We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I Had expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    113
    123
    63
    55
See reviews for
133
131
51
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Arrived right on 10pm when office closed. staff were rude and reconfirmed they were closed and we had to check in at machine outside. That was ok but the experience was bad. Booking was fo two single beds. Get to room it has one double. No one to contact as office closed. Aircon that noisy you couldnt sleep. bathroom that small you may as well have the toilet in the shower. Overall poor service got the booking all wrong poor room fasilities to small bad value for money. Get better for value elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

A budget hotel with spartan rooms but clean and functional.
If all you want is a place to sleep while travelling this is the place
We drove down from the Gold Coast after work Friday and used thier late night user check in which worked quite well. The rooms were spartan and not much service but for a place just to sleep and then pusn on the next day it was fine.
$74 for the night for the four of us was good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pagassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Staff were excellent and the rooms clean and modern with a terrific price. The only complaint is that the walls are a little thin so when children wake up next door you know about it! Worth staying at.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickMeMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We just needed a stop for the night. The reception was great, staff were helpful, facilities were good, room was spotless, beds were comfortable, breakfast was easy and it was good value for money. I would use them again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeegSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,273 reviews
299 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 490 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Important note: They have rebranded it "ibis Budget Coffs Harbour" instead of Formule 1.

I have stayed here five times now and it's the same every time: a welcome, comfortable respite from a long journey (half-way point of the Brisbane to Sydney drive).

It's in the centre of town, has a good pub in front (which can be a loud problem when a band is playing on weekends), the RSL is nearby (always good for a cheap meal), a large supermarket across & down the street and lots of restaurants nearby.

The rooms are clean, spacious and secure. The staff are always helpful and pleasant.

This time I stayed in a double room with ensuite (the shower shares the space and is only divided by the shower curtain). I have previously stayed in the family room when I travelled with my mother (a double bed with single bed suspended over the top, which keeps you together without bumping into each other).

The bed was very comfortable and the room also had: controllable airconditioning; a TV; a desk & chair; a clock radio with auxiliary cord for your music player; WIFI available at a fee; onsite parking, breakfast (for a fee) and a pool (I have yet to remember my swimsuit), free coffee & tea at night; and a microwave in the breakfast area you can use.

All in all, this is a good, value for money hotel I recommend for rest and recuperation from a long drive.

Room Tip: Try to get one away from reception to avoid hearing people talking at all hours and if it's a we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Big Windmill
Comfort Inn Big Windmill
#9 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
1.6 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#4 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#18 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Toreador Motel
Toreador Motel
#19 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bentleigh Motor Inn
Bentleigh Motor Inn
#22 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour

Property: Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour
Address: 1A McLean St, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia (Formerly Formule 1)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing