We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Noisy- Next Door to a Pub”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Bulli, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Really Noisy- Next Door to a Pub”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here with kids , was just looking for an overnighter so initially didn't worry about getting a fancy room in town as we would be in late and out early.

The room was basic , the bathroom facilities are like that of a caravan.

Come 10pm and the pub next door is in full swing. This continued on till 3am. Needless to say we were spent the next day.
I would not stay here again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffsf1, General Manager at Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Our sincere apologies for the disruption of sleep and rest that you required for your overnight stay. We always do our best to provide our guests with the Western side of the hotel particularly for Friday and Saturday nights when the Coast Hotel next door has live entertainment. But as we are a popular hotel and fill up quickly, it is sometimes difficult to manage quiet rooms for last minute bookings. As your feedback is important to us and both Mauri and I wish all our guests to have a comfortable and enjoyable experience, we hope that you will stay with us again - please call us directly on 02 66509101 to discuss further.

Kindest regards,
Angela and Mauri Van Den Bosch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    119
    128
    64
    57
See reviews for
140
135
53
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Staff were really friendly and helpful. Room was clean, common area with microwave was handy as we had brought leftovers to heat up to save money on food. Rooms weren't very sound proof as we could hear someone talking on the phone in the next room. But for the price it was great.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsElfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings Point
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed in this hotel last week and found it very clean and cosy. Had a great nights sleep It is simple and clean very good value I had a room with a window faceing onto McLean st. The highway noise was not a probuem and I didnt hear any noise from the pub next door. The location is great as you can walk to all the near by hotels and clubs, and restaurants in the CB of Coffs Harbour. Tea and Coffee facililties are in the main entrance instead of your room, but this worked fine for me

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janbowering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel is 150m from Woolworths, which is 100m from Coffs Central shopping centre.
The coffee at the hotel is from a Nescafe machine, so no espresso. For me, the lack of espresso meant that the $9 for toast, cereal, juice, and yoghurt is not worth it.
A bacon, egg and cheese pie for $4.20 from Cutty's Cakes,or sitting at one of the cafes, or the food court in Coffs Central is a better option.
No fridge, microwave, or kettle in the room. I believe the family rooms have a microwave.
The bed was comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGFlick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed here for one night whilst on a business trip. The room was clean, quiet and I had a great nights sleep on a very comfortable bed and pillow. The only thing missing for me were tea making facilities in the room. You had to walk to the main entrance where they had an urn of hot water but, then you needed your own coffee and tea bags. There were hot drink vending machines though. I would stay again and next time take a travel kettle.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Jonaldjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This hotel was clean, simple and cosy. The doors from the rooms are a little noisy as they close and you do hear traffic from the highway and pub next door. But, if you're looking for a cheap stop over in a clean room, with ample simple facilities, this is your place. I live on the midnorth coast and what most people don't realise, is just how easy it is for a truck to plow off the highway and into a building on the side of it. People die all the time from this. What I loved about this hotel was how safe you were from this happening. It is on the high side of the road, so you can sleep soundly and safely. I was impressed with this place. It was close to town and very well set out. Next time I would bring ear plugs to make it even better, but it was perfect for one person for a night. Recommended for those who are looking for simple, clean and cheap accomodation in a friendly, safe environment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AviN762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Booked a room at the ibis hotel last night with my partner came back to our hotel and had alot of trouble with our key working so we couldnt get into the hotel we knocked on the door and the receptionist who was very arrogant and extremely rude basically came out and told us to shut up and opened the door. After this we had trouble getting our key to work in our door and asked him again for help. He told us very rudely we where probably trying to get into another room not our own and came and openned the door and said " it works fine!!!" And pushed the door open extremely hard and marched off. In the morning beforewe left we kindly said we where not happy with hes service and i was going to write the review i am now and he replied with why dont you try thinking next time and that he was going to reply to my review!! Another thing - both times and only times I have stayed at this hotel the power has cut out so we cannot shower or watch tv! I am extremely angry about this man who was working in reception who has no customer courtesy at all. We knew quite a few people staying at this hotel last night and because of hes actions we are all happy to say we will not be back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophlee6654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffsf1, General Manager at Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Budget Coffs Harbour. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my apologies.

I would however like to clarify a few points with your feedback. Firstly Mauri assisted you with your key entry at 3.30am as you were clearly intoxicated and needed assistance, we do not have an issue with this, but our policy of no extra people in a room for 2 people is not allowed and therefore that is why he explained that you were required to purchase another room for your extra friend. The power cut the next day was communicated to all our guests at check in both verbally and a letter was on the reception desk at check in, which was organised by Essential Energy for the entire grid of Coffs Harbour that our Hotel was located on from 8.30am until 6.00pm on the Sunday - we understand the inconvenience of this but we did inform all our guests - this was out of our control.

Kind regards,
Angela and Mauri Van Den Bosch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coffs Harbour hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.7 mi away
The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel
1.6 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#2 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
86 reviews
1.6 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Motor Inn
Premier Motor Inn
#15 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
33 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#23 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Toreador Motel
Toreador Motel
#19 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour

Property: Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour
Address: 1A McLean St, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia (Formerly Formule 1)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, ACCOR, Priceline, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing