We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok - not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ok - not great”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We only stayed for one night with our family. We had to have two rooms so although we used our complimentary night it still cost $264. I think this is well overpriced mainly due to the fact that the rooms are straight out of the 80's! This resort is in desperate need of an update. That aside the service in the restaurant was hideous. They took 40 mins to get the kids drinks, had to be reminded, were rude when reminded then came out with the wrong drinks - AND AGAIN WERE RUDE! My sons dinner was taken away from him before he had even finished then the staff BLAMED HIM! Food was good but that sort of service leaves a bad taste in your mouth. That being said our dinner was removed from the bill and the duty manager was most apologetic. I then called back a week later to see if my son had left his Ipod there - no return call to let us know either way. Not the standard of a Novotel hotel! ESPECIALLY when you are paying that much to stay there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelsta72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dene_Zahner, General Manager at Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We thank you for your recent feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort, we are constantly looking at ways to refine and improve our delivery of service and the quality of our product and your feedback will certainly assist in this.
As mentioned in pervious responses we are currently working on a schedule for rooms improvements which will encompass various areas of the room.
We have discussed your comments in regards to the Food and Beverage service with the Food and Beverage Manager for them to address with the staff to ensure that this does not happen again in the future. Please let me appologise for this.
We thank you again for your comments and do hope that you to will afford us the opportunity to serve you better in the future.

Kind regards

Dene Zahner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    382
    294
    146
    81
See reviews for
324
481
41
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Good to see food prices have come down.( we have been going to this resort for last 14 yrs). Grounds are as beautiful as ever although the rooms are lookong a little tired. Resort could do with a nice bbq area for families. Love the pools and tennis crts. Had an awesome view amd witnessed whales frolicking in charlesworth bay! Amazing. We ate in the reataurant on several occasions and the food was ok. We are quite used to the happy hour at charlies bar but itwas lacking in atmosphere itnormally has and no cocktail of the day until we asked. In the past this has been a great way to end a relaxing day by the pool. Overall great stay for a battery recharge for 5 nights.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schmamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite for 4 nights with our 2 children.
Room: Large, and it was nice to be able to have the main bedroom open or closed to the lounge room (esp with a baby). The resort set up a cot ready for our arrival.
The décor / appliances were dated, but for the most part they worked fine and were handy. When the dryer stopped, reception promptly directed us to another one on our floor. Perhaps consider separate showers for the refurbishment (rather than a shower/bath).
The facilities / activities we utilised were terrific: choice of 3 pools (we used 2), Beauty Spa, Segways, giant balls on the pool, playground, walking paths. I was able to get short beauty spa appointments easily, which meant I could pamper myself while the family were getting ready for tea. Something I would not normally do or have time for.
Room service ($10 del): The meals were delicious (lasagne, pizza and side salad), and it was nice not to have to travel for a meal after a long day.
Sadly no room service breakfast - my main luxury on holiday. No Advantage Plus on breakfast.
Restaurant (Tues): The service really let them down! Told it would be 20 min wait for a table (fine), ended up waiting 50+ mins at the entrance to the restaurant and then at least another 10 mins to order. Challenging with small children. So many spare tables for the entire wait – told many times that a table would be ready very soon which was the annoying part. If we knew the wait would really be that long, we would not have waited. In the end our eldest was too tired for tea and we were tired and frazzled. No steak knives (had to chase), our side was not ordered and we were initially given the wrong bill for the previous table. It was a bit like Faulty Towers.
Thankfully the kitchen staff were stellar – the meals were really delicious (steaks) and our sides were provided asap once mentioned (thank you Chef). I am not sure if the counter staff were having a bad day or if it is usual. Staff told us they had a lot of pickup orders which seemed to be taking away from diners. Many other diners were told to come back in an hour.
Reception staff were very helpful throughout our visit.
Checked out at 11am and were able to continue using the facilities.
Overall, we found it a great base for our relaxing Coffs holiday: close to attractions, great outside facilities. Our restaurant experience was a disappointing end and poorly handled, but nevertheless, another couple of days would have been nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosieLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Friendly staff, beautiful grounds. Room very comfortable and nice views. Great food, well priced and lovely buffet breakie. The pools are great for kids, beach access and we are happy to recommend.......

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here a while ago, we were up in Coffs for a wedding, most of the family were staying here so worked out well. Great location and beautiful gardens, buildings are a little old and tired but that was fine. We stayed for 4 nights and the first night was ok, room wasnt fantastic, one of the lower levels looking across a rooftop. There was a little incident with with housekeeping and a dirty bed being made up, apon bringing it to management attention they quickly rectified the issue and moved us to a much better room on a higher floor. The rest of the holiday was great, fantastic weekend away from Sydney!

Friendly service, great food and would have to say we would go back...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scrooby_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

To start off, we booked this holiday through Scoopons, and I must say, Scoopons made this resort sound a lot better then it was in reality. The rooms are nothing special, quite old and could definitely benefit from some remodelling, but besides this, the service here was TERRIBLE. We were told check-in was 2pm, arrived at 2:30pm and were told our room would still be another hour until it was ready. The hotel had my contact details, therefore should have contacted me about this delay before 2pm when I was due to arrive, so that I was fully aware and could rearrange my day to suit, or at least compensate for the delay in some way.
Secondly, as previously stated, we booked this destination through a scoopons voucher which included the following: A bottle of wine on arrival, buffet breakfasts for all guests, a round of golf for up to 4 people on the bay golf course, 3 segway rides and 2 activity zone centre passes. We however, did NOT receive our bottle of wine upon arrival, which lead us to call reception to ask for the bottle of wine, to which the receptionist replied with "You were meant to collect it at reception upon arrival"...I think what he meant to say was "I'm sorry, it appears we must have accidentally forgotten to hand it to you at check-in, we will bring it straight to you" rather than make it seem as if it was our fault we did not reach behind the counter and take a bottle of wine. After their rude response, they did say they would bring it up to us soon, which turned into 4 hours, which lead us to call again. They then said they would bring it up in 5 minutes, which was actually 30 minutes. The service in general was poor, unorganised, and lacked any sense of urgency.

Finally, the scoopons deal clearly states that as part of the deal, we receive all the above listed vouchers/items, however we DID NOT receive all of these. The receptionist quite matter-of-factly informed us that we are entitled to segways OR activity zone vouchers, however after reviewing my scoopon (including the fine print), this is not the case, thus we were cheated of our entitlements as we only received the segway vouchers. We also only received 2 segway vouchers instead of 3 (we upgraded segway rides, therefore an extra voucher could have cut more price off our upgrade), and we also only received 2 golf vouchers instead of 4 (who is to say we cant play a game of golf twice? Possibly a game each day?)
Overall, it seemed like the staff's care factor of our experience at the hotel was next to none, and in general, Novotel did not provide us with the entitlements we paid for, or the kind and welcoming service anyone would expect when on a holiday.

I must however commend their well-kept grounds, and also their food was quite good. However, the cons outweigh the pros, thus I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dene_Zahner, General Manager at Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We thank you for your recent feedback regarding your recent stay with us, we are constantly looking at ways to refine and improve our delivery of service and the quality of our product and your feedback will certainly assist in this.
Yes we have run a recent promotion on Scoopon at the resort, which does incorporate various activates at the resort. As I have mentioned in other responses we are working through a rooms upgrade and this is scheduled to be completed in June 2013.
Please let me appologise for the service that you received during your stay and I will investigate all of the incidents that you have mentioned in your review.
Thank you for your kind words about the food and grounds at the resort.
We thank you again for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Dene Zahner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coffs Harbour hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.5 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#3 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
375 reviews
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#13 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
184 reviews
0.4 mi away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#2 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
2,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Opal Cove Resort
Opal Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Korora
848 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nautilus Beachfront Villas & Spa
Nautilus Beachfront Villas & Spa
#26 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
119 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Beach Resort Motel
Park Beach Resort Motel
#5 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort

Property: Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort
Address: | Corner Pacific Highway and Bay Drive, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#5 Luxury Hotel in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort is located 10 minutes drive from the centre of Coffs Harbour. Perfect for a holiday or break on the beautiful New South Wales North Coast, the hotel features 130 superbly appointed rooms, plus an A La Carte Restaurant, Bar (offering an All Day Dining Menu) and conference rooms for up to 800 people. Guests can enjoy excellent leisure facilities, including a 9 hole golf course, tennis courts, three swimming pools, indoor and outdoor spas, fitness centre, hairdresser and Tranquility Day Spa. We also have an onsite activities company, Timeout Adventures, offering activities from Segway rides to laser clay shooting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Hotel Coffs Harbour
Accor Coffs Harbour
Coffs Harbour Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing