A 5 minute drive away is Park Beach Plaza for those non beach worthy days.
Great accommoation and will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vichri81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    115
    29
    10
    3
See reviews for
158
123
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Smugglers on the beach is a lovely place for winding down after a hard day of soaking in the sun at the beach located just a few steps outside your door. It's located in a very quite and clean area by a lovely beach. If you're looking for some clean, family orientated and great value for price accommodation in coffs harbour, this is definitely the place for you. The pool is great for those hot days. The owners are friendly and welcoming. If you feel like hitting up some ice cream, check out the big banana just a few minutes drive away. Overall our 3 night stay was great and just what we needed. If in Coffs make sure you don't miss out all the surrounding national parks and lovely little historical towns! Cheers.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OnlyTheBestInAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Spent 5 nights with the family. Nice clean place. Very quite (complex has only 16 units). We had a reasonable view of the sea. The beach was almost like a private beach... A bit pebbly in some places, but sandy closer to the sea. Great staff too....

Overall, very happy - great value for $$.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biju C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Last year we discovered Smugglers on the Beach. Despite six days of almost continuous rain our holiday was so good we chose to return this year to a holiday destination that gave us all that we wanted. And we were not disappointed, in fact, we thought Smugglers was even better this time round. Our unit was again spotlessly clean and well-equipped, the solar-heated pool always sparkled, rackets and balls were at the ready for the kids to play tennis, the fully-equipped covered bbq area gave us the opportunity to enjoy our evening meals with little effort ... and the spa gave a great end to the day! Doesn't get much better! With the beach so close at hand, the kids spent hours exploring rocky outcrops, making rafts and then sailing them in the rock pools, and so on. For 'serious' surfing we usually went to patrolled beaches such Park Beach and that's an easy drive away, as are so many other fun activities in the Coffs Harbour area.Yes! We'll be back to Smugglers again ... if only to catch up on staff that couldn't have been more friendly and obliging! Thanks Darcy, Necia and Michael!

Room Tip: We were three adults and two lively boys (10 and 8). Unit 18 provides us with separate rooms, a spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyRobin247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
73 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Smugglers On The Beach is 5 minutes north of Coffs Harbour behind Korora Beach.

We stayed for 3 nights in unit 7, which is a first floor apartment. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, giving us lots of advice on places to visit including a lovely walk, part of which was a board walk, to Aanuka beach. Our apartment was spacious and immaculate with a large kitchen including a full size oven.

Our hire car had a designated space under cover just down the steps from our apartment. There was a large veranda facing the lovely swimming pool and over the trees we could see the sea. Next to the pool. there were free communal washing facilities Check out time is the normal 10 a.m.

We thought Korara Bay was a much prettier area than Coffs Harbour. Just up the road from Smugglers is the Carobana confectionery factory which is worth visiting.

A short drive north of Coffs Harbour is Emerald Beach which is an idyllic place. The Saltwater restaurant, although in a gorgeous position, was quite pricey and the food wasn't anything special but the view more than made up for it. The Moonee Beach Nature Reserve is a bit further along the road after turning left past some houses. It didn't seem to be signposted but the nature reserve has a large car park. There are lots of kangaroos around and a delightful path overlooking the sea to the “Look at Me Now Headland” which leads round to another beach.

One day we drove inland along the Waterfall Way, stopping at Dangar Falls to have a picnic lunch and then on to Bellingen and the Dorrigo National Park where there is the Skywalk and a delightful boardwalk above the treetops. We also took a pleasant rainforest walk in the Dorrigo National Park to the lovely Crystal Shower Falls which takes about half an hour. At Urunga, which is a short way south of Coffs Harbour, there is an unusual and very long boardwalk which follows the river over the mangroves, past the lagoon and eventually to the beach and sea.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amazingsunsetbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed a week at Smugglers.Asked for a upstairs unit but they were unable to accommodate request as it had a number of them are up for sale.Staff are very friendly and happy to assist.Kitchen well equipped and the room was spotless.Only negative was the TV which for some unknown reason needed switching on and off to get it to work. Korora area is great area for walks as it seems bogan free and the locals are friendly and happy to converse.Definitely stay here again.One need a car as it is about 3 kms. fron the Coffs Harbour CBD and the Park Beach shopping complex.

Room Tip: Upstairs are probably quieter and offer better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BaaNahmLai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2011

In January 1983 we discovered a little holiday resort called Smugglers at Korora Bay, every Christmas holidays for the next nine years we returned to continue the tradition of meeting up with friends and their children. Every year our three children would have the time of their lives, swimming, playing tennis, cricket and of course going to the beach. In November this year we returned to Smugglers with our children, their partners and our three grandsons, what a fantastic holiday we all had!! The resort is even better than we remembered, so clean and extremely well run.Our unit was beautiful and the sound of the ocean lulled us to sleep each night - I think we may have started a new family tradition, we will definately be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyLynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachco, Manager at Smugglers on the Beach, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank you for your Review,

We are very happy to hear you had such a fantastic time and we look forward to hopefully having you stay again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort
1.8 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#4 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#13 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.8 mi away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#3 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,248 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nautilus Beachfront Villas & Spa
Nautilus Beachfront Villas & Spa
#26 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers on the Beach

Property: Smugglers on the Beach
Address: 36 Sandy Beach Rd | Korora, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Smugglers on the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers On The Beach is absolute beachfront accommodation located just five minutes north of Coffs Harbour's City Centre. Coffs Harbour accommodation at its finest, Smugglers On The Beach offers 16 fully self-contained resort style apartments. Nestled among tropical gardens, all apartments have their own private patio or balcony overlooking the pool, floodlit gardens or magical Pacific Ocean. The large apartments are designed and custom furnished to provide plenty of space for a relaxed and comfortable holiday, with attention to the minor details that help to make your holiday in Coffs Harbour a special one. With 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments we can cater for everyone from the solo traveler, couples, large families right through to large group bookings for weddings, sporting events, family reunions or almost any other occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smugglers on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing