We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort
Ranked #21 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Buckhorn, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed at the Pacific Bay Resort. Generally pretty good. Only a couple of criticisms. We stayed in a 1 BR with a full kitchen. No coffee maker, just a kettle and instant. The spa was just a corner tub. Internet was charged for. Even the most ordinary motel provides free Wi-fi.

Otherwise nice place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petermac-red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    375
    283
    141
    80
See reviews for
316
464
40
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

I want to start with the positives of the Novotel Pacific Bay Resort before I explain why I chose the title of my review.

The positives:
* One of the reception staff was amazing. Lovely man. Extremely helpful. Funny. Just what customers want after a very long drive. (Slight grumble about the other 2 who stood around chatting while 7 of us tried to check in).
* The grounds of the resort are beautiful, it's clear that the ground staff care about what they are doing and it's beautiful.
* First impression of the room was that it was pretty spacious. Nice balcony overlooking the lagoon.

The negatives:
* The resort is extremely tired. Everything is just a bit shabby. Cracked bathroom tiles, chipped wall paint, broken light switches etc. It's obvious that the hotel has tried to make things nice as the carpet appears to be new, however it's dark brown and colours like that really show when housekeeping is only doing the bare minimum. And they are. My carpet was covered in the remains of the previous tenants... hair, tissue etc. All stuff that would come up with a quick vacuum and yet it's still there.
* I'm staying in a spa room. Went to use the spa this morning and there was no plug. Seems like a bit of a rip off to me to pay extra for a room with a spa to find I couldn't use it.
* "Room service". Note the inverted commas. Room service in the hotel is not the room service that other hotels offer. The menu states you can order room service between 11am and 9.30pm and you can collect your orders from the restaurant! To be fair it does state a room service delivery fee applies which implies it's possible to get your food delivered however nowhere does it state what that fee will be. I can only guess that is EXACTLY what the hotel wants, to discourage people ordering room service. Crazy.
* No mini bar. No bottles of water. No snacks to purchase. Nothing. A completely empty fridge. Bizarre, especially when "room service" isn't really an option either.

The only way I can describe my stay is completely depressing. I can see that the resort would have been an amazing place in it's heyday and the grounds are more beautiful than I was expecting. However I feel that things have been let go, everything needs replacing or fixing and it's obvious the job is either too big or the staff don't care. Either way it's depressing that such a beautiful hotel is being ignored. Sadly, I won't be coming back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlewonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dene_Zahner, General Manager at Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
We thank you for recent feedback regarding your recent stay with us, we are constantly looking at ways to refine and improve our delivery of service and the quality of our product and your feedback will certainly assist in this.
We thank you for your positive comments in regards to the receptionist and grounds.
We do appologise that the resort did not meet your expectations and will take your feedback on board.
Thank you again for sharing your experience with us.

Kind regards

Dene Zahner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coffs Harbour hotels

Bucks
Level Contributor
107 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed here with three others ; men to play golf, women to enjoy the spa treatments and lazing around.
The men thought the golf course was just lovely to play on.
We ladies enjoyed several treatments in the spa.
Walking around the grounds was a real pleasure. The swimming pools were far too cold for us to enter, although a few brave souls did manage it with intakes of breath at temperature.
The beach is a short walk through the grounds.
Thought the meal price were a bit steep.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suesa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dene_Zahner, General Manager at Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
We thank you for recent feedback regarding your recent stay with us, we are constantly looking at ways to refine and improve our delivery of service and the quality of our product and your feedback will certainly assist in this.
I will share your comments in regards to Golf course and resort facilities with our team. Charlie’s restaurant and bar is one of the premier restaurant in Coffs Harbour, we do also offer meals in the bar as an alternative dining option.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind regards

Dene Zahner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Visited for a brief stay for a family gathering.
The grounds were really well cared for & the accommodation was clean, with fairly modern facilities. The 'lap' pool was a great area for the family to relax & enjoy the afternoon.The breakfast that was included in our package was great - making the stay relatively reasonably priced. Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Simone D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dene_Zahner, General Manager at Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
We thank you for your recent positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort.
Thank you for your comments about the resort, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Dene Zahner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.4 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#2 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#12 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
1.4 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#5 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#3 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,041 reviews
0.9 mi away
Opal Cove Resort
Opal Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Korora
3.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nautilus Beachfront Villas & Spa
Nautilus Beachfront Villas & Spa
#25 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort

Property: Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort
Address: | Corner Pacific Highway and Bay Drive, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#5 Luxury Hotel in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort is located 10 minutes drive from the centre of Coffs Harbour. Perfect for a holiday or break on the beautiful New South Wales North Coast, the hotel features 130 superbly appointed rooms, plus an A La Carte Restaurant, Bar (offering an All Day Dining Menu) and conference rooms for up to 800 people. Guests can enjoy excellent leisure facilities, including a 9 hole golf course, tennis courts, three swimming pools, indoor and outdoor spas, fitness centre, hairdresser and Tranquility Day Spa. We also have an onsite activities company, Timeout Adventures, offering activities from Segway rides to laser clay shooting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, ACCOR and Travelocity so you can book your Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Hotel Coffs Harbour
Accor Coffs Harbour
Coffs Harbour Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing