We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for the sharks and they are not in the water !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Kent, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Watch out for the sharks and they are not in the water !”
Reviewed February 17, 2009

We stayed at Aanuka in January but had to leave almost a week early.
We gave them 4 days notice before checking out and we know that they resold our room, as we called to check availabilty after we had left.
We paid in full and knew that a refund was not compulsory, however I am a travel agent, although I paid full price, and have been in the business over 30 years and this is the first hotel that I have come across that would not offer a token refund.
I consider this to be sharp pratice and would tell you just to be very careful.
Needless to say I have found plenty of other good properties than do have some moral standards.

  • Liked — Position
  • Disliked — Grubby
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ACEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2015
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    910
    831
    396
    156
    115
See reviews for
1,023
848
61
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2009

Aanuka has the best pool area and beach of the resorts I have stayed at in Coffs but the service is very bad. If you want to stay in the resort and lay by the pool/on the beach and dont need anything from the staff this is a good place for you. It is north of the town centre and you need a car to get anywhere other than the Big Banana which is at the top of the road.

I travel for work mostly and had a number of problems:
1. I upgraded rooms when a friend came to visit for a few days and left my phone charger in the old room. The staff refused to retrieve it on the same day and it was days later that it arrived back! Reception was quite rude about not helping as well. This wouldnt have been so bad but the landline didnt work in the room either!
2. The TV remote did not work. I was woken at 8am on Xmas day by the maintenance man who spent 30 minutes pressing buttons before laughing and saying 'I guess you will have to get up and change channels on the TV!"
3. The rooms are not serviced during your stay, but the cleaners knocked on the door twice from 9am on the day we were changing rooms.
4. The restaurant is good, with a view of the beach, but overpriced (pretending to be fancy when it should just realised it is a cafe not a 5 star restaurant!
5. Very poor lighting and signage on paths if checking in after hours (not to mention the map I was given was incorrect and was being upgraded- nice if reception would tell you that before you go searching for a non-existnat room in the dark.....

On the whole it is a good resort with sprawling gardens and several different pools (including small indoor heated pool) but expensive for the level of service.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peripotetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2015
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2009

We had our family over for Summer Holidays and they loved the resort, they thought that the pools, activity areas, walk ways and accommodation all added to the authentic 'hideaway' feel.

The apartments are nice, possibly in need of a little updating, but spacious and with all the facilities you need.

The staff were fantastic and really helped make it a pleasurable stay, we came to meet with our friends and family and spent some time at the resort with them and spent many hours relaxing in the bar, it has a lovely relaxed feel with the open spaces and outside views.

This is a great place to stop of in Coffs Harbour, and was certainly a better venue for the family to stay in than our house ;)

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EleMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2015
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2009

We stayed at the resort for a week in mid jan 2009. The kids club was a big hit with the kids really enjoying the activities, and staff seemed really interested in the kids . Was a bit concerned by some earlier reviews, but we loved our spa bure and all that the resort offered . Staff very friendly, food great, overall a really relaxing family holiday. Will be back next year, I hope!!!

  • Liked — seperate bedroom
  • Disliked — bit tired, but great for families
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Holidays00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2015
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2009

We booked 3 bed house via Aanuka's website. The best thing we liked about Aanuka is that we feeled as if it is our home with no staff messing around to clean or check. We only saw hotel's receptionist several times: to check in, to check ot and to grab surfing boards and beach towels. We loved the house, the kitchen gear, the comfortable beds, pet lizards and chickens who came to say Hello everytime they saw us in the house. we loved Diggers beach which was 5 minutes walk, loved surfing and hopping in waves. Loved Australian barbeque, we bought fish and other seafood in the Coop and grilled all those delicatessen for our NY party. The only complain - wake up by birds songs toooo early!

  • Liked — As if it is our own house
  • Disliked — Early wake up by birds
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank redlemon19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2015
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2008

Looked great on internet, the room was so dark - like somewhere in a cellar. No views from room. The main pool area was nice (+). Kitchen/ food was good. Too many animals/bugs around, even a snake in the pool in the eve. Great location close to a beautiful beach, but it can hardly be seen from the resort? I would never have my wedding there though. Rooms were a bit dirty too. Not worth that kind of money, was expecting something more luxory.....

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank italiana76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2015
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, NSW, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2008

A friend was getting married at Aanuka Beach Resort, so I thought it would be convenient to stay at the same hotel. Convenience and a helpful front desk person were the highlights of this stay.

Breakfast buffet was ok (even though they charge extra for Espresso) and the view from the restaurant spectacular)

Negative points included;
1) No covered walkways from reception/restaurants to either the car parks or the accomodation (quite unpleasant when it was raining)
2) A porter came to collect my bags in one of the car parks, dumped the bags on the front of an electric buggy and threw my suit and ironed shirts on the open seat next to him, and answered a call on his mobile and sat still while my clothes and bags got wet.
3) Asked reception for an umbrela and received a broken compact folding unit, not worth 2c - the least they could have supplied was a decent golf/large umbrella.
4) The airconditioning did not work the whole weekend. Reception sent someone to check it and all they did was set the remote control to the lowest temperature, which accomplished nothing.
5) In a two room "Bure" there was only one airconditioning unit in the living room - none in the bedroom.
6) Signs from reception to the rooms were difficult to work out and there were no return signs directing guests back to reception.
7) This property DOES NOT service rooms daily - how ridiculous. Any 3 star Motel does that.
8) The bathroom has a shower in a spa bath, that you have to climb two large steps up and an even bigger step down. There is no shower screen or curtain so water goes everywhere while showering.
9) There were large flying bugs in the bathroom.
10) I heard from other guests about insect droppings in the rooms and mice/rats outside, but did not see these myself.

There were other issues, but I think the above is enough.

I must say that the "resort" has been open for quite a few years. I thought it was a five star property but was sadly dissappointed.

I do wonder how much return business this property receives.

Coffs Harbour is a lovely spot to visit and I will definitley go back, but I will never stay in this so called "resort" again.

  • Liked — View from the restaurant.
  • Disliked — Lack of servicing, No mini bar, poor airconditioning
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Mixologist80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2015
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.8 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#3 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#13 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
259 reviews
1.0 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#4 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
86 reviews
1.3 mi away
Opal Cove Resort
Opal Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Korora
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort

Property: BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
Address: 11 Firman Drive | Diggers Beach, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#1 Spa Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an absolute beachfront location BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort has magnificent ocean views from dining areas and is surrounded by acres of wide open parklands perfect for your next getaway. At the resort you can expect great accommodation, recreation and relaxation rolled into one and there are a range of facilities on offer ideal for couples and families. Choose from an outdoor rock pool with slide, children’s pool and play area, cave spas, tennis courts, mini putt putt golf, beach volleyball and Diggers Beach just a short stroll from your room. When it’s time to dine, choose from the award-winning Finz on the Beach or unwind at Casay on the Beach, both offering ocean views. Treat yourself to a Mi-Time Day Spa treatment for the ultimate in relaxation to help yourself unwind. At the resort you can choose from Studio Hotel Rooms, Paradise Spa Bures with spa baths and 2, 3 and 4 bedroom self-contained villas. To make your stay comfortable every room type includes air conditioning, Austar, DVD player, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities, microwave, toaster, iron and ironing board. Beach lovers can enjoy the seclusion of picturesque Diggers Beach which is literally at the resort's doorstep or sit back on the terrace with a long drink and admire postcard views of the sweeping lawns stretching down to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Aanuka Beach Hotel Coffs Harbour
Hotel Breakfree Aanuka Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing