We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but showing its age”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Iluka, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice but showing its age”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I stayed overnight for a conference, so I didn't have a chance to really take in all the resort had to offer. This is really only a comment on the single room. Bed was great, all the normal facilities you would expect. Clean and tidy, with a nice outlook to the south but no real ocean view from my room. The room showed its age with worn carpet and numerous chips in the bathroom floor tiles. Also trying to navigate back to your room is difficult without a GPS, as the signage is poor and the room numbering a bit weird, But the old fashion room key was quaint. Staff were top class all around. Breakfast was part of my package and was excellent. The restaurant for dinner was acceptable and not bad, but not outstanding either, but drinks are pricey. Overall, you get your money's worth and is probably the pick in Coffs Harbour.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bull W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dene_Zahner, General Manager at Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Will B

We thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay with us at Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort.
I appologise for the maintenance items that you mentioned in the room the Maintenance team are attending to them immediately.
Thank you for the positive feedback about the staff and service that you received during your stay, and I will pass your comments onto the relevant staff.
We thank you again for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Dene Zahner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    378
    290
    144
    80
See reviews for
321
470
41
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Recently attended a conference in Coffs and delegates were put up here. Think it may be a good place for family for a day or so but not longer. Rooms have been up dated since it was first built but the outside " trowel on " and tiles are outdated. Don't see how the exterior could be updated to hi e it that modern look. Being there on business I was only there for dinner and breakfast. Must say the selection of meals in the dining room were very good and certainly up to standard. breakfast selection was good but I would not say superb. Don't particularly like coffee machines and would prefer service. Did like to fact that room keys gave access to spar and sauna but found it strange no toilet area in this area and out had to dry off and go into the gym section.
The sliding doors on the show did not work and I was worried they would break if I forced them. Consequently too much water on the bathroom floor.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dene_Zahner, General Manager at Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Stewart R

We thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay with us at Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort. As you mentioned the exterior of the building in regards to painting is currently being discussed by the Executive committee of the body corporate as they also want to improve the look of the building.
We were happy to read that you enjoyed the food and beverage outlets during your stay. The toilets to the Gym area are located in the change rooms which are situated inside the gym. I have passed on your comments in regards to the shower screen so that our maintenance department can attend to rectifying this issue.
We thank you again for your comments and hope that you will afford us the opportunity to serve you better in the near future.

Kind regards

Dene Zahner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lapstone
Level Contributor
297 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is a very well kept resort on a very large parcel of land. The lawns and the golf course look up to a high mountain and there are lagoons, waterfalls and pleasant walkways around the hotel buildings. I found three choices of swimming pools and a tennis court all within the boundaries of the resort. You cannot see the beach from the resort, but there is a very short walkway through the trees to reach it. It is a very clean beach, though the sand is a little course. The rooms are well kept with comfortable bedding and nice bathrooms, though I thought the water presssure in my shower was not as strong as I would have liked.
The reception area, conference facilities, lounge and and the restaurant, second to none, comfortable and spacious with both indoor and outdoor furniture. There is a very nice bar bar area and restaurant both having beautiful outlooks across a lagoon. Good quality food options, excellent, friendly service. I thoroughly enjoyed my dining experience and the total comfort and atmosphere within the resort.

Room Tip: If you would like a nice view you will need to ask for a room above level 4. There are separate bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShepLapstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dene_Zahner, General Manager at Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear ShepLapStone

We thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay with us at Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort. We were happy to read that the resort meets all your expectations and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.
We thank you again for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Kind regards

Dene Zahner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

After reading some earlier reviews, our expections were not high. But we were delightfuly surprised. We had a week in a one-bed APVC apartment on the 6th floor with views from a double length balcony over the golf course, lagoon and pool to the ocean. It was adequately equipped (in fact, somewhat bizarrely, there were two irons!), but in need of minor maintenance here and there. The mattress was great, the setting tranquil and sleep good. We made use of both the lap and larger pool, walked along the beach most mornings and a couple of times followed the coastal track from the beach onto the headland. Although the resort is on the fringes of Coffs, it feels as though you are in your own leafy gully with a beach at the bottom of the garden. We look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms in the Hillside buildings have excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret2037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dene_Zahner, General Manager at Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Margaret2037

We thank you for your comments in regards your recent stay with us at Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort.
We were happy to read that you enjoyed you time with us. The Accor Vacation Club rooms are located on the 6th and 7th Level of the accommodation towers which do give you a great view of the resort. I will share your comments with the, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Dene Zahner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2014

we stayed over Christmas.. it was a busy resort but service was great. Great playground. Bins emptied each day, bed made and fresh towels. Good size room. Pools clean and good for kids and staff helpful when we needed a portacot in the middle of the night for the toddler who wouldn't stay in his bed! they sent one straight up…. even on new years eve
just need some thicker pillows… :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dene_Zahner, General Manager at Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Tina S

Thank you for your positive review of the resort. Christmas holiday period was a busy time and we are happy to read that you and your children had lots to do and enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for the comments in regards to the pillows as we are in the process of purchasing new ones.

Regards

Dene Zahner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotts Head, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed for one night and the mattress was so good. It looks like a great place for families with activities to keep everyone amused. They have a good gym with an indoor spa, I was hoping for an outdoor spa connected to a pool but couldn't find one near us.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dene_Zahner, General Manager at Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Sandra J

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass on your comments to the team. We do have an outdoor spa located at the southern end of the Charlesworth bay pool, and the Terrace area. Please ask our staff next time you stay so that they can give you directions on how to find these areas.
Thank you again for your review.

Regards

Dene Zahner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for two nights, without expecting much from the hotel driving into Coffs. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the resort and our small holiday here was extremely enjoyable and relaxing. The staff were very helpful and hospitable, especially Allistair at the front desk. The golf course and tennis courts were well looked after and lovely to use. Although the rooms were slightly dated, they were kept clean and comfortable. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dene_Zahner, General Manager at Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear James W

We thank you for your recent positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort.
Thank you for your comments about the resort, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Dene Zahner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.5 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#2 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#13 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#4 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#3 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,240 reviews
1.0 mi away
Opal Cove Resort
Opal Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Korora
3.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nautilus Beachfront Villas & Spa
Nautilus Beachfront Villas & Spa
#26 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort

Property: Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort
Address: | Corner Pacific Highway and Bay Drive, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#5 Luxury Hotel in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort is located 10 minutes drive from the centre of Coffs Harbour. Perfect for a holiday or break on the beautiful New South Wales North Coast, the hotel features 130 superbly appointed rooms, plus an A La Carte Restaurant, Bar (offering an All Day Dining Menu) and conference rooms for up to 800 people. Guests can enjoy excellent leisure facilities, including a 9 hole golf course, tennis courts, three swimming pools, indoor and outdoor spas, fitness centre, hairdresser and Tranquility Day Spa. We also have an onsite activities company, Timeout Adventures, offering activities from Segway rides to laser clay shooting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, ACCOR, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Hotel Coffs Harbour
Accor Coffs Harbour
Coffs Harbour Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing