We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1960s architecture that hasn't been decorated since construction”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
448 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“1960s architecture that hasn't been decorated since construction”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Not our first choice as weddings had occupied all the decent hotels in Coffs Hrabour on a Saturday night.

First room stank of cigarette smoke, particularly the bedding, we complained and were moved.

Nice views over the grounds, decent breakfast in tired and dirty dining room, we couldn't leave soon enough.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sm0ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dene_Zahner, General Manager at Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
We thank you for recent feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort, we are constantly looking at ways to refine and improve our delivery of service and the quality of our product and your feedback will certainly assist in this.
I have noted your comments in regards to the issues with the accommodation room and Restaurant and have discussed them with the relevant department heads to address immediately.
We thank you again for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Dene Zahner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    375
    290
    144
    80
See reviews for
321
468
41
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We've just spent 3 nights at this resort and had a great time. I don't think it's 'tired' at all. The rooms are huge and comfortable. The style/colour is a little 70's but the furniture and fittings actually look very new and bathrooms were very modern. We had a 2 bedroom on 7th floor and had a wonderful view over the lake and ocean. We used our Advantage Plus card in the restaurant which had top quality food. All the staff were very friendly. The lap pool was a lovely temperature and the kids pool a little cool to use. Beach was fine but a bit dangerous to swim. Lovely sunsets. Good gymnasium. We used the tennis courts which mostly were a bit patched but still fine for a few good sets. The only trouble was they were all booked one day so we weren't allowed to use them even half an hour later when the people hadn't turned up. We tried splash golf and had a lot of fun. The only little suggestion is for the onsite activities. The Zip circus activities brochure and advertising stated it was only open on days we weren't there which was so disappointing for my daughter. I found out at the end of our stay that the circus and some' time out adventure' activities may have been available if requested. Over all a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnieBuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is a fine established hotel resort with lots of potential. However the place is dated, and except for new carpets the rooms haven't been touched for 18 years, not since my first stay in about 1995.
In other words the bathrooms are circa 1990 (it was in mothballs for a few years after it was built in around 1992) and and the rooms are same old same old, even the doors squeak as they close, little has changed. I stayed there on a Monday night and the Friday night of the same week (having driven south from home and then north from Sydney on the way home, making use of my Accor card).
The staff do their best and the restaurant food is very good, so that side of things is fine. One little niggle, they charged me for a tiny bread roll ($1.75) which amazed me, just like most places think they can charge up to 2.5% for credit card use, another tax on business and customers generally. I object partly because it doesn't cost them that amount and it is a new charge which was always in the overheads, no reductions in the prices just gouge extra from the customer. Of course this place is no orphan in that but that doesn't make it morally right.
Overall a pleasant, quiet stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainK49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights just recently. Whilst the resort itself is very picturesque with the golf course and surrounding hills, the rooms although very clean are looking tired and dated. the bathroom needs a refit with a part of the cupboard below the basin loose and ready to fall out. the same applies to the bedhead and side tables. there are no self locking doors on the room. the breakfast is fine with a good selection of food and reasonable coffee. there seems to be a number of activities for children and the beach is a short walk away Overall a great spot but needs updating

Room Tip: get a room with a view of the hills or over the golf course higher up in the complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DYR56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

WOW! My young daughter and I stayed in the One Bedroom Spa Suite. It was spacious and fully self-contained. It had a full length verandah overlooking the gorgeous grounds of this picturesque resort. The King size bed was extremely comfortable and the room had all the comforts of home-Perfect for families. Upon check-in the staff were extremely friendly and helpful making us feel right at home.
We had a mixture of Room Service and Restaurant ( Charlie's ) meals. The meals were huge and delicious. The pool, trapeze school and Blow up Castle were a treat. This has to be one of the most beautifully located resorts I have stayed at. It is set on such luscious and large surroundings you feel like you are the only people staying there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel's focus seems to be targeted towards families and has its facilities geared to support this. If you are travelling as a couple and expecting a more polished hotel you may find this rather dated and in serious need of a refurbishment for what is a four star hotel. You are staying in what are different apartment towers situated around its grounds. I got the impression that most families stay there for a week and enjoy the pool and other facilities. Wouldn't go back as a couple. Overall the hotel was clean and the staff were helpful, so I would rate the overall experience as just average.
The entry to this hotel is directly off the highway, so it can be difficult to cross lanes if driving a car from the direction of Coff's Harbour.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaschG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Pacific Bay resort proved to be a great escape for our family. The girls (9 and 13) had a ball utilising the trapeze school to learn how to swing and fly, swimming in the nice pools, and having fun at the blow up action zone. Surf was a bit big due to the weather but it could have been another activity. The restaurant was great for breakfast and dinner. The room (one bedroom with spa) was nice and clean but starting to show its age with shutters falling of the rails. Although very busy we rarely saw anybody around showing how many things there are to do and how well laid out it is. I would stay there again although it really is getting to the point of needing an interior refurbishment.

Room Tip: Try and get the units with the ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSR67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.5 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#2 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#13 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#4 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#3 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
1.0 mi away
Opal Cove Resort
Opal Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Korora
3.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nautilus Beachfront Villas & Spa
Nautilus Beachfront Villas & Spa
#25 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort

Property: Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort
Address: | Corner Pacific Highway and Bay Drive, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#5 Luxury Hotel in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort is located 10 minutes drive from the centre of Coffs Harbour. Perfect for a holiday or break on the beautiful New South Wales North Coast, the hotel features 130 superbly appointed rooms, plus an A La Carte Restaurant, Bar (offering an All Day Dining Menu) and conference rooms for up to 800 people. Guests can enjoy excellent leisure facilities, including a 9 hole golf course, tennis courts, three swimming pools, indoor and outdoor spas, fitness centre, hairdresser and Tranquility Day Spa. We also have an onsite activities company, Timeout Adventures, offering activities from Segway rides to laser clay shooting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Hotel Coffs Harbour
Accor Coffs Harbour
Coffs Harbour Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing