We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room for improvement.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
melbourne
Level Contributor
125 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Room for improvement.”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

On check in, there was no explanation from the young woman as to resort facilities or what was included in our package. It was not busy at the time so there was really no excuse. The resort itself has lovely grounds with a lagoon and three pools. It's therefore quite a walk from many of the rooms back to reception and the restaurant. A hassle if it's raining as there was no umbrella in the room. Many other resorts of this type have BBQs for guests' use but you have to walk out near the beach to use the council BBQs.
There are some lovely coastal walks nearby and the local shopping centre is about a five minute drive away.
Apart from new TVs and AC units, nothing much has been done over the years to update the rooms. Many other similar properties nearby offer free wifi but unlike most other Novotels, this one doesn't even have a bank of computers for guests to use.
If you go for a standard room, ask for one overlooking the lagoon, otherwise you could be stuck with a view of buildings or roads.
Breakfast was standard Novotel buffet fare.
Housekeeping really needs to improve as the bathroom and TV bench tops looked like they hadn't been dusted for weeks.
Would we stay again? There are quite a few similar properties nearby (with free wifi and better facilities) that I might have a look at next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank adenoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dene_Zahner, General Manager at Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We thank you for your recent feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort, we are constantly looking at ways to refine and improve our delivery of service and the quality of our product and your feedback will certainly assist in this.
As mentioned in pervious responses we have completed upgrading our rooms in regards to TV’s, carpet, curtains, air conditioning units, bedding and all white goods.
All guests’ rooms have a complimentary umbrella for guests use while they are stay at the resort due to the subtropical climate as it does rain from time to time.
I will pass you comments about the service you received at check in on to the Front office Manager and the cleaning items to our Executive housekeeper for them to address.
We thank you again for your comments and do hope that you to will afford us the opportunity to serve you better in the future.
Kind regards

Dene Zahner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    375
    290
    143
    80
See reviews for
321
467
41
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The resort is set in beautiful grounds which are well maintained and a joy to experience. The staff are helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Located north of the main shopping area the resort is a little remote.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank hvreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We always look forward to our stay at the Novotel in Coffs Harbour. We have stayed there on numerous occasions and like everything about the place. We particularly like the restaurant and Buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We ended up here as a last minute encounter, yet were not disappointed with the room, grounds or location. We wandered around the beautiful resort settings down to the beach, which was very private and romantic.

The grounds are superbly kept, though probably look a few years out of date - however we hardly focused on that. The car park a bit of a walk to the room, which was tricky to find, though once we arrived we were satisfied with our garden spa suite. The room was clean with nice but slightly dated decor. Our spa bath was working well and bathroom in good condition.

We sat out and chatted with friends well into the evening, though there were a few mosquitos en masse. Bring your repellant!

This resort was pretty good value on the whole. The rooms were reasonably priced and overall we enjoyed our stay. Breakfasts were horrendously expensive though!

Room Tip: Ground floor is lovely as rooms spill out onto manicured lawn
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night on a road trip back to Sydney. Le Club Platinum members - be warned that you will not receive any privileges when staying at this hotel - a fact that they fail to mention on their website or the Accor website. Whilst this isn't the fault of the front desk I would have thought that they would have been more accommodating given the fact that the hotel is branded as the Novotel. It really isn't that hard to upgrade a guest when the hotel clearly isn't full.

Having said that we were somewhat disappointed with the room. It had clearly just been cleaned and smelt so strongly of bleach that we had to have the balcony doors open all afternoon to remove the smell. The fridge in the room was also extremely noisy and woke us up on more than one occasion.

The fixtures and fittings were ok but this is very much a 3 - 3.5 star property which now makes more sense having been informed that the hotel is not owned by Accor.

Buffet breakfast was nice as were the grounds.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dene_Zahner, General Manager at Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort, we are constantly looking at ways to refine and improve our delivery of service and the quality of our product and your feedback will certainly assist in this.
Unfortunately we do not accept the Le Club card at the resort. Upgrades are available and I will address this with the Front Office Manager as it should have been offered to you if it was available on the date of your stay.
All units are privately owned, however we have replaced major items over the last few years, as mentioned in previous reviews.
Thank you for your kind words in regards to the breakfast buffet and grounds, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future

Kind regards

Dene Zahner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed in a spa suite with lounge area and view of the shore.
Room - very dirty and down at heel in appearance. Management responded that if no one told them it was dirty before it was booked they didn't know and couldn't do anything about it anyway.
No hot water - it ran out after a few seconds. Management response was to suggest we had used too much and that as we had caused the problem and there would be no more hot water for the day we could downgrade to s room with no spa and no view, but the instructions for the spa advise filling over the line of the spa jets so clearly adequate hot water supply is always needed to support the use of spa rooms.
Value is very poor, with inadequate room size, inadequate basic requisites for supporting the facilities and overpriced at $250 for the room.
The male manager I finally had respond after the reception staff could not assist was rude and offensive.
Stay elsewhere if you want clean accommodation and courteous treatment.
We will never patronise Accor/Novotel again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dene_Zahner, General Manager at Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort, we are constantly looking at ways to refine and improve our delivery of service and the quality of our product and your feedback will certainly assist in this.
I was concerned in reading your comments in regards to the lack of hot water as we have only received one complaint in regards to this over the last 12 months. Our maintenance team have just completed an entire audit of all hot water system at the resort at all are in working order. I was surprised to read your comments in regards to the room size as our 1 bedroom spa suites comprise of a separate lounge dining area, kitchenette, and separate bedroom with king size bed, ensuite with spa bath and laundry.
Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope that you afford us another opportunity to serve you better in the future.

Kind regards

Dene Zahner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coffs Harbour hotels

Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Have stayed at this resort previously as part of exchange programme. This stay was in identical room. Room size is just a hotel room. Have seen bigger rooms for same or better value. Distance from accomodation tower to restaurant / reception can be a problem. We did encounter over 200mm rain in 36 hours. Staff at reception were fantastic helped us with a couple of issues and restaurant staff catered for food allergies my wife and daughter suffer from.
I would stay here again if I have another wedding to attend but I dont know if the room would be roomy enough to stay long term

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank pakman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dene_Zahner, General Manager at Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort, we are constantly looking at ways to refine and improve our delivery of service and the quality of our product and your feedback will certainly assist in this.
We do have 2 types of rooms at the resort. A resort room with is a normal size hotel room and 1 bedroom spa suites which have a separate lounge dining area, kitchenette and laundry.
Thank you for your kind words in regards to the staff, and we hope to see you back at the resort in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Dene Zahner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.5 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#2 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
369 reviews
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#13 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
179 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#5 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#3 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
2,140 reviews
1.0 mi away
Opal Cove Resort
Opal Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Korora
823 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nautilus Beachfront Villas & Spa
Nautilus Beachfront Villas & Spa
#26 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort

Property: Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort
Address: | Corner Pacific Highway and Bay Drive, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#5 Luxury Hotel in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort is located 10 minutes drive from the centre of Coffs Harbour. Perfect for a holiday or break on the beautiful New South Wales North Coast, the hotel features 130 superbly appointed rooms, plus an A La Carte Restaurant, Bar (offering an All Day Dining Menu) and conference rooms for up to 800 people. Guests can enjoy excellent leisure facilities, including a 9 hole golf course, tennis courts, three swimming pools, indoor and outdoor spas, fitness centre, hairdresser and Tranquility Day Spa. We also have an onsite activities company, Timeout Adventures, offering activities from Segway rides to laser clay shooting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, Travelocity, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Hotel Coffs Harbour
Accor Coffs Harbour
Coffs Harbour Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing