We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worthy” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour
Ranked #35 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worthy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Me and my husband visited there for a night stay on the way to Brisbane from Sydney. To be frank, I think $94/night is too much compare to its amenities. The room is too small to accomodate 2 person even! The room has only one bed and one bunkers and a very tiny corner writing desk. Moreover the room had really bad odour, so i had to use my perfume to neutralise that (the worst part of the room). But the toilet and bed was okay. The staffs were friendly too. However overall I dont think, it is worthy to stay here at $94 unless you have got no choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angle_sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffsf1, General Manager at Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Angle_Sydney

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. Our team strive to provide the best facilities and service at the best available price at all times of the year.

Our hotel is a popular choice for travellers whom wish a clean and comfortable stay at a budget price. We have just finished replacing all new mattresses, bedding and pillows in each room. Yes, our rooms are simple in terms of amenitites and small, but majority of our guests keep coming back due to our friendly helpful service, and clean and comfortable rooms at the BEST budget price within a central location to tourist attractions, restaurants and transport.

We apologise if the room had an odour, recently all our bathrooms and carpets have undergone extensive cleaning and when the rooms are closed with airconditioner off this becomes more obvious, management are looking at ways to fix this issue so that its not the first thing noticed when walking into the room.

At the time you stayed at our hotel it was peak time of year at public holiday hotel rates, our tariffs range from $64 - $104 dependant on room type and time of year stayed. In comparison to similar accommodation in Coffs Harbour we are most definitely the most competitively priced hotel.

We hope that you may consider staying with us again in the future.

Kindest regards, Angela Van Den Bosch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    104
    119
    63
    53
See reviews for
130
121
50
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
1,662 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 705 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Well on the positive side:
- Good Central Location
- Really comfortable bed
- Clean room
On the negative side:
- Filthy public areas in hotel
- Air Conditioning so loud it would wake the dead
- 'Free Tea and Coffee' only available for limited times and not in the morning
In Summary:
If you want cheap (ish) and central and don't mind a lot of noise in the middle of the night then it is fine, otherwise pay a bit more and get something better nearby.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albywon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffsf1, General Manager at Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that our new bedding is comfortabel and the room was clean and to your liking. In response to cleanliness of the public areas, our dining area during the hours 10pm - 6.30am are not cleaned and many of the guests staying at our hotel which is exceptionally busy this time of year with late arrivals and early check outs choose to use our facilities to prepare their own food - we welcome this as many guests are travelling with large groups and families and value our communal facilities, but the down side is that usually a large quantity of rubbish/mess is left behind both indoors and outside on our picnic areas near the pool - to solve this issue, we as a management couple open up 30 minutes earlier to clean the public areas and remove rubbish prior to breakfast service at the hotel - we apologise for this perception of our hotel, our team take pride in cleanliness of the hotel and first impressions for our guests. We hope you will consider staying with us again.

Kindest regards, Angela and Mauri Van Den Bosch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Arrived right on 10pm when office closed. staff were rude and reconfirmed they were closed and we had to check in at machine outside. That was ok but the experience was bad. Booking was fo two single beds. Get to room it has one double. No one to contact as office closed. Aircon that noisy you couldnt sleep. bathroom that small you may as well have the toilet in the shower. Overall poor service got the booking all wrong poor room fasilities to small bad value for money. Get better for value elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coffs Harbour hotels

Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

A budget hotel with spartan rooms but clean and functional.
If all you want is a place to sleep while travelling this is the place
We drove down from the Gold Coast after work Friday and used thier late night user check in which worked quite well. The rooms were spartan and not much service but for a place just to sleep and then pusn on the next day it was fine.
$74 for the night for the four of us was good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pagassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Staff were excellent and the rooms clean and modern with a terrific price. The only complaint is that the walls are a little thin so when children wake up next door you know about it! Worth staying at.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MickMeMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Big Windmill
Comfort Inn Big Windmill
#9 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.6 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#7 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#5 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#18 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bentleigh Motor Inn
Bentleigh Motor Inn
#24 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Toreador Motel
Toreador Motel
#21 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour

Property: Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour
Address: 1A McLean St, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia (Formerly Formule 1)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, HostelWorld, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing