We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotlessly Clean, Good Value, Friendly Owner”
Review of Matador Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Matador Motor Inn
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Spotlessly Clean, Good Value, Friendly Owner”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The title says it all really. The property is clean, fresh, well appointed and the owner is very helpful and friendly.

Like most properties in Coffs, they are located on or near the highway and there are heavy trucks passing throughout the night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Highway if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OvationGX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to an opportunity of welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    84
    20
    8
    9
See reviews for
52
81
21
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Room was very tidy and clean. Very friendly staff. Bed was comfortable. Reception desk smells a bit of dog, since owner's dog stays there. If you don't like the smell of dog, think this will really be a drawback. Pet friendly place though.
What I really disliked was the location. Even though it is a bit of the highway, the sound of the traffic drove me crazy. I could not sleep, since when a truck drove by it seems as if it was in our room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanda8P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback. Whilst we are pleased you appear to have enjoyed elements of your stay, like most properties in Coffs Harbour, we are located on the highway. Many guests see this as a benefit but this appears to have been concern for you. Perhaps next time if you choose to stay with us, we can recommend an east facing room (if available).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Innes, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

wife and i are frequent visitors to coffs harbour nsw .
place was clean and tidy and the staff very friendly.
bed was large and comfy and room was fully serviced.
room was modern and had a sunny outlook when it was not raining.
value for money. we had an upstairs room. don't know what the other rooms are like.
only negative is the access. place is near traffic lights on an inclined roadway.
there was some traffic noise but not enough to cause us any grief in any way.
a good place to stay and not far from all amenities, shops, club etc. walking distance to some.
room had a fairly quiet a/con system.

Room Tip: ask for an upstairs room for a sunny outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geordie031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look foward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My friend and I travelled from Newcastle to Coffs Harbour for the Easter weekend and we found our room spotless and the staff just beautiful. Close to everything you need.... We intend to stay there again next time we are in Coffs Harbour. The owner Roger was just wonderful we know we made the right decision in staying there., When you are staying at a clean place away from home it makes for your stay that much enjoyable as it was for both of us. Go Roger!Keep up the great work you and Dean are doing. See you soon I hope.

Kathy Pearson

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyP394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Many thanks for your very kind review. We are both delighted you enjoyed your stay and have decided to visit us again when next you travel to Coffs Harbour!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I travelled from Brisbane to Sydney last week and stayed at the Matador Motor Inn in Coffs Harbour. From the street out of all the motels the Matador stood out from a purely aesthetic point of view. I looked at other motels and then went to the Matador where their price was no different to the other two motels I looked at.

I was greeted by Dean who was exceptionally friendly. As to the motel no effort is spared to present it in an immaculate state. I travel frequently and have stayed in dozens if not hundreds of motels all over the world and would say that from a motel point of view this is the best motel I have ever stayed at. It is on a par with a superior upmarket hotel.

The room was immaculate from a cleanliness and presentation point of view, quality décor and furniture, the linen was of a superior quality, the curtains, the granite .... absolutely everything has been given attention to detail.

I have never stayed at a motel that has a guest lounge available to guests as is the case here and it is also wonderfully presented. The corridors are immaculate with chairs,cushions and garbage bins next to every room that were spotless.

The lighting in the corridors is of a superior quality. There was absolutely nothing that I could criticize Dean or his hotel on. I don't recall if it has a restaurant or fitness centre but if it did I have no doubt that I could confidently mark it as excellent as was the case with everything else at the motel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erez p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Many thanks for your review. Dean and I are humbled by your comments and thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. We appreciate your recognition of some of the detail associated with the presentation of the property. We have ourselves travelled extensively and have sought to incorporate our experiences into creating the Matador. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back when next you travel between Sydney and Brisbane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Firstly it's on the Highway so ask for a rear room but surprisingly we heard bugger all through the night.
The massive king bed was awesome, comfy, the bathroom was clean and bright and Roger the owner was friendly and accommodating, I liked it !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ButtersR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed the experience and had a comfortable and restful stay. We would be more than pleased to have the opportunity of welcoming you back when next you travel through Coffs Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Obliged to find alternative accommodation during a weekend after a confirmed booking was not honoured by another motel in Coffs Harbour, the excellent service provided by the Matador Motor Inn was a complete contrast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PBEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank for for recognizing the service we provide. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again when you stay in Coffs Harbour!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
1.8 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#4 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
78 reviews
1.7 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
256 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Big Windmill
The Big Windmill
#9 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#13 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
183 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Palms Motor Inn
Royal Palms Motor Inn
#1 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
543 reviews
2.7 mi away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#3 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matador Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matador Motor Inn

Property: Matador Motor Inn
Address: 11 Grafton St, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#5 Business Hotel in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Matador Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Matador Motor Inn has been operating continuously for more than 40 years and been a home away from home in Coffs Harbour for thousands of guests. In fact the Matador is one of the most popular stop-overs for travellers on the Pacific Highway travelling between Sydney and Brisbane. We have completed numerous refurbishments so now more than ever the Matador is a fabulous choice if you are looking for boutique style motel accommodation. You can enjoy a stay in clean and comfortable rooms. We offer a choice of room configurations: from premium queen and king rooms to twin and family room options. All rooms offer comfortable beds, quality interiors and amenities, LED TVs, Foxtel, ipod docking stations, Lanovera personal products, a tea and coffee larder with quality supplies, toaster, kettle, iron and ironing board and private dining space. All rooms face due north and upper level offers district views. Select family rooms offer a private balcony. We offer an outdoor pool and guest lounge to relax and enjoy as well as a quality, in-room breakfast package. Select pet-friendly rooms are also available, but regretfully we only accept small dogs 10kg and under. Not only is the Matador a regular choice for holidaymakers, it is also very popular with business travellers. We offer free WIFI, a desk area for your laptap or tablet and lounge access. Regular corporate clients are also eligible for special corporate rates so please make inquiries with our friendly team. The Matador provides off street and undercover parking but we must limit parking to one car per room.We wish you safe travels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Matador Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matador Hotel Coffs Harbour
Matador Motel Coffs Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing