We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Pit Stop on the Pacific Highway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matador Motor Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Matador Motor Inn
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Pagudpud, Philippines
Level Contributor
176 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Pit Stop on the Pacific Highway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We use the motel as a regular stopover when headed back home to Noosa. Staff always amenable, and always try and move you out to a quieter room away from the busy highway and the truck traffic. Clean and neat, comfy beds so what more do you want after a long drive? Recommended for weary drivers every time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tartarugas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback. At the time of your stay we had recently taken the property back and had begun our refurbishment and upgrade program. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back so you can experience the numerous improvements we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    81
    19
    8
    9
See reviews for
51
80
20
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed in a family room. It was quite average. The lay out of the room was poor. It was noisy and the bed wasn't overly comfortable. I booked online, the photos were deceiving. On the up side the staff were lovely and helpful and very accommodating. We had breakfast in our room which was also nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oli d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

Went to the Matador last month with my wife for a week away from the rat-race of life & found it to be quite a great little motel.

You have to remember......This is a MOTOR-INN .......... NOT A HOTEL!!

The rooms were very clean & tidy with a MASSIVE King size bed & flat screen tv's. The shower is a bit dated, although very clean. Service was very impressive - more like service from a big luxury hotel but without the huge cost! The motels location is excellent with at least 3 pubs, the shopping mall, atm's, bottle shops, take away shops, banks & heaps of other stuff ALL within 5 minutes walking distance. The highway noise is not that bad & no different to any other motel situated along the highway. Undercover parking is also available at the motel.

I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND the Matador Motor Inn to ANY traveller planning on heading to or through Coffs Harbour.

Room Tip: King size beds are HUGE!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

We were travelling from Brisbane to Wollongong and had originally planned to drive the entire distance in one trip, however, due to unexpected delays found ourselves in Coffs Harbour at 7pm with nowhere to stay. We tried a number of hotels before reaching this one, but all either had poor standards of cleanliness, rude staff or exorbitant rates.

The Matador was our last attempt and we were very happy on meeting the owners. They were very accomodating, even assisting us to shuffle cars so we could park closer to our room rather than carry our heavy cases up the stairs. They also made some great suggestions for a late dinner which we followed, and were very happy with.

Our room was large, particularly for the price we paid and was immaculately cleaned. The bed was bigger than a standard king and was exceptionally comfortable, and the shower had excellent water pressure and temperature.

While our room was very close to the highway, we barely heard the traffic at all. The furniture was a little dated, but was well cared for and as mentioned, everything was spotless, so this was not really a point of consideration.

Our checkout was easy and again, the owner impressed me with her lovely demeanor and helpful tips.

We travel to Brisbane by road regularly, and will now stop at the Matador on all of these trips. Despite the VERY low price, the service was equal to that of many 5 star hotels I have stayed in.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, request a room away from the highway if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherryDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

After drving 535km we arrived at Matador Motel on the Pacific Highway which was so easy to find and I was all psyched as we hadn't stayed in a motel since the early 90's in New Orleans, it was as you'd expect clean and a bit 70's-ish and with lovely staff . Nearly made the mistake of booking the motel by the 'Big Banana' but trip advisor mentioned the word cockroaches. Tip: City centre closes at 6pm so we headed out for some libations down Harbour Drive (where there is no harbour in sight!) but there was restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eire-ette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

Booked this hotel for just one night with a friend as we we're going out that night and I live out of town. Checked in at 7.30 pm and went up to our room. We we're there from 7.20-9.30 getting dressed, doing the usual talking and laughing that people do. Left and went out and came home at around 3.30 am. We're very quiet so as to not wake anyone. Open the door to find a threatening note stating "KEEP YOUR BLOODY NOISE DOWN OR LOOK OUT." as two young women alone in a hotel we didn't feel safe so we called reception and the owner came up. His first response was to look at the note and go. "So? just get into bed and be quiet and nothing will happen to yous." We're very upset with his manner of dealing with this, we told he we did not wish to stay at the hotel after receiving such a note and as we'd only been in the hotel for two hours and there was no mess etc. He told us he had to pay for house cleaning and everything else so it wasn't possible and kept pushing for us to just go to bed. He was rude, not understanding at all why we wouldn't feel safe and in fact made us feel threatened. We left and were left on the side of the highway until we got a lift. Worst/scary experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nottoknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dash01, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
We are sorry you felt this way. Up until you went out you were very noisy , laughing, talking as you do while getting ready, We the owners gave you some leeway as it was early but we have a lot of elderly guests and it was hard to hear the TV with the noise you were making. When you arrived back at 3.30am you were not as quiet as you thought you were. When you found the note and rang my husband he went straight to your room, read the note and said he would not wake everyone else in the place to find out who wrote the note. He did suggest you go to bed but in no way was he rude about it, He offered you another room, you said no. He offered to drive you home ( about 30 kms away) you declined. You rang the police, they heard both sides of the story and said we could not have done anymore for you. One of you rang a relative who was here inside of 10 minutes (30 kms go figure) and my husband stayed with you until the relative arrived. At no time were you left on the highway on your own nor were you under threat from another person. If you stay at a motel to go out partying please consider other guests and keep the noise down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2011

Please see my earlier feedback on this motel. I have now been staying with Gary, Denise and Brandon for 3 nights a week for the best part of 6 months - after this time if there was anything wrong with the motel I would have found it! Beds - great, towels - great, service - great (and friendly), cleanliness - great, noise - yes, you do hear the odd truck but having stayed at about 10 motels in Coffs the noise is less than most - and so is the cost. There is no point paying an extra $30 or $40 a night for the same quality across the road when their noise is worse.

The Matador is at the top end of the motel 'strip' and is definatly the best when it comes to the things that matter - and having tried them all I know that I am right.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Honesttravel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
1.8 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#5 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Big Windmill
Comfort Inn Big Windmill
#8 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.8 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#9 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#12 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Palms Motor Inn
Royal Palms Motor Inn
#1 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
1.9 mi away
Park Beach Resort Motel
Park Beach Resort Motel
#4 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matador Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matador Motor Inn

Property: Matador Motor Inn
Address: 11 Grafton St, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#5 Business Hotel in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Matador Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Matador Motor Inn has been operating continuously for more than 40 years and been a home away from home in Coffs Harbour for thousands of guests. In fact the Matador is one of the most popular stop-overs for travellers on the Pacific Highway travelling between Sydney and Brisbane. We have completed numerous refurbishments so now more than ever the Matador is a fabulous choice if you are looking for boutique style motel accommodation. You can enjoy a stay in clean and comfortable rooms. We offer a choice of room configurations: from premium queen and king rooms to twin and family room options. All rooms offer comfortable beds, quality interiors and amenities, LED TVs, Foxtel, ipod docking stations, Lanovera personal products, a tea and coffee larder with quality supplies, toaster, kettle, iron and ironing board and private dining space. All rooms face due north and upper level offers district views. Select family rooms offer a private balcony. We offer an outdoor pool and guest lounge to relax and enjoy as well as a quality, in-room breakfast package. Select pet-friendly rooms are also available, but regretfully we only accept small dogs 10kg and under. Not only is the Matador a regular choice for holidaymakers, it is also very popular with business travellers. We offer free WIFI, a desk area for your laptap or tablet and lounge access. Regular corporate clients are also eligible for special corporate rates so please make inquiries with our friendly team. The Matador provides off street and undercover parking but we must limit parking to one car per room.We wish you safe travels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Matador Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matador Hotel Coffs Harbour
Matador Motel Coffs Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing