We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this excellent apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Smugglers on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford
Level Contributor
72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“We loved this excellent apartment”
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Smugglers On The Beach is 5 minutes north of Coffs Harbour behind Korora Beach.

We stayed for 3 nights in unit 7, which is a first floor apartment. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, giving us lots of advice on places to visit including a lovely walk, part of which was a board walk, to Aanuka beach. Our apartment was spacious and immaculate with a large kitchen including a full size oven.

Our hire car had a designated space under cover just down the steps from our apartment. There was a large veranda facing the lovely swimming pool and over the trees we could see the sea. Next to the pool. there were free communal washing facilities Check out time is the normal 10 a.m.

We thought Korara Bay was a much prettier area than Coffs Harbour. Just up the road from Smugglers is the Carobana confectionery factory which is worth visiting.

A short drive north of Coffs Harbour is Emerald Beach which is an idyllic place. The Saltwater restaurant, although in a gorgeous position, was quite pricey and the food wasn't anything special but the view more than made up for it. The Moonee Beach Nature Reserve is a bit further along the road after turning left past some houses. It didn't seem to be signposted but the nature reserve has a large car park. There are lots of kangaroos around and a delightful path overlooking the sea to the “Look at Me Now Headland” which leads round to another beach.

One day we drove inland along the Waterfall Way, stopping at Dangar Falls to have a picnic lunch and then on to Bellingen and the Dorrigo National Park where there is the Skywalk and a delightful boardwalk above the treetops. We also took a pleasant rainforest walk in the Dorrigo National Park to the lovely Crystal Shower Falls which takes about half an hour. At Urunga, which is a short way south of Coffs Harbour, there is an unusual and very long boardwalk which follows the river over the mangroves, past the lagoon and eventually to the beach and sea.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amazingsunsetbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    116
    29
    10
    3
See reviews for
159
125
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
adelaide
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed a week at Smugglers.Asked for a upstairs unit but they were unable to accommodate request as it had a number of them are up for sale.Staff are very friendly and happy to assist.Kitchen well equipped and the room was spotless.Only negative was the TV which for some unknown reason needed switching on and off to get it to work. Korora area is great area for walks as it seems bogan free and the locals are friendly and happy to converse.Definitely stay here again.One need a car as it is about 3 kms. fron the Coffs Harbour CBD and the Park Beach shopping complex.

Room Tip: Upstairs are probably quieter and offer better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BaaNahmLai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2011

In January 1983 we discovered a little holiday resort called Smugglers at Korora Bay, every Christmas holidays for the next nine years we returned to continue the tradition of meeting up with friends and their children. Every year our three children would have the time of their lives, swimming, playing tennis, cricket and of course going to the beach. In November this year we returned to Smugglers with our children, their partners and our three grandsons, what a fantastic holiday we all had!! The resort is even better than we remembered, so clean and extremely well run.Our unit was beautiful and the sound of the ocean lulled us to sleep each night - I think we may have started a new family tradition, we will definately be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyLynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachco, Manager at Smugglers on the Beach, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank you for your Review,

We are very happy to hear you had such a fantastic time and we look forward to hopefully having you stay again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Wow is all i can say! we recently had alittle mother and daughters get together at Smugglers.
The rooms were great and extremely clean and tastfully decorated. We are all foodies, and planned to use the kitchen and do a bit of cooking so we actually brought some serving platters with us....things you would never find in an appartment. To our absolute delight, we found everything we needed...and much more, even candles in case of a blackout..or perhaps a romantic evening in! We walked on the beach each morning and evening, just out the back door, spent hours on the balcony with a glass of wine and nibblies, just enjoying the view. My sister and I plan to take mum back again next Nov, same time, same place, even the same room! also a bug thumbs up to the friendly staff!...we'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nutra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbelltown
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2011

My husband and I stayed for one week in a well equipped and spotless two bedroom apartment very close to the beach - you couldn't get any closer - which was what we were looking for. We were after some quiet time and relaxation and we couldn't fault that either. Not much can beat waking up to the sound of the waves. The only thing we had a problem with was the no water pressure in the shower, but that was minor. We have stayed in many places over the years and we have been to Coffs Harbour many times but Smugglers has spoilt us and we won't be staying anywhere else - unless they are booked out. We will be bringing the family next time. They have thought of everything and we will recommend this place to family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
71 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed for a week in one of Smugglers one bedroom apartments. Heaps of space in the room and a well equipped kitchen made it a comfortable place to be for an extended stay. There is a beautiful beach right on the doorstep of the complex as well as a lovely pool area.
So nice to wake up to the sound of waves breaking on the beach of a morning. The only possible downside is it is a bit out of town so not in easy walking distance, but if you don't need to be in the town centre this is a top place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fattima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Stayed in a two bedroom apartment, and was amazed at how close the beach was from the apartments, nice relaxing setting and not very noisy. Rooms were immaculate, very clean and the staff were great to talk to and very helpful. Recommend this place if looking for a nice clean place meters from the beach. Only down side was the checkout time 9.30am.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holdingscorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort
1.8 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#4 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
78 reviews
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#13 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
256 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Big Windmill
The Big Windmill
#9 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
243 reviews
0.8 mi away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#3 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers on the Beach

Property: Smugglers on the Beach
Address: 36 Sandy Beach Rd | Korora, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Smugglers on the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers On The Beach is absolute beachfront accommodation located just five minutes north of Coffs Harbour's City Centre. Coffs Harbour accommodation at its finest, Smugglers On The Beach offers 16 fully self-contained resort style apartments. Nestled among tropical gardens, all apartments have their own private patio or balcony overlooking the pool, floodlit gardens or magical Pacific Ocean. The large apartments are designed and custom furnished to provide plenty of space for a relaxed and comfortable holiday, with attention to the minor details that help to make your holiday in Coffs Harbour a special one. With 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments we can cater for everyone from the solo traveler, couples, large families right through to large group bookings for weddings, sporting events, family reunions or almost any other occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smugglers on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing