We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawaiian Sands Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Coffs Harbour
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hawaiian Sands Motor Inn
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“A pleasant place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Yes the Hawaiian Sands has seen better days, but it is spotlessly clean and has everything you would need for a few days.Mel and Kai were friendly and eager to make our short stay as pleasant as possible. The pub across the way has value meals and the cafe down the road - Cafe Aqua- a most delicious breakfast. The beach is a short walk away and the shopping centre 2 minutes drive. Overall, not a bad location

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KerrieBAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coffscoast, Manager at Hawaiian Sands Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for supporting Hawaiian Sands Motor Inn.
Its great you enjoyed your stay with us.
We agree Park Beach is a great place to stay in Coffs Harbour, and the family friendly pub across the road is doing a great job with offering our guests a $8.50 lunch and dinner specials every day of the week. Cafe Aqua is a perfect cute little breakfast cafe.
Although its coming into winter, the water temperature today was 23.6 Degrees... still super swimming weather.
We look forward to you staying with us again.
Mel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    18
    18
    3
    6
See reviews for
17
18
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redland City, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Mel & Kai are great people made us very welcome and a great place to stay for a few days, we were asked to a BBQ in the pool area when one of the guest caught a big fish.
Would stay there again no problems.
The pub across the road had very good meals at a good price and did not disturb us at night.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coffscoast, Manager at Hawaiian Sands Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thankyou very much for your review.
We enjoy being here and looking after all our visitors.
The Winter Sun Festival is coming up next from the 1st - 11th June 2013.
Looking forward to a beautiful Autumn/ Winter 2013.
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here on Jan 24 and unfortunately had an experience which left us very uncomfortable. Around 11pm there was lots of shouting in the car park. Then someone knocks on our door (which faces the car park). We call out, ask who it is, but they just keep knocking. And knocking. It went on for a while. With no peep hole in the door and no idea if the person is going to rob us (or worse), we called reception 2 times to investigate but no answer. We felt unsafe because the person wouldn't go away or tell us who they were. Eventually we opened the door and the person vanished. The next morning we spoke to two other families and the same thing happened to them. When I complained to reception, the girl was like "we can't hear the phone upstairs - you have to press the buzzer". So I'm expected to open my door with a potential mad man out there, walk across the car park, stand outside and press the buzzer? This hotel needs to review procedures because we all felt unsafe, and there is no security to stop anyone entering from the street.

Room Tip: The car park is congested and we got parked in by other people. Park near the entrance; there is mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milton255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coffscoast, Manager at Hawaiian Sands Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
This is an unfortunate incident and not something that occurs on a regular basis.
I can understand how how you would feel unsafe in this situation.

On the night in question we had a group of 10 people taking up 6 rooms staying with us. One of the guests came back to the motel after being out that night, couldn’t find his key, and knocked on some doors trying to locate his friends.

We did not hear the phone and only found out what had happened in the morning. Up until this night we’d had a great Christmas period with no incidents to deal with.

Hawaiian Sands apologises to any other guests who may have been affected by this situation.

We would definitely advise against opening your door to any stranger in the middle of the night.

We had been leaving our phone downstairs after 10:30 due to the fact of receiving multiple fax calls during the night for a period of time. This issue has since been resolved.

As with any incident where you feel unsafe or threatened in any way, please call the police on 000, then contact management.

The motel is fenced off on three sides, with one main entry point via reception.

We are in the process of amending our guest information in the room compendiums, and there is a telephone book in each room with all other emergency contact numbers.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

Melanie & Kai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were 2 couples touring and could only get a family room. The room was clean and reception pleasant. The location was good for the beach but a fair way from the main drag of Coffs Harbour. They had free WiFi and good reception, when will all Hotels, Motels and resorts provide this! A perfectly adequate place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AggiBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coffscoast, Manager at Hawaiian Sands Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thanks for your review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay.
Mel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Small room, old-fashioned blockhouse style with basic room features, but clean and functional. Apartment blocks are adjacent which were noisy in my room during my stay. Free WiFi but it never worked during my two days here. There is no breakfast available on-site. A nearby pub, across the street, provides standard but decent evening meals. The motel is close to Park Beach and walking distance (albeit kinda long for some people) of Coffs Harbour Jetty. I would find staying here difficult for more than a night or two. Competitively priced but still marginal value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RockDr23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coffscoast, Manager at Hawaiian Sands Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thankyou for your review.
December, January is alot busier time than most other times of the year. There are alot more people in Coffs Harbour than usual. We have a prime location for the beach and families.

I apologise for the problems with the Wi Fi. We did have some problems over December/Jan with the 2nd router which allows Wi Fi to reach the double rooms in the back left hand corridoor. We've since had the Computer trouble Shooter out and the Wi Fi is now working perfectly to all rooms.
Guests can make breakfast if they choose to bring their own bread.
We provide Vegemite, Strawberry Jam, Butter and the toaster. At this stage though continental breakfasts are not provided. There are many of cafes within walking distance open for breakfast. The Surf Club along ocean parade has Buffet style $8.50 breakfast specials also.
The Hoey Moey across the road has an $8.50 lunch and Dinner special every day of the week.
Mel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashfield, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I've stayed at Hawaiian Sands on 3 occasions when travelling north with Coffs being a good stopover point after leaving Sydney. It's an older building but has been kept in pretty good condition. The rooms are a reasonable size and I've always found them to be clean and tidy.

This is not a 4 or 5 star resort but if you want a no frills clean, comfortable and friendly place to stay Hawaiian Sands wins hands down.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coffscoast, Manager at Hawaiian Sands Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thankyou Peter.
We are a no frills motel, although recently we have now added a Hairdryer in every bathroom, and a toiletry range of shampoo and conditioner and facewasher for your use.
Great to have you here.
See you again soon
Mel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed for one night while heading up the coast. Pics looked great on internet but didn't look as good when we got there. Rooms were clean but walls looked like they have had water damage or something, so could do with a makeover and fix up.

Was a bit strange to have the shower and toilet windows facing the car parks where people were sitting outside but I guess that it just poor design.

There is a pub across the road but we went to the RSL, Ex Servicemens Club and cost us about $13 by taxi for a roughly 5 min journey. Next time I think we will stay closer to the main shops.

Overall it was ok, and I guess reasonably priced for what you get.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.3 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#9 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#5 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Parade Motel
Ocean Parade Motel
#37 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beachpark Apartments Coffs Harbour
Beachpark Apartments Coffs Harbo...
#23 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bosuns Inn
Bosuns Inn
#3 of 18 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Park Motel
Ocean Park Motel
#14 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawaiian Sands Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawaiian Sands Motor Inn

Property: Hawaiian Sands Motor Inn
Address: Corner Park Beach Rd & Ocean Parade, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawaiian Sands Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hawaiian Sands Motor Inn is beautifully situated across the road from the patrolled Parkbeach, Hoey Moey Dining, Childrens Playground and a selection of Cafes. We house 17 clean comfortable units, from Standard Double Bed rooms to Family size 2 room motel style units sleeping up to 6, or 7 people with a trundle bed. All of our rooms have their own en-suite bathroom with shower, hand basin & toilet. The Motor Inn also has a 10 meter pool, toddlers pool & BBQ entertaining area all in a tropical setting. All rooms have unlimited internet & air conditioning. Only minutes from the central Harbour, Yacht Club, Deep Sea Fishermans Club and Natural reserves, Hawaiian Sands offers the sanctuary of waterfront accommodation, sea Breezes, natural Beauty only footsteps away outside your front door. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing