We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value and Location”
Review of Arosa Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arosa Motel
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Rockingham, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Value and Location”
Reviewed November 2, 2010

We regularly travel the Cairns to Sydney route a number of times a year and to save on ever increasing travel costs we try and pick accommodation that is comfortable and value for money. Never plan a trip when the school holidays are in full swing as prices are at least 50% higher and availability limited. Coffs harbour is an ideal stop off as it marks the halfway point between Brisbane and Sydney. Plenty of accommodation options and prices are on average lower than some inland country towns. We stay regularly at the Arosa and we grab a budget room for a couple of nights.The location on the South side of town is better, away from the pubs and clubs but only a 10 minute drive if you fancy doing a bit of shopping. The only negative thing I can say is being on the highway you have to give plenty of indicator warning to any tailgaters as you pull into the entrance.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetlag56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    8
    7
    32
See reviews for
13
22
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vista, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

I dropped in with no reservation - the hotel parking lot was empty. That should have told me something, but it was a rainy night and I just wanted to get in out of the cold. The hotel was $60 Australian, but I was told I could get a nice upgraded room for $30 more, and I decided to splurge. The upgraded room had no built in heater... Instead, it had a tiny portable space heater sitting on the floor, unplugged. I attempted to call the front desk to ask where to plug it in, since I couldn't find a proper location. They didn't answer their phone. I had to go back to the front desk, in the rain, to ask this question. Their answer was to either:

1) Plug in the heater in the narrow space between the two beds. This was unacceptable because of the obvious fire hazard involved in operating a space heater in close proximity to blankets, linens, etc…

2) Plug the heater into an outlet outside the room and stretch the cord over a bathroom sink into the doorway of the bedroom. This was unacceptable because of the risk of electrocution of running an electric cord through a sink and also a safety hazard to run the risk of tripping over the electric cord to get to the bathroom in the middle of the night.

Bottom line, the manager would not solve the problem and refused to provide a refund. Eventually, he gave a partial refund. I was only in the room for 5-10 minutes and hadn't even moved in a bag yet, but he told me he could not give a full refund because now he would have to clean the room.

This place should be shut down by the authorities, IMHO.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank captainhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coffs Harbour hotels

Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

I had to be in Coffs Harbour at short notice for a funeral.
I selected this motel basically on price & it's location (south of the city, on the highway)
After collecting the car from the airport I arrived at the Arosa wondering if I hadn't somehow entered another time dimension.
I wasn't expecting too much & I wasn't disappointed!
The reception office was hidden behind an enclosed dining area & I walked around the whole complex before I found it.
I had just spent at least 18 hours travelling over from Western Australia & I was very tired.
The guy on reception seemed surprised to see me even though I had prebooked & paid for the room.He commented that I 'must be a glutton for punishment' when he realised I had booked for 3 nights.
The room was one of those old style motels from the 1960's a la Norman Bates.
It was clean enough, had plenty of TV stations tea & coffee making supplies so it did the job.
Would I stay again? No because there are plenty of alternatives around
On the upside it was $65 a night so as they say in the classics, 'you get what you pay for'

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DougFromAlbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTRALIA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2009

Recently stayed here, very noisy the bed had the underneath material falling away from it. It had a very bad paint job and also took the air conditioner a few hours to cool the room down. No light bulbs in the lights above the bed so no reading at night. VERY VERY uncomfortable bed. Extremly outdated. Lots more motels for similar price in this area. Not even any facewashers in the bathroom only small towel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VAN_SSAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, Kentucky
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2008

Bad location - right on busy highway, so very noisy. Outdated, dirty. There are so many other great motels that are clean and right on the beach for the same price, so don't waste your money on this one.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Dirty
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MargaretShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
1.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour
Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour
#32 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
416 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Big Windmill
The Big Windmill
#9 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aquajet Motel
Aquajet Motel
#7 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ocean Parade Motel
Ocean Parade Motel
#36 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
70 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Motor Inn
Premier Motor Inn
#16 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
29 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coffs Harbour Pacific Palms Motel
Coffs Harbour Pacific Palms Mote...
#17 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arosa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arosa Motel

Property: Arosa Motel
Address: 220 Pacific Hwy, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arosa Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Arosa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing