We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good economical accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour
Ranked #35 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We just needed a stop for the night. The reception was great, staff were helpful, facilities were good, room was spotless, beds were comfortable, breakfast was easy and it was good value for money. I would use them again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeegSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

344 - 350 of 429 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

Important note: They have rebranded it "ibis Budget Coffs Harbour" instead of Formule 1.

I have stayed here five times now and it's the same every time: a welcome, comfortable respite from a long journey (half-way point of the Brisbane to Sydney drive).

It's in the centre of town, has a good pub in front (which can be a loud problem when a band is playing on weekends), the RSL is nearby (always good for a cheap meal), a large supermarket across & down the street and lots of restaurants nearby.

The rooms are clean, spacious and secure. The staff are always helpful and pleasant.

This time I stayed in a double room with ensuite (the shower shares the space and is only divided by the shower curtain). I have previously stayed in the family room when I travelled with my mother (a double bed with single bed suspended over the top, which keeps you together without bumping into each other).

The bed was very comfortable and the room also had: controllable airconditioning; a TV; a desk & chair; a clock radio with auxiliary cord for your music player; WIFI available at a fee; onsite parking, breakfast (for a fee) and a pool (I have yet to remember my swimsuit), free coffee & tea at night; and a microwave in the breakfast area you can use.

All in all, this is a good, value for money hotel I recommend for rest and recuperation from a long drive.

Room Tip: Try to get one away from reception to avoid hearing people talking at all hours and if it's a we...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bartlommerse
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have always booked in advance, specially if the stay is during a school holiday or long weekend. This is advisable to avoid the "no vacancy".
We have never encountered any problems except at times when the parking was taken by unauthorised cars from the nearby hotels or alternatively by noisy revellers coming back to their rooms in the middle of the night.
But this time round there were new procedures which had been put in place to avoid such incidents. We had a peaceful night and plenty of parking.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 67Pierre21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Although the rooms are small they have all that is required - very clean, comfortable bed made up with fresh linen, provided with additional pillows on request, clean small ensuite facilities, free tea and coffee available from 4 pm to 9 pm, and on site parking for vehicle and trailer. The managers were very friendly and helpful. If you are on a limited budget don't go past this chain. They are not classy but clean and more than adequate for overnight stops.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We have stayed in formule 1 establishments in the past and wouldn't stay in them again but we needed a cheap & cheerful overnight stay to break up a long drive and based in price booked this hotel.

On arrival we were greeted in a warm & friendly manner at reception and were given room keys etc. She also offered to help me with my baggage up the stairs which was appreciated. Room was basic it adequate with queen bed for myself & youngest child & then an overhead single for the eldest. The floor did have some light stains but overall I was happy with the room. It was clean and functional.

We had decided to drive to maccas for a quick burger for dinner but spotted brochures in the hotel lobby & were looking at those for dinner options when the owner/manager came out and asked if we needed help. She gave us recommendations for dinner and directions for walking which was great. On return from dinner I went to have a shower to find no hot water - went downstairs and spoke to the manager who informed me that he had contacted an electrician & apologized. Half an hour later I tried the water and found it to have been fixed which was great. About 5 minutes later the manager knocked on the door and wanted to make sure everything was ok and to let me know it was fixed.

I was impressed with the customer service I received from this hotel & would definitely stay there again for an overnight stay.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trips101_12
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.8 mi away
The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel
1.6 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
268 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#4 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Motor Inn
Premier Motor Inn
#14 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#21 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
80 reviews
1.6 mi away
Royal Palms Motor Inn
Royal Palms Motor Inn
#1 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour

Address: 1A McLean St, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia (Formerly Formule 1)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Price Range: $56 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing